DEV Community

Uddeshya Singh
Uddeshya Singh

Posted on

Weird rants of a new Devops + Backend engineer 😤 [19 June 21]

Welcome to the weird notes of a new DevOps and Backend engineer. This is my (quite open) notebook on what was all the stuff I read and learnt. Not necessarily tech, you can just read on and understand what I am rambling on about.

[19 June 2021]

Stuff I learnt 📝

  • So, the current opentelemetry sentry-exporter is indeed incomplete right now. I investigated the elastic APM exporter and realised that Sentry one is just not using it's full capabilities yet. You need to run span.Events() to get a list of events which can be further converted into *sentry.Event. Sentry Error
  • Also, in the prometheus-operator helm chart, we figured out how to add additional rules without having to "upgrade the chart" without putting in new values in values.yaml. Just create a new PrometheusRule object as a rule file and the ConfigMaps will auto grab it.
  • PS: I am talking about this operator here : kube-prometheus

Stuff I need to check out tomorrow? 📅

  • How do i link a sentry span and a sentry issue.
  • Talk with team and refine the requirements because hell no, Sentry is not a logging platform (or I am an idiot)
  • Get vaccinated ffs 😢

Stuff I want to work some day in future. 🔭

  • IF I manage to pull this issue linking stuff off, I think I will contribute this to opentelemetry collector exporter. My first cloud native contribution might be on its way idk man.

Thanks for listening to the rant.

Uddeshya Singh,
Signing off.

Top comments (0)