DEV Community

Chloe
Chloe

Posted on

Learning JavaScript and Vue

This is my first post here at dev.to I've never done anything like this before so bare with me. I'm keen to try and get more involved in the community as I lurk a lot so here goes.

I'm a web developer as my day-to-day job primarily involves building HTML emails (everyone's favourite) and landing pages in different platforms. I'm looking to level up and move away from this work and do more 'dev' work. I'm currently learning VueJS (which I really like through a combination of pluralsight and tutorials) and am keen to learn more about its ecosystem currently in the process of moving my blog and portfolio (if you can even call it that...) from jekyll and github pages to Gridsome (as its Vue based I thought why not) and Netlify. I have moved my blog posts over and have a version up and running it was fairly straightforward as I found a couple of tutorials on getting started but GraphQL I know nothing about so not sure if it's worth me looking more into it?

It has made me realise how much vanilla JS I have forgotten as I don't get to use it in my day job so am trying to refresh all the basics as I know a bit of ES6 syntax and some array methods. I consider myself a beginner with Vue but I've built/am building a couple of different things with the Vue-CLI.

Does anyone use Vue a lot? Would you recommend perhaps learning something like React as well? I have read about it briefly bu8t it seems so alien to me but everyone seems to rave about it.

If anyone has any tips they would be appreciated.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
anthonywebdev profile image
Anthony R.

Hello Chloe, also learning VueJS at the moment which I really appreciate. I am coming from backend (PHP) so I had to first learn JavaScript basics.

What i will recommend you is to focus on VueJS and after that, when you are able to make all your ideas with it, you can give a try to other frameworks.

For learning things about JS (Basics / Frameworks / etc...) I highly recommend FrontEndMasters. Will cost you 30$ a month but the quality of the courses are insane.

Collapse
 
cguttweb profile image
Chloe

Hi Anthony,

Firstly thanks for the reply. I'm currently learning through pluralsight and am enjoying it I have used teamtreehouse in the past but there have very little content on Vue currently. I've also tried freecodecamp (more than once) and have picked a couple of things but have never managed to stick to it.

I have heard some very good things about FrontEnd Masters is there a free trial I could perhaps try before committing?

I'd like to learn some PHP/a bit of Wordpress eventually (everyone seems to be using laravel these days?) but very much focused on frontend at moment.

Collapse
 
anthonywebdev profile image
Anthony R.

No free trial ... But i can assure, FEM is pure gold.

Next it all depend of your career choices. If you want to be a front-end developer, so stick to front-end. And learn a bit about back-end if you need to.

Yep Laravel is a good framework. Used a lot. As I am in France, the main PHP framework is Symfony. Wich a bit more hard to learn.

For Laravel, I recommend "Coder's Tape" YouTube channel. You will learn all the basics, and more !

Laravel + VueJS seems to be a good choice, there is a lot of demand.

Also when you will be good at Vue, check VueJobs :D

Collapse
 
obaaa8 profile image
MAHMOUD ABDELSAMEA

I am a beginner and look for inspiring vuejs

Collapse
 
cguttweb profile image
Chloe

Someone posted this in another thread but there is a list of some Vue projects github.com/vuejs/awesome-vue