DEV Community

Cover image for I Know You're Tired
Ashlee (she/her)
Ashlee (she/her)

Posted on • Updated on

I Know You're Tired

Life is really hard sometimes. We're all going through something. You're not alone.

What you're doing is hard work. It's taking up a lot of your energy. You don't feel valued for all of your efforts. It's not fair, I know. But if you're reading this and strongly relate, chances are you can't stop just yet. It's just not the right time.

So, what now? You have to keep moving. Give it everything you've got. It's OK if that's not much. Do whatever it takes. We all have our days and need a moment. Some people need more moments than others.

If you're not connecting with this article in your life right now, make sure you let other people take their moments. We have no idea what other people are going through in their personal lives. Some people have it really bad. Don't anyone's life harder than it has to be.


Did you know I have a newsletter? 📬

If you want to get notified when I publish new blog posts or make major project announcements, head over to https://ashleemboyer.com/newsletter.


Image by Abbie Bernet on Unsplash.

Top comments (16)

Collapse
 
maxwell_dev profile image
Max Antonucci

This article definitely hit home for me, even though I'm dealing with things unrelated to work that are dragging me down. But sometimes you just need to let yourself feel the pain without piling judgements on yourself and keep moving. Even with all the sublimation and coping strategies in the world, there will still be some pain you just need to learn to cope and bear with.

Collapse
 
xxkeith20xx profile image
Keith 20

Sometimes pain just has to pass through you because there is nothing you can do with it except watch it pass. If you trust that it will pass, and believe it whole heartedly, it will.

Collapse
 
itachiuchiha profile image
Itachi Uchiha

Sometimes you don't want to be in this life. You want to die.

Sometimes I feel something like that. When I'm alone at home, I always speak myself like "I bored this job, I hate this job".

Until I'm saying "I hate life, I don't want to live", I always think something like that.

Collapse
 
giorgosk profile image
Giorgos Kontopoulos 👀

And why is that if I may ask ? Perhaps the first step is to identify and perhaps try to get rid of what is bugging you ... I know it's not easy there no life debugger or any plugin for that.

Collapse
 
kittencoder profile image
Neko

I wanted to wait until I get back home before becoming active here.
But this article was on point.
I quit my job last month, am on vacation visiting friends all over the country (Germany) to calm myself and finally stay with my friends for more than a weekend. And I even found new ones.

In the next few weeks I'm launching my local "development studio" aimed at making low priced websites for locals like haircutters, yoga studios, horse-riding clubs and many more.

I hope that with myself as a boss and the until now very grateful customers and self defined deadlines everything becomes less stressful.

Collapse
 
gypsydave5 profile image
David Wickes

If you're going through hell... keep going.

Collapse
 
jhuebel profile image
Jason Huebel

Winston Churchill. A tough but wise man.

Collapse
 
kittencoder profile image
Neko

Things tend to be better from there on. Even probably is on your side now <3

Collapse
 
dzajic_88 profile image
Daniel Zajic

Good post, we all go through tough times, and expectations can seem overwhelming. It's good to be reminded that we're allowed to take a break to recover, even if it's just for a short nap during the day. Do whatever you need to do, people will understand.

Collapse
 
lucagrandicelli profile image
Luca

Recognizing and accepting to be tired, without being sorry for that, is the way that leads to a more humanized work society. And sharing feelings is the first step toward relief.

Collapse
 
natonathan profile image
Nathan Tamez

Can I add that well many can make it through their moments on there own. Some may need help to make it through. And that's ok. so if you can help and they accept it, help them.

Collapse
 
leslieongit profile image
Leslie • Edited

What a bucket load of hope

Collapse
 
cleysonlb profile image
Cleyson Leal Braga

Thanks for your post Ashlee, all of us need time somtimes, time to thinking, time to take a breath, and it's ok when this moment come.
Mental health is very important!

(Sorry about my English :p)

Collapse
 
amponce profile image
Aaron Ponce

Good timing with this post, I needed that. [Psychic] Dog mom to Trooper ...

Collapse
 
jamesbsk profile image
James Bissick

Good timing.

Collapse
 
jaderts profile image
Jader Cunha

I love your post! It's so real. :)