DEV Community

Cover image for What's Your Go-To Hack for Breaking Through a Coding Block?
Sloan the DEV Moderator for CodeNewbie

Posted on

What's Your Go-To Hack for Breaking Through a Coding Block?

Join us in bridging the knowledge gap and fostering a stronger coding community. Your expertise can shape the next generation of developers. Let's do this together!

When faced with a stubborn coding challenge, what's your secret weapon to spark creativity and overcome the block?

Follow the CodeNewbie Org and #codenewbie for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
webbureaucrat profile image
webbureaucrat

Formulating a StackOverflow question.

StackOverflow requires real work to ask a question, and I find that writing out things like my goal and what I've tried and listing similar questions and why I don't think those similar questions have the answer I'm looking for... These are all steps to solving the problem. Half the time, I figure it out on my own and don't end up sending the question.

Collapse
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

Lol πŸ˜‚ So the potential responses from stackoverflow tire you out that much that you you don’t even ask the question.lol
I have seen it too.... there is always someone to ask you if you tried first and or googles first lol
But the fact that you can sort it out means you are strong

Collapse
 
danbailey profile image
Dan Bailey

I go for a bike ride and let my subconscious chew on it.

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

I leave my computer and walk outside

Collapse
 
ksolomon profile image
Keith Solomon

Sometimes you have to get up and walk away from what you’re doing to get some perspective. When I smoked, I’d burn one…now I usually go make a cup of coffee.

Collapse
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

I stretch out my feet and take a nap 15 minutes later. I’m back at it rocking like mountain.