DEV Community

Chloe
Chloe

Posted on

Getting started with accessibility

I know I need to learn more about the subejct but I'm not sure where to get started. I've heard of ARIA and a11y project other than that I know very little.

Any tips/suggestions to learn more much appreciated.

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Accessibility is a pretty broad field, so there is a lot of ongoing learning and need to sort of get immersed.

...Following #a11y on DEV is a great start...

#a11y

And you can go into your dashboard and give it more weight to ensure you see more of it. (We'll make this feature more discoverable soon 😬)

Collapse
 
cguttweb profile image
Chloe

Thanks am now following how do I give it more weight I don't see an option to do that currently or has that not been implemented yet?

Collapse
 
sarahk profile image
Sarah

I couldn't recommend Google Devs Youtube playlist on accessibility enough. They've worked hard on explaining each part as simply as possible

youtube.com/playlist?list=PLNYkxOF...

Collapse
 
ekafyi profile image
Eka

+1 this playlist!

Also, accessibility is not a field that stands on its own--it's integrated into all parts of your stack (HTML, CSS, JS; whatever framework/library you use). If you want somewhere practical to start, you can run your projects/websites through Lighthouse or web.dev audit and see your accessibility score. It will give you recommendations on things you can improve.

Collapse
 
cguttweb profile image
Chloe

I've used Lighthouse a bit and I have the axe plugin which has helped a bit but it's something I know I need a better understanding of. Multiple links to that playlist it looks great I will have a watch thanks.

Collapse
 
s_aitchison profile image
Suzanne Aitchison

I've heard this course by edX is pretty good at covering fundamentals including the broader context of accessibility and user experience. It's free if you don't want the certificate at the end.

EdX Introduction to web accessibility

Collapse
 
s_aitchison profile image
Suzanne Aitchison • Edited

Also as a shameless plug for myself, I have quite a few posts on here and at my site Up Your A11y that you might find useful 😊

I also have a talk I made a YouTube version of that focuses on how to build some good habits as a dev just getting started with accessibility:

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

Some kind of a11y lint might be a good start, especially if you use NPM and ESLint.

Collapse
 
cguttweb profile image
Chloe

I do use ESlint to a certain extent yes is the a11y lint a separate plugin? (I use VSCode)

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt
  • JSX
  • Vue
  • I recalled that there also ones for HTML-only as well, but I can only find this, enabler CLI.
Collapse
 
sainig profile image
Gaurav Saini

These videos ware a great starting point for me
youtu.be/0hqhAIjE_8I
And
youtube.com/playlist?list=PLNYkxOF...