DEV Community

Cover image for Is jquery dead?
Ted Ngeene
Ted Ngeene

Posted on

Is jquery dead?

With the release of bootstrap 5, a lot of guys were excited that it no longer depends on jquery. However, I've always found jquery fun to work with, especially for projects that don't require an elaborate frontend framework. So, what are your thoughts on jquery? Should it be wiped out from the face of the earth(the world wide web ratherπŸ˜€)?
I'm interested in hearing your thoughts.

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
giorgosk profile image
Giorgos Kontopoulos πŸ‘€

Yes it is legacy and most systems are trying to replace with something modern but still it is a dependency for many systems. To this day there are older cmses that are used to develop sites that depend on it. So it will take a while before the web stops using it.

Collapse
 
tngeene profile image
Ted Ngeene

yeah, plus I feel for small projects, that require an API call only on specific pages, jquery is more economic to use(due to the hassle of spinning up a react or vue frontend) you can only use ajax on the required page.

Collapse
 
thomasledoux1 profile image
Thomas Ledoux

I think for this use case you could easily use the built in Fetch API (developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/W...), it is well supported by all modern browsers.

Collapse
 
futureistaken profile image
R Z • Edited

Because jquery was played out a long time ago. As for me, it was dead from the very beginning.

Collapse
 
tngeene profile image
Ted Ngeene

why the hate πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
futureistaken profile image
R Z • Edited

Almost all developers have forgotten about the main goal of jQuery. It was made for cross-browser purposes, but over time it became something more than just a lib solving cross-browser problems.
I only used this library in projects where it was already used. In fact, I find jQuery redundant.

I saw below that you wrote that it helps to understand JS and other things. This is a big lie))
I ask you one thing: never recommend beginners to learn libraries, frameworks, and other things before getting a strong man in JS itself, design patterns, and the like.

P.S. why do so many people think that package sizes are the only problem!? What about the fact that the browser has to analyze the code and it takes some time!? What about many other things?
P.S.S as I said, I hate this library and always did.

Thread Thread
 
tngeene profile image
Ted Ngeene

you're right, I wouldn't recommend a beginner to start with a library. All I'm saying is that my knowledge of jquery has helped me understand the modern frameworks better.
However, it's not redundant, in my opinion. Many many websites are still using it. cases in point WordPress websites. Many admin dashboards

Collapse
 
jasongabler profile image
Jason Gabler

Funny you should ask. I just had to work with some customers of a customer who are in China. All sorts of problems come into play when you're dealing with JavaScript and CSS libraries, CDNs and The Great Firewall. It turns out, one of the issues was an occasional inability to access jQuery and dependent libraries. I could've opted to just have all libraries local, but it was a small set of work. So, I decided to nix jQuery and rewrite all of the bits in native JS (we're not at Bootstrap 5 yet.). First, it had been quite some time since I wrote much of anything that wasn't dependent upon jQuery. As a full stack developer, I have to pick and choose how I spend my time staying on top of things and it often comes down to something intersecting with "if it ain't broke, don't fix it." For quite some time jQuery was working fine for us. But now, it was at the heart of a problem and this caused me to brush up on the latest offerings of native JS. I must say, things have greatly matured. JavaScript's interaction with the browser, particularly events and the DOM, has lost a lot of its earlier, convoluted feel. Code ends up more succinct without being unduly terse, making much more obvious sense when browsing through it. I also found I was doing a lot less back-and-forth with the documentation (meaning it felt more natural to code with it) and coding with calls, parameters and tag attributes was much less tedious and error prone. This sounds much of what I was looking for when I went to jQuery so many years ago. So, if JavaScript has more than a certain threshold of solving the problems of why we went to jQuery in the first place, there's really no reason to force our customers to download and execute yet another layer of code in their browsers. So, yes.

Collapse
 
king11 profile image
Lakshya Singh

All the task that jquery performs can be done using vanilla javascript too its just syntactic sugar and nothing else as far as i have seen. Considering this why would you add something to your dependencies when it can be done using plain old JS.

Collapse
 
dkoczka profile image
David Koczka

jQuery is great for prototyping, but not for production.

Collapse
 
tngeene profile image
Ted Ngeene

I have used jquery on a number of production environment, and it hasn't failed me yet. What facts informs your decision that it isn't good for production?

Collapse
 
fabgrel10 profile image
Fabricio Garcia

jQuery had its glory days. Present day jQuery is legacy as it usually happens with all programming technologies in due time.

Collapse
 
tngeene profile image
Ted Ngeene

In my opinion, it's due to the shining object syndrome, where frameworks such as react, vue, angular...and all the others are the in thing ATM. However, I think it's important to have an understanding of jquery as it can help one understand and appreciate the basics powering such frameworks as well as a better understanding of javascript.

Collapse
 
mzaini30 profile image
Zen

Some features like slider, requires jQuery. Hehehe..

Collapse
 
tngeene profile image
Ted Ngeene

haha but vanilla js can do that as well. It's just a matter of preference.

Collapse
 
mzaini30 profile image
Zen

Don't reinvent the wheel. Hahahhaha...

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR πŸ₯‡

Since ES6 there's only one use case where jQuery shines: form serialize.
For the rest it's dead to me