DEV Community

Cover image for Can you review my branding ?
camarm
camarm

Posted on • Originally published at camarm.dev

Can you review my branding ?

👋 Hello developers 👨‍💻, hello designers 🎨 !

I'm currently working on my website 🌐 and I have designed a logo and multiples banner for my branding / artistic direction.

Can you 👈 tell me what do think about these ?

The speech 💬:

I went with blue 🔵 and purple 🟣 because they are my favourite colours and the white/black ⚪/⚫ are pulled from blue and purple !
I looked on Duckduckgo 🔍 for icons that everyone 🌎 can understand are code.
I found many images 🖼️ like this one:
Code logo

I figured 🤔 if I made a logo like this one, I could be understood by everyone !

I also wanted to create a logo I can use everywhere, modern and if possible with my nickname inside.

Recap:

Constraints of the logo:

  • With blue 🔵
  • With purple 🟣
  • For everywhere 🏞️ (website 🌐, social media 📱)
  • Modern ➰
  • Include an icon, banners and full logo 💼
  • With my nickname 👤

The logos:

The icon:

camarm icon
Designed with 2 colours and the shape of <>.

The full logo:

camarm logo
Designed with the icon, it makes CAMARM DEV, my pseudonym

Banners:

I also designed banners for opengraph and social medias:

The classic:

Classic Banner
Full logo in a rounded white rectangle.

The logo background:

logo background banner
Full logo with description and a background full of the icon.

The abstract background:

abstract background banner
Full logo with description and a background full of abstract shapes.

Please note that all the images are under CC BY-NC-ND 3.0 FR license

Thanks you 🙏 for your reviews which I'll take note,
Have nice code ✍️,
And see ya later ✌️ !

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
grunk profile image
Olivier

Pour être honnête ma première lecture à été Amarm EV , ce qui n'est clairement pas le but recherché.
L'idée d'utiliser les chevrons comme lettre est bonne , mais je suis pas certains que ca marche en l'état actuel.

TLDR in english :
My first read of the logo was Amarm EV not Camarm Dev.

Collapse
 
camarm profile image
camarm

Ok j'ai vu que cela était effectivement pas très clair suite a plusieurs retours mais le logo sera toujours accompagné de "camarm dev" écrit, pense-tu que cela est donc un problème? Si oui dois-je vraiment changer ou ce n'est au final pas très dérangeant ?

Collapse
 
grunk profile image
Olivier

Je pense que le logo suivi de "camarm dev" ca peut le faire sans problème.
Sur fond blanc j'aime bien , après sur fond noir je suis moins convaincu , mais ce n'est que mon avis de dév pas foutu d'associer 2 couleurs ensemble 😅

Thread Thread
 
camarm profile image
camarm

Ok je prend note pour mes prochaines réalisations. Merci de tes retours 👍. (Je réadapterai sûrement les logos et textes pour un fond clair)

Collapse
 
armousness profile image
Sean Williams • Edited

To tack onto what Olivier said, the problem with the chevron being a letter is that there are two chevrons, only one of which is a letter. The blue < comes first, which sets your expectations that the chevrons are strictly decorative, and then the purple > breaks that expectation. My best suggestion to you, if you wanna keep the chevrons, is to just say < AMRAM > and forget about including >EV.

I also have to ask, is it relevant that you're French? Or if you wanna lean into that, you could replace "French Developer / Sysadmin" with « Développeur / Administrateur Système » or something like that. While it's true that all those words are English cognates, though, you run the risk that anglophones will assume that any content you put out will be in French before they even look. So really my suggestion is to just call yourself a "Developer / Sysadmin" (if you're targeting an anglophone audience).

My final suggestion is, don't use so many emojis. I know I'm a bit of a curmudgeon, but posts with a lot of emojis look to me like a twelve-year-old girl's text message history.

Collapse
 
camarm profile image
camarm

Thanks for your review, I think I'm going to remove the "French" before "developer" and only specify it in my bio, for emojis, I use them to be creative and make the text more readable but it can do the opposite. I'll use them only in the titles of the sections.
Thanks and have a nice day!

Collapse
 
armousness profile image
Sean Williams

To expand a bit on emojis, I think it's a generational thing. I got my first cell phone my senior year of high school (i.e., lycée), and it was one of those candy bar phones that only had the snake game on it. Emojis only started being incorporated into Unicode in 2010, and I was in grad school at the time. Before that, emoticons felt like Comic Sans—the sort of thing a middle-aged secretary includes in their emails to seem cool.

I actually still think of emojis that way: apart from the thumbs-up emoji, which I get a lot (basically just to acknowledge a text), it feels like older people who use them are trying to be hip. I also don't have any friends younger than 30, so I have virtually no exposure to emojis as language.

The reason I bring this up is a similar question: what's your target audience? People in their 20s? 30s? 50s? All ages? If so, I think it's better to be timeless.

Regarding generations, demographers place the "millennial generation" as the generation that came of age at the turn of the millennium. But that feels arbitrary, since it turns out, the World Trade Center attack didn't really change things. I have a friend who thinks the more important generational marker is whether you had a smartphone in high school. I think that's what I'm trying to get at here.

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

The blue and purple are quite similar. In some conditions (like your avatar here) they're difficult for me to distinguish, however I like the way they look against the dark grey background.

What is more of a problem is that I read it as AMARM EV, and I have no idea what those words might mean. Perhaps it's "Amarm E.V." where E.V. stands for something like, "Electric Vehicles". My mind races briefly as I try to figure it out before giving up and thinking, maybe it's stylised. Maybe it's really "Amarmev". Perhaps a family name.

What I'm saying is that it's not clear that those are initials, especially as one is for a name and the other for a descriptor.