DEV Community

Cover image for What Would You Change about Your Career?
Sloan the DEV Moderator for CodeNewbie

Posted on • Updated on

What Would You Change about Your Career?

Join us in bridging the knowledge gap and fostering a stronger coding community. Your expertise can shape the next generation of developers. Let's do this together!

If you could change one thing about your developer role, what would it be?

Follow the CodeNewbie Org and #codenewbie for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
danbailey profile image
Dan Bailey

Oh man, back in 2002, I let myself get side-tracked into project management and was stuck there until 2020, before switching back to dev work. On a do-over, I would've been a PM for about 2-4 years before switching back to dev.

Collapse
 
willyvaessen profile image
Willy Vaessen

I I could turn back time, I would definitely have put way more focus on development, rather than trying to become a sysadmin.

Collapse
 
tamerghazi profile image
Tamer Ghazi

That is a good question actually, what i would personally would like to change is to maybe concentrating more on Programming and the basics of it (That i still have some problems with ) rather than just wasting time and thinking that i am doing the right steps for my career.

Collapse
 
martian profile image
Omar Martian

Nothing, Everyting is right