DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v89

sup cartoon

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (238)

Collapse
 
schmelto profile image
Tom Schmelzer

Hey there I'm Tom a student and developer from Germany. Hope DEV is going to be a great place to look for new inspiration, possibilities and great discussions.
See ya.

Collapse
 
papaponmx profile image
Jaime Rios

Welcome Tom. What are you studying right now?

Collapse
 
schmelto profile image
Tom Schmelzer

I study business Informatics.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hey Tom! 👋

Hope ya enjoy your time on DEV.

Collapse
 
schmelto profile image
Tom Schmelzer

Thanks a lot!

Collapse
 
camandres9 profile image
Carloj André

Welcome Tom.

Collapse
 
petrosapotsos profile image
Petros Apotsos

Hi Tom!! I am new here too! Well met!

Collapse
 
dienigma profile image
Chinmay Joshi

Hey Tom! Welcome!

Collapse
 
emmanueligbo11 profile image
Emmanuel Igbo

Welcome! i am new here also.

Collapse
 
narutovps profile image
Ved Prakash Singh

Hello Tom 👋

Collapse
 
malhotramanik profile image
Manik Malhotra

Hello Tom

Collapse
 
adamdunn318 profile image
AdamDunn318

In the morning to you good sir!!!

Collapse
 
khajulib profile image
khajuliBaBa

I also from Germany duesseldorf. wo wohnst du denn?

Collapse
 
schmelto profile image
Tom Schmelzer

In der Nähe von Heilbronn.

Thread Thread
 
khajulib profile image
khajuliBaBa

sehr gut und wohne ich in der Naehe von duesseldorf.

Collapse
 
timmybytes profile image
Timothy Merritt • Edited

I’m Tim, 33 year old single dad making a career change into development. I’ve been studying coding for a while now, and over the last year I’ve been deep diving into learning all I can about the front end. I love helping anyone I can with the things I’ve learned so far, and I’m currently trying to land my first coding job! I’ve been a lurker on DEV for a while now, but I’m trying to actively engage more with the community :)

Collapse
 
nananananate profile image
Nathaniel Louis Tisuela

mad respect for you! I can only imagine the friction that is going against you, keep it up!

Collapse
 
timmybytes profile image
Timothy Merritt

Thanks! It’s certainly a lot to deal with, but I’m really passionate about development (particularly the accessibility side of things), and I’m committed to the career change, so I’m doing my best.

Collapse
 
danielzardo profile image
Daniel Zardo

Hello Timothy! I can relate to your situation at a certain level. Success in your journey!

Collapse
 
pronia00 profile image
Andrew Pronkin

Hey, good luck man ^^

Collapse
 
timmybytes profile image
Timothy Merritt

Thanks!

Collapse
 
mishkazi profile image
Michael Zinoviev • Edited

Good luck bro with finding the job :)

Collapse
 
jaredmathis profile image
Jared Mathis

How's the job search going?

Collapse
 
timmybytes profile image
Timothy Merritt

I’ve applied to a few places, but only really started sending out resumes this last week, so it’s still early days. I know the general consensus is to start applying a little before you think you’re actually ready, so that’s what I’m doing. I feel like I have a strong grasp of the basics, I’ve built a few projects, and I try to practice as much as possible.

Collapse
 
kaeptnkrunch profile image
Stephan B. R. Langenau

deep respect for this achievement. I wish you the best of luck that you find a great job. And btw. Greetings from Germany 😅

Collapse
 
timmybytes profile image
Timothy Merritt

Vielen Dank! Ich wahr geboren im Deutschland, und meine Mutter’s Seite der Familie ist Deutsch, aber meine Grammatik ist nicht so gut ;).

Collapse
 
rowaa profile image
rowaa

Hi Timothy, hope you good luck :)

Collapse
 
desbest profile image
Adisa Nicholson • Edited

Hello I'm a web developer and in the future I want to learn how to make mobile apps. I have various skills in web development and various projects. I joined Dev to see what this community is about and generally look around.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Heya! Welcome to DEV. 🙌

Lots of web developers here, so hope you're able to find some good reads.

Collapse
 
nananananate profile image
Nathaniel Louis Tisuela

Excited to see your future projects! I'm thinking of pursuing web development as a career.

Collapse
 
sohaib01 profile image
Sohaib

Hello

I am a Biomedical Scientist hoping to switch careers by becoming a Front End Developer. Hope DEV is going to help me find like minded people full of great talks and ideas that we can share with each other. Anyone that can guide me a little or just wants to have a chat I would be happy to introduce myself.

Speak Soon :D

Collapse
 
schmelto profile image
Tom Schmelzer

Hey!

Collapse
 
sohaib01 profile image
Sohaib

Hey hey how are you?

Collapse
 
candordennis profile image
Candor Dennis

My name is Candor Dennis. I am a technical trainer, a front end web developer and a web solutions expert.

I am passionate about helping fellow youths and interested ones alike to key into tech, find a skill and learn the business around their skill.

Collapse
 
aellopos profile image
Michal Kučera

Hi! I am Michal, university student from Brno (Czechia). I am mainly web developer and lately I've been discovering beauties of open-source projects, looking forward to get inspiration here on DEV and meet great developers.

Collapse
 
loanck profile image
LoanCk

Hello i'm Loan, a webdev currently in the french public field with ~ 4y working exp.
I used to work at IBM Service Center for 2y.
I am currently pursuing a degree in Open Source Software Engineering.
I have just opened my freelance business, can't wait to see what this new adventure will bring !

Collapse
 
moscode profile image
Moscode

Hello guys. I'm Moses an applied physics student from Nigeria. I'm currently taking a specialization course on front end web development and I'm hoping that one day I can develop a fullstack project. Thanks.

Collapse
 
hstevey profile image
hstevey

Hi guys, new here! a brief intro: graduated in 2016 as interactive Designer, can do Front-end dev and design. started a fashion brand in 2019, went well till covid hit us hard and it was game over. getting back into coding and design. really eager to get back to work and re-learn/freshing my skills!

Collapse
 
zhangweicalm profile image
Elvin Zhang

Hello,
I'm Elvin, come from China, 32 years old, I am a husband and a boy's father.
I am a Java full stack developer, my on-hand language is Java and Javascript, the corresponding frameword are Spring family and Vue.
The back-end stack is Java, Spring, Mybatis, Oracle, Postgresql, Mysql, Redis, Mongo, Python, ActiveMQ, Maven, Git ...
The front-end stack is Javascript, HTML, CSS, VUEjs, Jquery, Openlayers, Webpack ...
I want to be a freelancer, so I have been working on clean my tech stack. My direction is Full stack and Mobile Developer. So my futher tech stack will be like this :
LANGUAGE: Java, Javascript, HTML5, CSS3
FRAMEWORK: Spring Boot, Vue, Reactjs, React Native
PERSISTENCE: Postgresql, Oracle, Mysql, Redis, Mongo, ActiveMQ
I love the world, and would like to make some friends if god bless me.
Time passes, with no stop, let us walk our way without stop.

Collapse
 
glabrie profile image
Guillaume

Hello! I'm currently in sales, and I want to learn more programming and maybe jump careers later on :) I did a little web dev, know my way around Python and am looking at Rust right now :)

Collapse
 
smartym profile image
Sergey V.

Hello everyone!

I’m Sergey, a technical expert with 11+ years of experience. Being a certified Scrum Master, I've been the CTO at software development company since 2012. I'm keen on blockchain, big data, AI, robotics, IoT, and enterprise software. Here I write articles in my blog.

Hope, I will be welcomed here.)

Collapse
 
binoipr profile image
BINOI

Hello all, I am Binoy, I did some sample projects in MERN and hope to learn more in that. Iam looking for any project suggestion where I can learn and contribute too.

Collapse
 
schmelto profile image
Tom Schmelzer

Same with contribution here. Good luck for you. Write me if you find some cool projects :)

Collapse
 
binoipr profile image
BINOI

You bet Tom :)

Collapse
 
pazyp profile image
Andrew Pazikas

Hello there,

Oracle Engineer here specilising in automation, I tilt towards Oracle Databases but enjoy all things data related. Been a lurker here for a while now and finally decided to make an account.

Collapse
 
jsspen profile image
Jordan Spencer

Hi all, I'm an aspiring Java web app developer about to start a 14 week bootcamp! DEV seems like a great way to stay motivated, connect, and have a fun record to look back on. I'm excited to be here and be going forward on this journey!

Collapse
 
bias profile image
Tobias Nickel

reading here at dev to will be worth your time. and you will learn to love the feeling when the code finally works 😊

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.