DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Got any weekend projects on the go?

Share them!

Top comments (78)

Collapse
 
anuraghazra profile image
Anurag Hazra

Rebuilt my portfolio site couple of weeks ago, and i'm tinkering with Github Actions + Gatsbyjs.

And also just created this

yeah! lot of things going on. ❀️

github.com/anuraghazra

Collapse
 
itexpert2572000 profile image
Akhil T J

Wow,man I just got inspired by your work πŸ‘πŸΌ.

Collapse
 
anuraghazra profile image
Anurag Hazra

Great! 😊

Collapse
 
monfernape profile image
Usman Khalil

Your portfolio is so amazing. Subarashi

Collapse
 
anuraghazra profile image
Anurag Hazra

Thanks! 😊

Collapse
 
jarodpeachey profile image
Jarod Peachey

Dude, your portfolio is the best portfolio site I've ever seen!! Awesome job, keep it up!

Collapse
 
anuraghazra profile image
Anurag Hazra

Thank you very much.

Collapse
 
mohamedelidrissi_98 profile image
Mohamed ELIDRISSI

Its amazing, great work!

Collapse
 
redraushan profile image
Raushan Sharma

good work dude, I saw some of your libraries, what a piece of art ;)

Collapse
 
anuraghazra profile image
Anurag Hazra

Thanks!

Collapse
 
roh_mish profile image
Rohan Mishra

Great stuff m8! Very inspiring. Loved those subtle parallax effects.

Collapse
 
tarasnovak profile image
dataPixy πŸ§šβ€β™‚οΈ • Edited
Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Neat!

Collapse
 
saurabhdaware profile image
Saurabh Daware 🌻 • Edited

Working on rebuilding my portfolio! Trying to improve performance and UI and code structure and everything tbh, in the new one I am challenging myself by trying to load it under 2s! So far I am able to load it in 1.6 seconds though I am yet to put some content in it :D. I will post about it here once I am done.

Here's a small preview:
Screenshot of upcoming https://saurabhdaware.in landing page

Collapse
 
roh_mish profile image
Rohan Mishra

Work on it! You'll be able to do it! That color scheme looks amazing!

Collapse
 
saurabhdaware profile image
Saurabh Daware 🌻

Thank you so much 🌻🌻

Collapse
 
eaich profile image
Eddie

Building a stack to store firewood. Does that count? Off to Home Depot!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

It counts!

Collapse
 
msamgan profile image
Mohammed Samgan Khan

it's one of the things which actually matters.:P

Collapse
 
yvonnickfrin profile image
🦁 Yvonnick FRIN • Edited

I'm working on gitmoji-changelog. I made a post about version 2 and people started to test it πŸ™ So it's cool πŸ‘

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Nice

Collapse
 
sbinlondon profile image
Kate Beard (she/her)

Trying out React Native for the first time trying to build myself an anxiety-free (or low anxiety) todo app. We'll see how that goes - both in terms of my low anxiety goal and my trying to learn RN goal πŸ˜…πŸ€ž

Collapse
 
codenutt profile image
Jared

Why React Native? I ask, out of curiosity, not judgment :)

Collapse
 
256hz profile image
Abe Dolinger

Have fun! React Native is dope!

Collapse
 
faraazahmad profile image
Syed Faraaz Ahmad

I'm working on my tutorial series on building a text editor, part one is out. Feels really good

dev.to/faraazahmad/building-a-text...

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Wow that looks great

Collapse
 
metalmikester profile image
Michel Renaud

I've been stalling on redesigning my web site for several years now. The first task is to completely rewrite the back end (was in PHP/MySQL, now ASP.NET Core/EF Core/SQL Server).

I'm currently looking at front-end frameworks to develop the administration front-end (I need that before I even think of redesign the public-facing web site). I looked at Blazor last night and it seems to need a little more work (either that or I'm dumb, which is a possibility I'm willing to entertain). Today I'm looking at Vue.js. I've done a little bit of React at work, but that was months ago and I don't remember most, if any of it.

I actually came to DEV right now to look at a few posts about Vue.js and see what people think/do. I tried a Vue.js project in VS 2019 Community Edition (we use VS 2019 Enterprise at work, in case anyone is wondering why VS) and the experience has been underwhelming when it comes to running the project, so I'm kind of open to alternatives.

I might actually post a discussion about this later today.

So yeah, that's the project. And cleaning my place. :)

Collapse
 
maitraysuthar profile image
Maitray Suthar

I am developing an open-source nodejs api boilerplate & reactjs boilerplate software from the past few months for our developer community :).

Repo Link - github.com/maitraysuthar/rest-api-...
All Features - ko-fi.com/post/A-ready-to-use-boil...

Collapse
 
benjaminraffetseder profile image
Benjamin Raffetseder πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ή

I'm working on some new blog posts for my homepage and at my side project deliciously.cooking. :D

Collapse
 
chrisfinnigan profile image
Chris Finnigan • Edited

I started a project to translate a style guide from our design team into a tailwind config.

I thought it would be fun to then build a vue.js app that parses the tailwind.config.js and renders a live style guide from the config.

Front end code that aligns exactly to the design style guide 😱😎

tailwind

Collapse
 
rootsmj profile image
Martin Johansson

Working on a project for monitoring and collecting logs from sites that I've developed through work.

No links atm, but I'm building it using .NET Core 3.1 (API project and a Worker Service) and an angular 8 project for the UI. I might switch that to a Blazor app instead, just to try it out.

Collapse
 
sirseanofloxley profile image
Sean Allin Newell • Edited

Working on an idea for JS and TS devs to enjoy elm architecture without all the fuss of redux, and using another rendering tool (lit-html) instead of react.

Kinda toying with being framework agnostic but right now got a commit in progress that's working on expanding the update function to allow for promises and to specify a next message,in addition to the main run function returning a promise of a dispatcher for initialization messages.

I'm calling it lit-tea, combining that lit-html library and the elm architecture (TEA).

lit-tea

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

I had some idea to make updates do my website home page. It's time to move from bootstrap, change my title and add some personality.

Collapse
 
codenutt profile image
Jared

Where are you moving to after bootstrap?

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill • Edited

I'm giving bulma.io a try. I revamped the landing page today and it was very easy to work with.

Thread Thread
 
codenutt profile image
Jared

Sweet! May give bulma a go on my next project.

Collapse
 
jarodpeachey profile image
Jarod Peachey

I'm working on a freelance project! First one, it's going pretty good!