DEV Community

Cover image for Does an OpenAi outage have an impact on your workflow?
Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Does an OpenAi outage have an impact on your workflow?

Curious how engrained ChatGPT is into anybody's workflow these days, depending on how you do or do not make use of these tools.

Top comments (24)

Collapse
 
tiguchi profile image
Thomas Werner

I guess I was lucky enough that I didn't run into a serious enough outage, yet, so I don't know for sure.

I use Poe, which allows you to switch between a variety of LLMs, including Meta's Llama 2. Sometimes ChatGPT 4 is down or super slow there, and it's still possible to switch to ChatGPT 3, which usually still works when that happens.

In worst case it's possible to switch to something like Llama 2 there, or Claude, but unfortunately those aren't nearly as good at answering programming questions as ChatGPT 4. They just hallucinate a ton more and tend to give completely wrong answers.

Collapse
 
thatcomputerguy profile image
Griff Polk

Hi fellow Poe user. I use it mainly for the customization of hew llm feature

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Biggggg one.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy πŸŽ–οΈ • Edited

Work-wise (or for development generally) I wouldn't touch ChatGPT with a bargepole, so no

Collapse
 
psypher1 profile image
James 'Dante' Midzi

Nope. I don't rely on shiny things every one is using

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

I'm using ChatGPT in my learning journey - it's my go-to source for asking questions. When it's down, that does slow me down; sometimes I just do something else for a while instead. The advantage to ChatGPT is it can really help me shape the question I'm trying to ask - I often don't know what search terms to use, but I can ask ChatGPT how to do something, or show it the code that's generating errors. Its solutions don't always work, but then I can google the tools it suggests and read for more (reliable) detail in the Apple documentation, so it definitely always gets me unstuck.

Collapse
 
thedenisnikulin profile image
Denis • Edited

nope I don't use it at all since

  1. I can't pay for chatGPT 4 in my country
  2. chatGPT 3.5 is very stupid and doesn't provide much value for me (i am backend developer)

Even if I need an LLM and OpenAI is not working then I'm just gonna use an open-source model

Collapse
 
akashdev23 profile image
Akash Dev

Yes a lot. I'am a student and I've been using chat gpt a lot. I mostly use it as a dictionary. Google is not able to provide optimal solution always so I use it to know things better or it also helps me to understand my assignments. I also use it to make some improvements in my code or if I want to understand someone else's code. These are few things which I'am now able to do.

Collapse
 
blenderman profile image
BBM

Big impact

Collapse
 
syeo66 profile image
Red Ochsenbein (he/him)

Wait? Did that happen? No, does nothing to me. ChatGPT would only slow me down anyways.

Collapse
 
mellen profile image
Matt Ellen

0 impact. I would only notice if it got reported here.

Collapse
 
artxe2 profile image
Yeom suyun

I mainly use Bard, but it would be difficult to name functions without AI.

Collapse
 
stephanie profile image
Stephanie Handsteiner

Not at all.

Collapse
 
arndom profile image
Nabil Alamin

Nope. I use gpt ever so often, it is helpful but it hasn't replaced my other processes

Collapse
 
pinotattari profile image
Riccardo Bernardini

Absolutely not!! Why should it?