DEV Community

Vikas Maur
Vikas Maur

Posted on

What do u neeeeed? πŸ€”

Hey! Fellow programmers
Namaste πŸ™

In this post, i would like to ask you all, what problems do u face in our beloved VS Code (if there are any) ?

Or what is that thing u feel is ur need but that thing lacks in VS Code (again, if there is any) ?

I would love to know your answers below πŸ˜‰ (thanks in advance)

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy πŸŽ–οΈ • Edited

Lacking: Speed, efficient resource usage, ability to handle huge files well

Try SublimeText instead

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy πŸŽ–οΈ • Edited

SBT is no more a text-editor than VSC is. It has a full plugin system with a rich library of integrations and plugins available.

I can do everything in SBT that I've seen any devs do in VSC (VSC is basically a knock-off of SBT) - and, yes, VSC is slower and more resource hungry than SBT

Thread Thread
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR πŸ₯‡

Because Sublime Code is built with C++ and Python and does not rely on the electron framework like VSCode, it performs very well.

Sublime Text is great at text file manipulation, and because it loads almost as quickly as notepad it is useful in cases where you need to update config files such XML or so.

For multi-language development, VSCode is the clear winner. Visual Studio Code is easier to configure for debugging and building code projects, it runs on ARM and has a ton of plugins and community support.

It's also free and while Sublime Text is fast, VSCode is fast enough.

Thread Thread
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy πŸŽ–οΈ

Free, but at what cost?

Visual Studio Code is designed to fracture

I used to think GitHub Codespaces would help popularise Gitpod but now realize it is the other way around. Gitpod is currently permitted to exist in the Visual Studio Code ecosystem to popularise GitHub Codespaces, and Microsoft can step in at any moment to create legal crises that strategically divide the market from a business perspective because, like Apple and their AppStore: it is their ecosystem that they control and they are in absolute control.

favicon ghuntley.com
Thread Thread
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR πŸ₯‡ • Edited

My cost for the IDE is zero. There's nothing new about MS getting telemetry data from their tools.
Either way I'm using Windows so they get the same information from those two sources.

I can tell you my hardware here as well and you'll get the same info.
On the rest, it's all about legal concerns when using MS tools to compete against MS on the same market those tools tend to cover, which I understand from the business point of view. I share the same moral feeling on using OSS as base for a propietary product, though.

On the other hand, I hope the Github Copilot case to provide a breaking change on that topic (let's see what justice says).

Collapse
 
nexxeln profile image
Shoubhit Dash

VSCode is really bloated and slow if you don't have the RAM. I use Neovim.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

I moved on Webstorm because debug mode is very light :c

Collapse
 
dagnelies profile image
Arnaud Dagnelies

I currently have problems regarding typescript debugging too ...I just haven't figured out yet how to get it working

Collapse
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian

I like working with multiple workspaces in VS Code, but I hate it when VS Code monitor all workspaces git changes at once. I prefer option to only monitor one workspace git changes.

Collapse
 
kingbolumbu profile image
Kingbolumbu

The problems I mainly face usually comes when I'm using Android emulator and it won't appear or there's an error