DEV Community

Cover image for Why My Rubber Duck Quit on Me: A Developer’s Tale
Pachi 🥑 for WebCrumbs

Posted on

Why My Rubber Duck Quit on Me: A Developer’s Tale

It's no secret that we developers sometimes talk to our rubber ducks as part of the "rubber duck debugging" technique, where explaining code out loud helps uncover bugs.
But what happens when your rubber duck has had enough?Here's the tale of my rubber duck that decided to "quit"...


The Resignation 💌

letter

One morning, I found a tiny, wet resignation letter next to my keyboard. It read:

"Dear Pachi, After years of loyal service, listening to your monologues on missing semicolons, infinite loops, and why you think JavaScript is better than anyrhing else, I've decided to step down.
The work hours are endless, and let's be frank, you talk to me, but you never listen to what I have to say.

I need a break. Perhaps a nice, quiet pond.
Sincerely, Rubber Duck"

I was in shock. How could my duck leave me, especially during a particularly vexing array of bugs?


The Complex Problems 🐞

code bugs

As the days went on, I felt the absence of my duck deeply. I found myself whispering to my coffee mug about asynchronous functions and callback hell, but it just wasn't the same.
The coffee mug, unlike the duck, was too filled with bitterness.

I recalled the last few problems I had discussed with my duck: a CSS issue where nothing aligned, a JavaScript function that mysteriously returned NaN, and a database query that seemed to think I was asking for an existential debate rather than user data. I
t was a lot, even for the most seasoned of rubber ducks.


The Search for a Replacement 🔍

searching

Determined to fill the void, I embarked on a quest for a new debugging buddy. The journey was long and full of odd looks as I auditioned various inanimate objects: a stapler (too pointy), a plant (too leafy), and even my old graphing calculator from college (it just gave me more problems to solve).

Finally, I found a suitable replacement at a quirky little shop. It was a rubber chicken. Sure, it was unconventional, but it had a sympathetic squeak and an understanding gaze.


The First Meeting 🐔

rubber chicken

I introduced the rubber chicken to my codebase, apprehensive but hopeful. To my delight, the chicken seemed to take to its new role like a duck to water, or should I say, like a chicken to corn?
I explained my latest issue with a recursive function, and though it offered no words, its presence was oddly comforting.


I will always miss you 🦆

While my rubber duck may have "quit," the memories of our sessions together will float on forever in my heart.
The rubber chicken has now taken up the mantle, proving that sometimes, a change in perspective (or species) is all you need to crack the code.

P.S. Yes, I just lost my Rubber Duck and made up this story to feel the hole that they left 🥲🥲🥲

P.S.2. Do you know WebCrumbs yet? Join us to build a better web, where Rubber Ducks won't feel like quitting.

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
heyjmac profile image
J Mac

This is how GPT imagined it:
Pachi with her Rubber Chicken

Collapse
 
sreno77 profile image
Scott Reno

Maybe your duck quacked under the pressure you put on him

Collapse
 
pachicodes profile image
Pachi 🥑

🥲🥲🥲 I am afraid so

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello • Edited

I guess any poultry suffices. Someone should try a rubber turkey next to verify, now that we know chickens work as well as ducks.

Collapse
 
pachicodes profile image
Pachi 🥑

That is a great point. I will tru a turkey around Thanksgiving

Collapse
 
heyjmac profile image
J Mac • Edited

Entertaaaaaining

Collapse
 
ewoychowsky profile image
Edmond Woychowsky

It's not unusual to quack under pressure.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.