DEV Community

Cover image for πŸ•ΊπŸΌ My life update and the Open Source #DEVImpact2023
Thomas Bnt β˜•
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Posted on

πŸ•ΊπŸΌ My life update and the Open Source #DEVImpact2023

Woah... fast... fast... It's time to write last words on DEV for 2023! It was a good year for me, much better than the previous ones. A lot of things changed in my life, and that was good for me.

Proud Moments

πŸ₯³ I'm a freelancer

Some cool and little proud moments, but I'm proud of that. It's to have finally created my own agency as a freelancer, in my work that I've enjoyed doing for so many years: web development !

I've always liked to manage my own time and schedule as I saw fit. Being a freelancer allows me to position what I want to do during the week, and what I should be doing. If I don't get it done on a particular day, don't worry, I'll shift it to something else. It doesn't matter.

πŸ“„ I contributed more

This year, I contributed to some public repositories, but the most of the time is on withastro/docs for adding and updating the documentation of Astro in French language πŸš€

😎 Other achievements super cool

I'm affiliated to Twitch, and since this week, I'm now an Ambassador of my city, learn more English and stared to play music 🎹✨

Twitch 2023 retrospective from @thomasbnt From top to bottom: Number of hours watched: 169 Number of streams: 34 New followers: 23 New subscribers: 6 Messages sent: 1,610. Most popular categories: 1. Overwatch 2. Minecraft 3. Islanders. My extras: Affiliate status unlocked.

Into DEV

This year again, I contributed to DEV with multiples ways, I've contributed very little to the repository, moderated the bad posts quite a bit, and welcomed newcomers to the platform. I feel that a place like this should always be so welcoming to users, so why shouldn't I?

It's also part of being proud of myself, it's part of my interview on DEV, I enjoyed answering the questions and digging a bit into my beginnings.

Brilliant Fails

I've got many fails, like not to have continued piano, but the most fail is that I haven't streamed much. I would have liked to stream more on Twitch, mainly games, but I didn't stick to what I wanted. However, for the little I did, I loved doing it and chatting with people in the chat! I'll be back for 2024!

Celebrate the Numbers

dev.to wrapped of @thomasbnt

Not many posts, but I've really enjoyed writing them, and here are some of my favorites:


Enjoyed finding information about WWW !

Shoutouts

I have two names that come to mind among many others, but that doesn't mean I haven't met new people who sound fabulous.

A BIG shoutout to @michaeltharrington for further activating moderators through DEV, and proposing meetings. I think it's cool, and we're back to the community aspect! (And also for Music Mondayyy πŸ•ΊπŸΌ). I'd also like to thank @nickytonline for inviting me to a Twitch livestream which was really cool, I really enjoyed discussing the web and open source, a bit from our points of view, but also about it gave me another perspective on development in general. And for the first time, I went live with another developer, in facecam!

Future Goals

I don't know if I'm going to keep my goals that I'm going to write, but I'm going to do my best :
Contribute more into Open Source, learn MOOORE into piano, diversify my professional activities... maybe writing more posts on my personal blog and here ?

What Does DEV Means to You?

I visit DEV almost every day, so I'm not going to lie and say I learn something new every day. However, there are times when I see good posts that are awesome to read, and I don't usually hesitate to share them.
For me, DEV is a place where you can find unexpected gems, where you can #discuss on any subject (Music Monday are always the best).


Credits

Top comments (14)

Collapse
 
cbid2 profile image
Christine Belzie

Wow, what a great list of achievements @thomasbnt! :) 2023 has been good to you! :) Congratulations on starting your agency! :) It takes a lot of courage to do that! :) Since you want to post more in the future, maybe you can do a series about being a freelancer? It’ll help a lot of people! :) See you in 2024 mon ami! :)

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜• • Edited

Aha yeah! In the same time I writing this post, I thinking about freelance post! Can be great to share that!

And thanks youu! Happy holidays πŸ₯³

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

FΓ©licitations Thomas puis bonne annΓ©eβ€―!

Actor Leonardo DiCaprio as Gatsby doing a cheers

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Merci Nick, Γ  toi aussi je te souhaite de bonne fΓͺtes ! πŸ₯³

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

What a freaking awesome year, Thomas. Major congrats on all the accomplishments.

Big ups on creating your own agency and it was an honor to interview you for FMoM!

Here's to another wonderful year, my friend! πŸ₯‚

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Thanks you Michael! πŸ₯‚

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

Congrats to your achievements, Thomas! πŸŽ‰
Wishing you all the best in 2024. ✨️

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Thanks you Ayu! Happy holidays πŸ₯³πŸ•Ί

Collapse
 
netz99 profile image
SANASINH BOUNETHONE

Very good contents

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Oh thanks you, appreciate your comment! πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
code42cate profile image
Jonas Scholz

Welcome to the freelance life! I hope you enjoy it:)

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Thanks πŸ•Ί

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Beautiful, Thomas! What a year you've had.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Thank you! βœ¨πŸš€