DEV Community

Cover image for What is your one big tip you'd tell yourself starting out becoming a developer?
Charlie Say
Charlie Say

Posted on

What is your one big tip you'd tell yourself starting out becoming a developer?

we all started somewhere in this big world of development.

I wish I wish I wish! I had told myself that :

it is OK to not know the answer & ask questions, lots of them.

There are many devs on Dev.To just starting out in their journey, and are looking for any tips no matter big or small.

So what is your ONE BIG TIP that you wish you had told
yourself?

Credit to The Amp Channel for the cover image.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

I would tell myself to build in public and become active on social media and blogging communities.

Collapse
 
t0nghe profile image
Tonghe Wang • Edited

Apart from being more practical, I’d tell myself:

Stick to one thing, anything, and focus on it. That way you’d feel ready sooner. Whichever you choose, don’t doubt that choice. Put in the effort, it will click.

Build things. Don’t just read or follow tutorials. And don’t do β€œpremature optimizations”. Putting together a system (a whole thing that runs, with several parts) with whichever technology is way more important than worrying about if each part is working optimally.

Collapse
 
crowdozer profile image
crowdozer

To look up "tutorial hell"

No amount of studying will make you feel ready. It's the experience from your first job that makes you feel ready.

Collapse
 
randwulf_magnus profile image
Randell Knight

I agree with you, crowdozer. At some point, one must simply jump into a job and proceed from there. There is no replacement for experience.

Collapse
 
hamidh2 profile image
Hamid Hassani

Be more practical.
Stop just reading stuff, take advantage of them in a real project for god sake!

Collapse
 
t0nghe profile image
Tonghe Wang

I agree.