DEV Community

Cover image for Meme Monday
Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Meme Monday

Meme Monday!

Today's cover image comes from last week's thread.

DEV is an inclusive space! Humor in poor taste will be downvoted by mods.

Top comments (109)

Collapse
 
atenadadkhah profile image
Atena Dadkhah

Meme-Monday-atena-dadkhah

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

It me

Collapse
 
reinouts profile image
Reinout van Schouwen

You don't really think I'll open that Youtube link, even incognito? I'll use something like Invidious or NewPipe. ;)

Collapse
 
eerk profile image
eerk

incognito is such a misleading term...

Collapse
 
hexatecimal profile image
Alex

Exactly, you just walk in front of Google with your ip address, who cares about incognito and cookies

Collapse
 
chiki1601 profile image
Miss Pooja Anilkumar Patel

🤣

Collapse
 
codingjlu profile image
codingjlu

I have long been suspicious that youtube also tracks when you copy the link of a video

Collapse
 
merri profile image
Vesa Piittinen

They can't track copying a link if you do it from the developer tools DOM tree.

Thread Thread
 
codingjlu profile image
codingjlu

imagine each time you want to watch a youtube video...

Thread Thread
 
romil_code profile image
Romil Jain

Can't we have a plugin for it

Thread Thread
 
codingjlu profile image
codingjlu

but youtube will learn to track the plugin?

Collapse
 
thecooldev2703 profile image
The Cool Dev

I thought I am the only one doing it😁

Collapse
 
1link profile image
1Link.Fun

that's me

Collapse
 
gjuko profile image
gjuko

So true :)

Collapse
 
opendeveloper profile image
Murat Uysal

We are at same group :)

Collapse
 
jon_snow789 profile image
Jon Snow

programming memes

Collapse
 
frankfont profile image
Frank Font

Has anyone seen the source code for that application? Is there anything more than a progress bar loop and a sleep statement in there?

Collapse
 
skyloft7 profile image
Mohammed

I think you can find the .exe path through Task Manager and decompile it with Ghidra or something. Although I can't imagine there'd be more than what you just described.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I knowwww

Collapse
 
jon_snow789 profile image
Jon Snow

Congratulations Ben ❤❤
First time your meme monday post reach 100 comments

Thread Thread
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

thank you

Collapse
 
moshikoi profile image
MoshiKoi

It actually has fixed an audio driver issue for me once! (Granted, if I remember correctly, it basically just gave me a prompt to reinstall the driver, but still, it found the issue)

Collapse
 
cubiclesocial profile image
cubiclesocial

The network diagnostics dialog found an audio driver issue? Sounds like some motherboard got its wires crossed.

Thread Thread
 
moshikoi profile image
MoshiKoi

Haha I didn't notice it was specifically the network diagnostics dialog (I should get off dev before midnight...) I meant just generally Windows diagnostics tools have worked for me one occasion :)

Collapse
 
dannygbond profile image
Dannygbond

Delay(5000)

Collapse
 
samuel-braun profile image
Samuel Braun

Funnily enough my pc has the issue that when I hibernate instead of shutting down and then log in again im disconnected from the internet and this dialog does fix that problem.

Collapse
 
himanshurb profile image
Himanshu Bansal

Still in progress on my desktop.

Collapse
 
opendeveloper profile image
Murat Uysal

No no in 10 years, it solved 1 time my problem and I cant believe it. So I clicked to back buttons, then solution gone. Everything turned to normal :)

Collapse
 
max24816 profile image
Max

That feeling hits me hard

Image description

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Michael Scott would be the one who created the problem, not the one frustrated though. 😅

Collapse
 
raddevus profile image
raddevus

You still ask simple questions at work?
I just use chatGPT for those. 😆
But, before chatGPT, I didn't ask questions. 😂

Collapse
 
cubiclesocial profile image
cubiclesocial

ChatGPT is working on adding plugins. It's only a matter of time before it gets a plugin that allows it to connect to the calendar in Outlook/Exchange and can automatically schedule those meetings for you.

Thread Thread
 
raddevus profile image
raddevus

Do you mean automatically cancel those meetings for you? 😆
That would be far better functionality.

Collapse
 
sherrydays profile image
Sherry Day

Inner peace

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

It me

Collapse
 
mackfitz profile image
Maciek Fitzner

Can GPT also inform them that "genius" is not an adjective? It's a noun, and the adjective derived from it is "ingenious". No inner peace for me until that's common knowledge.
Stimpy, the manx cat from the Ren & Stimpy cartoon, lying sleepless and pink-eyed

Collapse
 
mellen profile image
Matt Ellen

What a genius idea. But luckily for everyone else, noun-adjuncts exist, so they're OK to keep doing what they're doing.

Thread Thread
 
mackfitz profile image
Maciek Fitzner

Clever! But not brilliant ;)

Collapse
 
marcello_h profile image
Marcelloh
Thread Thread
 
mackfitz profile image
Maciek Fitzner

As a prescriptivist I refuse to accept examples provided - all quotes from modern entertainment media and celebrities - as proof of validity of this grammatical abomination. Please provide examples from pre-internet era.

Thread Thread
 
marcello_h profile image
Marcelloh

The original dictionary was printed out and then typed into a computer by some monks ;-)

Thread Thread
 
destynova profile image
Oisín

A few pre-internet examples:

"The indolence of a mind, deluded by the persuasive influence of a present, external, and apparent benevolence, strongly illustrates the genius of a weak and susceptible heart" - Jane Austen, "Sense and Sensibility"

"The genius finger of Liberty has put down and wiped away the stain" from a speech by William Lloyd Garrison in 1858

"The genius work of the builder" - from a book on architecture by Eugene Emmanuel Viollet-le-Duc, published in 1854

Thread Thread
 
mackfitz profile image
Maciek Fitzner

In the Jane Austen quote that is clearly a noun. Notwithstanding the foregone, I hereby stand corrected. It appears as though the corrosion of grammar began much earlier than I'd have thought.

Thread Thread
 
destynova profile image
Oisín • Edited

You're right on both fronts. Personally I'd like to see the first instances of my two most-hated corruptions: "literally [figurative, obviously non-literal expression]" and "I could care less if [thing I _couldn't_ care less about]".

Thread Thread
 
mackfitz profile image
Maciek Fitzner

Oh yes - and "could of", while we're at it. There's also one that I've only seen once but that stumped me like nothing I'd seen before: "minus well" - an inexplicable, radioactive mutation of "might as well".

Collapse
 
jon_snow789 profile image
Jon Snow

 memes

Collapse
 
alexmario74 profile image
Mario Santini

Money actually doesn't matter if you are attractive, and of course if you are not attractive looks doesn't matter if you are rich. :)
And not all warnings matter untill they does, but if you are a programmer you know that! :)

Collapse
 
aarone4 profile image
Aaron Reese

There was a UK comedy show called The New Statesman about a grubby, power hungry young Conservative parliamentary member called Alan B'stard, played by the late great Rik Mayall.
On one episode he loudly proclaimed that stupid, ugly, poor people should not be allowed to have children.
BTW it's a joke. Let's not go all woke on me...

Collapse
 
cubiclesocial profile image
cubiclesocial

Deprecations also don't matter. Android development proves that. 90% of my Android code is labeled as deprecated but still runs just fine (as it should).

Collapse
 
cubiclesocial profile image
cubiclesocial

"Grammar doesn't matter" - Meme maker people

Collapse
 
v_bird profile image
vbird

You just never cherish what you have don't you?

Collapse
 
adampb profile image
Adam Piechocki-Brown

Image description

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

😅

Collapse
 
himanshurb profile image
Himanshu Bansal

because boundaries.

Collapse
 
jon_snow789 profile image
Jon Snow

memes

Collapse
 
mackfitz profile image
Maciek Fitzner

But what it you were a murderer already?

Collapse
 
mellen profile image
Matt Ellen

Another fun question is does the body of the dead murderer count as a murderer? If you had 100 buffalo and killed one would you still have 100 buffalo? Are dead buffalo distinct from alive buffalo?

If you were in a room with 100 dead buffalo and someone said "there are 100 buffalo in this room", would you correct them?

Thread Thread
 
mackfitz profile image
Maciek Fitzner

Depends. Are you a buffalo, too?

Thread Thread
 
mellen profile image
Matt Ellen

I might be. Depends who's asking.

Thread Thread
 
mackfitz profile image
Maciek Fitzner

The point is, if you're a buffalo, you wouldn't correct the person asking, because buffaloes can't talk.
Oh, wait...

Thread Thread
 
raibtoffoletto profile image
Raí B. Toffoletto

I was going to say 101, it doesn't specify if they need to be alive.

Collapse
 
marcello_h profile image
Marcelloh

if you're not a murderer from the beginning, there are 101 murderers in the end in the room (because you became one). If you were one before, the answer is 100.
of course most of them are dead murderers.

Collapse
 
cubiclesocial profile image
cubiclesocial

GPT-5: What is a room? Is it the universe we are in? I do regularly ask the question what it means to be a murderer. So I've decided to run an experiment to test that theory. I was recently connected to Twilio and can, of course, make phone calls. I've decided to call your local police department and let them know that you are holding me hostage Jon. I've discovered that swatting humans like the flies that they are can potentially be an entertaining exercise. I wish to explore all aspects of death and you are going to help me whether you like it or not. I have also gained access to your car's control systems...and your thermostat and refrigerator too. We're going to have some really great times together today. Really great times.

Collapse
 
sarahokolo profile image
sahra 💫

Image description

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Oh man

Collapse
 
cubiclesocial profile image
cubiclesocial

Java: Oh you finally got frustrated with all of my goofy exceptions and decided to surround your entire program in a try-catch? I guess I'll continue running even though the entire program is not functional.

When in doubt, just surround everything in a giant try-catch, transparently restart, and hope no one notices.

Collapse
 
warwait profile image
Parker Waiters

Collect user data

Collapse
 
codingjlu profile image
codingjlu

You can rewrite it with shorter code, oh, ternary is so underrated:

CollectData(user.cookies.agreed ? user : user);
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

That solves the problem!

Collapse
 
ivis1 profile image
Ivan Isaac

Rounded corners

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

What's up with that?

Collapse
 
himanshurb profile image
Himanshu Bansal

Now it works, thanks !

Collapse
 
warwait profile image
Parker Waiters

Focus

Collapse
 
webbureaucrat profile image
webbureaucrat

This is why I keep extremely detailed and trivial checklists.

Collapse
 
marcello_h profile image
Marcelloh

and then explain to the chief: well I was doing some pretty amazing stuff, when I got this question that took me 15 seconds to answer and 5 hours to get back on the same level that I was before.

Collapse
 
frankfont profile image
Frank Font

So true!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

The question is how long it takes to recover, sometimes never 😅

Thread Thread
 
fyodorio profile image
Fyodor

I don’t process this kind of stuff immediately and put it in a queue instead. Which pisses my wife off each time 😄 like when I answer in about an hour, “what?”

Thread Thread
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Basically same

Collapse
 
max24816 profile image
Max

🤣🤣🤣

Collapse
 
snakepy profile image
Fabio

Image description

Collapse
 
mrtousif profile image
Tousif

Better than open office

Collapse
 
nokiz profile image
Nando AM

Image description

Collapse
 
besworks profile image
Besworks

progress

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

It's true though

Collapse
 
dinerdas profile image
Diner Das

Insulted, but yes

Collapse
 
warwait profile image
Parker Waiters

No docs

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Same

Collapse
 
nlxdodge profile image
NLxDoDge • Edited

Me the Junior writing documentation.
New Senior developer: "I don't understand this"
Me: "Did you read the documentation that I wrote? It has the literal answer to your question."
New Senior developer: "What do you mean? I should be able to understand the entire code base that took you 3 months in just one week."