DEV Community

Cover image for Best DEV.to Posts for Beginners: Week of June 2, 2019
Desi
Desi

Posted on

Best DEV.to Posts for Beginners: Week of June 2, 2019

One of the reasons I've been so drawn to DEV.to over other platforms is the super encouraging and helpful community that gathers here. Initially I felt like it was going to be more a place where I sat back and watched, rather than write and contribute, but I've been so pleased to find not only helpful articles and tutorials that I understand, but also that input from new coders and devs is well-received.

I thought it would be nice to compile some of the best posts every week for those of us who still identify as #codenewbies!

For a long time, the conversation in workplaces across industries was diversity. What wasn’t being addressed — and is even more important — was inclusion. Now, they’re often covered in tandem initiatives, which is great! But if you’re still not sure what the difference is, and exactly why they’re so important, Molly helps shed some light.

From prototyping layouts in CSS flexbox to generating nice placeholder color schemes, supportive communities to code challenge lists, devs from all languages and areas of interests shared their favorite resources. I definitely have a pile of great bookmarks to check out hat I wasn’t familiar with before!

If you’re like me and have long struggled with remembering what git command does what, stop the rote memorization attempts and instead learn the why behind the commands.

Lately, I’ve had so many ideas and so much inspiration for side projects that it’s felt overwhelming and stifling, but there are also extremely long stretches where I don’t have any ideas that feel good or worth it. The tips shared here are helping me not only get more clear on my current ideas, but gave me some great ways to cope with creative block in the future.

I felt very #seen by this tweet last week:

I might not ever totally understand what it is, but I get why it’s so important now!

What articles did I miss? Feel free to toot your own horn too! :)

Top comments (0)