DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Do you have your next vacation planned?

Any time off in your future?

Top comments (74)

Collapse
 
taillogs profile image
Ryland G

I appreciate these new joke threads a lot

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I'm going to take the first week of the Fringe off. I've lived there for 15 years, work at the place that built half the software, and I've never really been to anything before :)

Collapse
 
tammalee profile image
Tammy Lee

Oh ho! I thought your name looked familiar!
I built a Fringe website that uses the API I believe your company provides.

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

It's possible... I'm not sure we do the API though, I think we just do the sites.

Collapse
 
codingmindfully profile image
Daragh Byrne

I used to live on the Royal Mile for three years, Fringe time was always mental! But super fun. Never took the week/month off but always caught a lot of shows.

Collapse
 
scottishross profile image
Ross Henderson

I'd love to go to the Fringe! I really need to try and do it sometime.

Collapse
 
emma profile image
Emma Goto 🍙

I'm planning to take a week off before I take my JLPT (Japanese Language Proficiency Test) to get in some last minute study.

I'll probably use the rest of my leave on some time off over the Christmas and New Year's break.

Collapse
 
avalander profile image
Avalander

First I read "any time off in your furniture?"

I definitely need vacation.

Collapse
 
thefern profile image
Fernando B 🚀

I wood have said the same thing. 😁

Collapse
 
hamatti profile image
Juha-Matti Santala

Currently on my 4th week on the yearly holiday, returning to the office next Monday. I try to keep 4 weeks of holiday during summer and 1 during winter and then I'm lucky enough to work for a company that is flexible enough that I can take unpaid holidays to have longer weekends or recover every now and then with extra days off.

Collapse
 
andreasjakof profile image
Andreas Jakof

Those 4 weeks in summer... is this some Scandinavian thing? I heard, that in Sweden, usually in july everything stops, because who ever can, takes the whole month off.

Collapse
 
hamatti profile image
Juha-Matti Santala

Yeah, I live in Finland where you get 2.5 days of paid mandatory vacation per month worked which totals to 30 days. For each 5 days of holiday spent, you also lose one extra day (some old rule from the days when people worked 6d/wk).

So that makes it basically 5 weeks of holiday and people usually spend 4 of those during the summer and 1 during the winter.

Collapse
 
bengreenberg profile image
Ben Greenberg

Going to Florida at some point in the coming few months. Will be the first time our whole family has been back to the States together since we moved abroad a year ago! (Yes, a trip to Disney World is definitely happening.)

Collapse
 
iam_timsmith profile image
Tim Smith

I’m planning my next 3 vacations at the moment. I spent the last year of my life in overdrive with no break in sight. I hurt people close to me because I got so high strung. I’m not making that mistake again.

Collapse
 
ballen2713 profile image
Bartholomew Allen

I wish, this summer I sacrificed beach time in order to do my internship alongside taking a summer class so I can graduate in the fall. Next summer I be able to plan more trips since I'll hopefully have a full-time job, with little to no debt

Collapse
 
nanythery profile image
Nadine M. Thêry

I am actually on holidays from my grade, and it means a lot of free time to... Hard study JavaScript. Hahaha

Me and my partner will go away some days out to Málaga, Spain to visit some friends and spend 5 entire days playing modern boardgames.

Collapse
 
adnanrahic profile image
Adnan Rahić

I just got back from a 2 week trip to Iceland. Long story short. You should go to Iceland.

Collapse
 
easyaspython profile image
Dane Hillard

Going to Mexico for a wedding in August and to Japan in the fall 😌

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Nice!

Collapse
 
sarahscode profile image
Sarah Katz

I'm going to Disney World in February with my sister, her friend, and the friend's boyfriend, but other than race registrations, nothing is planned for that trip. I do have tentative dates in my head ... does that count?

Collapse
 
christopherkade profile image
Christopher Kade

Leaving for Athens to see my family in a month, and then off to Vancouver and the surroundings in September ! Can't wait to disconnect for a short while 😄

Collapse
 
tolgahanuzun profile image
Tolgahan ÜZÜN • Edited
  • I'm going camping this weekend with my developer friends. (Tekirdağ-uçmakdere/Turkey)
  • Next weekend, I'm going for a ride with a friend. (Ankara/Turkey)
  • I'm going to attend the training camp next month. (hacknbreak.com/)
  • I have a plan to visit Ukraine in two months after. (An estimated 3 days. Kiev/Ukraine)

I think I made a little too much vacation plan. :)

Collapse
 
arlopezg profile image
Alejandro López • Edited

I’ll take two weeks off on August/Sept.

One to spend with my father (haven’t seen him in over a year!) and the other one I’ll be visiting southern Chile with my girlfriend :)

So right now we’re checking out hostal pricing, plane tickets, alllll that jazz. Woohoo!