DEV Community

Torrey Thomas
Torrey Thomas

Posted on

Day 5: Basic Javascript

Today marks day five of my journey through freeCodeCamp. I feel like I am getting into the flow of the work and just moving forward with the work as best as I can.

Life has been throwing many distractions and mixed emotions at me during this time period, in just the five days since I have started, a relative has passed, I have travelled to a different state, as well as other small life interruptions. I believe that when a person decides to do something that is going to help them, distractions and life will always try to get in the way and discourage them. Life is a very natural boss that will always check you to see if you really have what it takes, and I welcome the challenge.

I am currently going over switch functions at the moment, which I can already see working wonders in the logic of games like Hangman or other trivial games that look easy, but require a lot on the logic end. Overall, today was a successful day for studying and I am sure that as I continue to work with Javascript, I will be able to update on any new ideas that I run into.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
frogthanos profile image
Athanasios

Good job! Keep up the streak 🙂

I had a similar revelation last week when I got bored of playing video games and decided to finally finish the same freeCodeCamp javascript course I started off 2 years ago. 😅
I'm halfway through basic algorithm scripting and it's pretty nice so far!

Collapse
 
torreythomas profile image
Torrey Thomas

Nice man! Keep it going. You'll get there when the time is right. Algorithms can be challenging to real kudos to you for getting even halfway through. 👍