DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Workspace Wednesday: Show me pics of your at-home setup

It's that time of the week again

Top comments (56)

Collapse
 
bholmesdev profile image
Ben Holmes

Desk setup

Slick LG 4K monitor
✅ Desk + lamp in my parent's house that's way too fancy for me to own
✅ Daily todo journal that I barely follow
✅ The all-important DEV sticker ✨
✅ J City playlist I've been living on for months (which you can find here!)

Collapse
 
ewoks profile image
Beeblebrox

how big is monitor? 23-24" or 27-28"? Do you find icon, menus, etc.. too small because of 4k? Do you know what panels your monitor has TN or IPS? How satisfied are you with colors?

Collapse
 
bholmesdev profile image
Ben Holmes • Edited

Oh yeah, forgot to give the size! It's a 27" IPS panel (matte finish) with USB-C support. The brightness and colors are amazing in my opinion, but I've seen a couple complaints that it differs from a MacBook's glossy display. I'll definitely take no glare over a little inconsistency though.

Here's the amazon listing: amazon.com/LG-27UD88-W-LED-Lit-Mon...

Bought this a couple years ago though, and it looks like they came out with a newer, cheaper model: amazon.com/LG-27UK850-W-Monitor-Co...

Collapse
 
jalpeshvadgama profile image
jalpesh Vadgama • Edited


I have started understanding ergonomics and this is my setup to meet this. I am so much productive after making changes like putting laptop at a specific height and external mouse and keyboard.

Hardware:
Lenovox1 carbon 3rd edition
Logitech mouse and keyboard
JBL headphones with MIC

Software:
Windows 10 Professional
Visual Studio and Visual studio code
SQL Server

Collapse
 
attkinsonjakob profile image
Jakob Attkinson

Few opinions on your setup, if I may:

  • putting your laptop aside and just using that gorgeous monitor should be much better for productivity (and for mastering alt+tab)
  • investing in a mechanical keyboard should improve your typing and experience a dozen times
  • you might need a little more room on the table, for your hands.
  • the lamp is pretty cool 😍
Collapse
 
bholmesdev profile image
Ben Holmes

Some fair points! I personally prefer slotting my laptop below the monitor so I can have a semi-dual monitor setup. Putting it to the side is a possibility... But it might be too out of the way to be useful as a secondary monitor. Happy to experiment tho once I invest in a keyboard and mouse (or magic trackpad)!

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR 🥇 • Edited

I agree with space for resting the arms, and I think 2 screens better than one always, Ben only need a laptop support and set both screens at the same distance. Then the arms rest space will appear.

I'm not agree with mechanical keyboard, this has nothing to do on typing skills, and you'll cause much more noise without a reason. If you gonna play some FPS it's OK if you are this kind of people that really think you will perceive 4ms less on response time but for work?
Gimme that soft low-profile keys please! You can go for a Logitech G815 or G915 which lets you type faster with a short press per key, it will make you feel less tired after coding for hours.
Some like Macbook or Huawei laptops, which also come with built-in soft low-profile keyboards, but having it on an external keyboard improves the experience by hundred.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Epic

Collapse
 
shane profile image
Shane McGowan

I respect the monitor dedicated to Blank Banshee

Collapse
 
bholmesdev profile image
Ben Holmes

Ayyyyy someone got the reference! Mega’s my favorite vaporwave album hands down. So much clever sound panning and production 🙏

Thread Thread
 
shane profile image
Shane McGowan

Insert some joke about "My Machine" here 😘

Collapse
 
simme profile image
Simme • Edited

photo

  • Macbook Pro 2019
  • Twelve South BookArc
  • Anne Pro 2 keyboard with chocolate keycaps and custom wooden shell.
  • Logitech G900
  • LG 34" 5k monitor (34wk95u)
  • Blue Yeti Microphone, Compass arm, Radius shock mount, and a no-brand pop filter.
  • Random ceramic coffee mug
  • VaultBoy wobble head
  • Divoom Timebox Evo
  • SteelSeries XXL Mousepad

and last, but not least, a box of Swedish snus! 💪🏼

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

The chocolate key caps and wood shell look killer on that anne pro!

Collapse
 
simme profile image
Simme

Thanks! Took ages to get all the parts. Now, all I'm missing is the components to build the custom cable:

cable

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Your screen is really clear and same for contents ! 👏☕

Collapse
 
simme profile image
Simme • Edited

I dont think I have anything secret on there, just a bunch of reddit tabs, so no worries! 😅

Thread Thread
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

But your theme. This is natif on IOS?

Thread Thread
 
simme profile image
Simme • Edited

No, it's something I've put together myself; it's a combination of:

github.com/simskij/dotfiles
github.com/simskij/dustbin-theme-m...
github.com/simskij/dustbin-theme-s...

and possibly more that I've not yet bothered pushing to github. 🤓
Unfortunately, I haven't gotten around to styling chrome and slack yet.

Thread Thread
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕ • Edited

Oh nice colors! I'm thinking of testing Spicetify. Thanks!

Thread Thread
 
simme profile image
Simme • Edited

Thanks! Here's a clearer picture of the desktop and theming.

https://dev-to-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/i/wl2pltk7rctnxwtvy300.png

Spotify

Thread Thread
 
brenodamata profile image
Breno da Mata

Nice playlist! lol
gonna copy that, just letting you know.

Thread Thread
 
simme profile image
Simme

Go for it! 💪🏻

Collapse
 
hamiltondustin profile image
hamiltondustin

Where do you find keycaps for that keyboard?

Collapse
 
simme profile image
Simme

Wherever they sell cherry mx compatible keycaps. I personally prefer doubleshot pbt keycaps.
Some suggestions:

mechanicalkeyboards.com/
candykeys.com/
kbdfans.com/
kprepublic.com/

Thread Thread
 
hamiltondustin profile image
hamiltondustin

Thanks! I am wanting to get a mechanical keyboard.

Collapse
 
nlye profile image
NLye

My Workspace Setup

It's a mixed setup of home and office hardware atm, thats why there is the cable mess, but I'm still happy with that :)

  • 3 EIZO monitors
  • Small 'Cooler Master' keyboard
  • Dell mouse
  • RØDE mic
  • Software: VS Code + Teamspeak to speak with my colleagues and Web Radio for cool music
  • The most important thing: COFFEE :D
Collapse
 
attkinsonjakob profile image
Jakob Attkinson

The monitors are amazing. I imagine you work a lot with design and colors?

Collapse
 
nlye profile image
NLye

I wish I could say yes, but actually I just like to have a lot of space and not always have to change the foreground program. ;D

Collapse
 
ewoks profile image
Beeblebrox

What is your choice/opinion about following:

  • size 23-24" vs 27-28" for programming?
  • 4k vs HD?
  • TN vs IPS panels?
Collapse
 
chrislarry33 profile image
Chris Lawrence

I am either doing this 100% wrong or 100% right

Alt text of image

Collapse
 
lauragift21 profile image
Gift Egwuenu

My nice-looking workspace.

Collapse
 
easybuoy profile image
Ekunola Ezekiel

My workspace 🤓

Collapse
 
romanbytes profile image
Jacob Roman

This is the way.

Desk setup

Collapse
 
sagartyagi121 profile image
Gajender Tyagi • Edited

Mess!!!
Mess

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Remember to hit the subscribe button to stream all the replies into your notifications 🤯

Collapse
 
sergix profile image
Peyton McGinnis

SMASH that like button and SUBSCRIBE, and comment below to enter my FREE AMAZON $50 GIFT CARD GIVEAWAY

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

😂

Collapse
 
jeremycmorgan profile image
Jeremy Morgan

Workstation
Workstation

A little crowded but productive.

  • 2 Samsung 27" Curved LEDs
  • ShuttlePro v2 Video editing
  • Rode NT1-USB for Meetings
  • Rode Podcaster + Focusrite Scarlet for production stuff
  • Logitech 922 HD Pro Webcam, Kiyo Razer Webcam
  • Digital Storm Lumos workstation. I9-9920k/64 gig Ram
  • NES controller for the important stuff.

I also plug a Macbook Pro into everything for work. Have an I7/32gig PC under the desk that only runs Virtual Machines.

In my recording room I have a 2012 Mac Mini plugged into an RE20 w/DBX286s, Cloudlifter etc specifically for recording audio on my courses and podcast.

Collapse
 
ewoks profile image
Beeblebrox

Samsungs are 4k or HD? TN vs IPS panels?

Collapse
 
jma profile image
Jie • Edited

like dark and color backlight

Collapse
 
ewoks profile image
Beeblebrox

curved 4k? 28 or 32"?

Collapse
 
jma profile image
Jie

32, and regret now, 4K is must😭

Thread Thread
 
ewoks profile image
Beeblebrox

Good to know.. I fear icons etc might be too small with 4k...

Thread Thread
 
jma profile image
Jie

You always can adjust the resolution to match the size. Non 4K is terrible for coding, especially if you are using retina mbp

Collapse
 
metalmikester profile image
Michel Renaud

workspace

I used to have my telework stuff on the dining room table but it looks like we're in this for the long run (months, and when the office reopens they'll have a fraction of the staff on site), so I spent a few hours Saturday making room in the small bedroom (which has no bed). Telework setup is on the left:

  • 2x 24" monitors
  • 1 laptop (left) for Microsoft Teams and a few other things (work bandwidth is limited, so while they're working on increasing capacity they ask that we do not use the work network for online meetings, training/tutorial videos, etc.)
  • 1 laptop (right - lid closed) - that's the laptop from work and the only thing that's theirs (plus the phone, I guess).
  • Kinesis Freestyle keyboard
  • Evoluent VerticalMouse 4

On the right is my personal computer setup. 2011 27" iMac with two 27" Thunderbolt monitors. Lower-right corner there's a turntable, because heavy metal. :) I find it's a good way to ensure I get up and move relatively frequently, having to change sides or records.

Collapse
 
takakd profile image
Takahiro Kudo

workspace

Oh, it's Thursday in 🇯🇵 now. 😆

This is my workspace in my home🤗
MacBook 12" is easy to carry, but I think it's not enough to write code of server-side. 🧐

Collapse
 
abhinav profile image
Abhinav Kumar • Edited

abhnv workspace

  • BenQ 27" QHD monitor
  • Lenovo Y50-70 (HDD swapped with SSD and 16GB RAM added) docked below the desk
  • Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate mechanical keyboard + Logitech M331 silent mouse
  • Apple iPad Pro 10.5-inch for notes and mockups
  • Creative 2.1 speakers + Apple Earpods hidden below the keyboard. (I don't like headphones so I take calls using speakers and Earpods' mic)
  • LG 50" TV for projecting
  • Nebula and Deadpool
Collapse
 
ewoks profile image
Beeblebrox

why QHD? is 4k too much? I mean too small icons, text, etc?

Collapse
 
mrrcollins profile image
Ryan Collins

Another Mac to the mix:

WFH PBG4