DEV Community

Cover image for Featured Mod of the Month: Pachi
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

Featured Mod of the Month: Pachi

In this series, we shine a spotlight 🔩 on the different DEV moderators — Trusted Members and Tag Mods — who help to make DEV a kind, helpful place. Aside from spreading good vibes and helping fellow community members, these folks also assist us with removing spam and keeping posts well organized by adding and removing tags as necessary amongst other things.

If you want to learn more about what these awesome folks do, I recommend checking out our Trusted Member and Tag Moderation guides. There is information about how to apply in both guides if you're interested in joining up as a moderator.

Introducing Pachi 🙌

February's featured mod is Pachi, a long-time DEV member and moderator! With experience in DevRel and as a community manager, Pachi is a well-rounded, kind and helpful person with both strong tech abilities and peopling skills. She deserves a major kudos for the work that she has done to grow our Brazilian developer community here on DEV under #braziliandevs. đŸ‡§đŸ‡· She also regularly shares helpful posts on a wide range of topics, including tutorials for using GitHub or posts about her experiences in DevRel. Thanks a bunch, Pachi!

The Interview

Hope you enjoy the interview! Note that we decided to intermingle the Portuguese translations below. 🙂


Michael Tharrington: Can you talk about your developer origin story? For instance, how did you first get into software development, and when did it morph into a career?.

VocĂȘ pode falar sobre sua histĂłria de origem como desenvolvedora? Por exemplo, como vocĂȘ começou no desenvolvimento de software, quando isso se transformou em uma carreira?

Pachi: I have an older brother and a sister-in-law that have been in development for a while, but I never showed any interest in the career until I watched Mr. Robot lol. I just love that show and that made me interested in learning more. On top of that, I was starting to feel stagnated in my career as a professional Nanny. I was 28 y.o. when I first started learning to code. I used to study while the baby I cared for was napping. After a year and a half or so, just 2 weeks before the pandemic hit, I got a part-time gig as a developer.

Eu tenho um irmĂŁo mais velho e uma cunhada que estĂŁo na ĂĄrea de desenvolvimento hĂĄ algum tempo. Mas eu nunca demonstrei interesse na carreira atĂ© assistir a Mr. Robot, haha! Eu simplesmente adoro aquele programa e isso me deixou interessado em aprender mais. AlĂ©m disso, estava começando a me sentir estagnado na minha carreira como babĂĄ profissional. Eu tinha 28 anos quando comecei a aprender a programar. Costumava estudar enquanto o bebĂȘ que eu cuidava estava tirando uma soneca. Depois de cerca de um ano e meio, apenas duas semanas antes da pandemia começar, consegui um trabalho de meio perĂ­odo como dev.

Michael: Four years ago, you became the first tag mod for #braziliandevs. Since then, our community of Brazilian developers has grown immensely and there are loads of awesome folks writing and sharing posts written in Brazilian Portuguese under the tag that you originated! Can you talk a bit about what it’s like to be a developer in Brazil and what the vibe of the Brazilian community on DEV is like?

HĂĄ quatro anos, vocĂȘ se tornou a primeira mod da tag #braziliandevs. Desde entĂŁo, nossa comunidade dev brasileira cresceu imensamente e hĂĄ muitas pessoas incrĂ­veis escrevendo e compartilhando posts escritos em portuguĂȘs do Brasil sob a tag que vocĂȘ originou! VocĂȘ pode falar um pouco sobre como Ă© ser dev no Brasil e como Ă© a vibe da comunidade brasileira no DEV?

Pachi: I love DEV and I love the Brazilian tech community, so I wanted to carve out a little space on DEV for us, and it seems it has worked! I am a huge advocate of DEV for Brazil haha.

Our community is vibrant and there is always some cool event happening (we love events!). I think this is the biggest difference I see from other places, we are always looking for a reason to meet up.

Eu adoro o DEV e adoro a comunidade de tecnologia brasileira, então eu queria criar um pequeno espaço no DEV para nós, e parece que deu certo! Sou uma grande defensora do DEV no Brasil, haha.

Nossa comunidade é vibrante e sempre estå acontecendo algum evento legal (nós amamos eventos!). Acho que essa é a maior diferença que vejo de outros lugares, sempre estamos procurando um motivo para nos encontrarmos.

Michael: What attracted you to get into Developer Relations? Also, what do you like most and what do you like least about DevRel?

O que atraiu vocĂȘ para entrar em Develper Relations? AlĂ©m disso, o que vocĂȘ mais gosta e o que menos gosta no DevRel?

Pachi: I love community and helping people, so DevRel fits like a glove. The second I knew it existed I knew it was what I wanted to do. In my first job, I did lots of live streaming on Twitch, something that I was doing for a while as a dream, and I loved it. So, the prospect of being paid to do it got me hyped.

Working with communities is for sure my favorite part of DevRel, I get to meet cool people and help them. My least favorite part is the lack of defined roles and tasks. We do a bit of everything and have different titles doing the same thing, the opposite also being true haha.

Eu amo comunidades e ajudar as pessoas, entĂŁo DevRel se encaixa perfeitamente para mim. No momento em que soube que isso existia, soube que era o que eu queria trabalhar. No meu primeiro emprego, fiz muitas lives na Twitch, algo que eu vinha fazendo hĂĄ um tempo como um hobby, e eu amava. EntĂŁo, a perspectiva de ser paga para fazer isso me deixou animada.

Trabalhar com comunidades é, com certeza, minha parte favorita do DevRel. Eu tenho a oportunidade de conhecer pessoas interessantes e ajudå-las. Minha parte menos favorita é a falta de definição de papéis e tarefas. Fazemos um pouco de tudo e temos diferentes títulos fazendo a mesma coisa, e o oposto também é verdadeiro, haha.

Michael: You’re part of a couple of organizations on DEV: A Caverna do Patocórnio and Feministech. Would you tell us a bit about each of these orgs? Also, any other orgs that you’re following, both on and off of DEV?

VocĂȘ faz parte de algumas organizaçÔes da DEV: A Caverna do PatocĂłrnio e Feministech. VocĂȘ poderia nos contar um pouco sobre cada uma dessas organizaçÔes? AlĂ©m disso, alguma outra organização que vocĂȘ segue, dentro e fora do DEV?

Pachi: Both are communities born out of friendships I made online. A Caverna do PatocĂłrnio was born on HackertoberFest 2020, to get people together to contribute and it grew into something more, I place to make friends, play games, and get technical help when needed. Some of my best friends are there.

Feministech is my baby. Also born in 2020, it was initially focused on women in tech that create content. But we grew and evolved into a community of women, trans men, and non-binary people in tech. A safe space to connect, learn, and be yourself.

An org I follow is https://dev.to/womakerscode. They do an awesome job.

Ambas são comunidades que surgiram a partir de amizades que fiz online. A Caverna do Patocórnio nasceu durante o HackertoberFest 2020, para reunir pessoas para contribuir e se tornou algo maior, um lugar para fazer amizades, jogar jogos e obter ajuda técnica quando necessårio. Alguns dos meus melhores amigos estão lå.

Feministech Ă© meu xodĂł. TambĂ©m nascida em 2020, inicialmente estava focada em mulheres na tecnologia que criam conteĂșdo. Mas crescemos e evoluĂ­mos para uma comunidade de mulheres, homens trans e pessoas nĂŁo-binĂĄrias na tecnologia. Um espaço seguro para se conectar, aprender e ser vocĂȘ mesma.

Uma organização que sigo é https://dev.to/womakerscode. Elas fazem um trabalho incrível.

Michael: You’ve written a lot of awesome posts. What’s your approach to finding writing topics? And, do you have any advice to give aspiring dev writers?

VocĂȘ escreveu muitos posts incrĂ­veis. Qual Ă© a sua abordagem para encontrar tĂłpicos de escritos? E vocĂȘ tem algum conselho para dar para devs aspirantes a escritores?

Pachi: I have a list of things I want to learn, things I could teach about, things I am good at
 I get my topics from this list. I also follow trends in the developer community on social, so I sometimes also write about common questions or topics that are trending.

My advice is to read this article I wrote about writing. 🙂

Eu tenho uma lista de coisas que quero aprender, coisas sobre as quais poderia ensinar, coisas nas quais sou boa... Eu pego meus tĂłpicos dessa lista. TambĂ©m sigo as tendĂȘncias e a comunidade dev nas redes sociais, entĂŁo Ă s vezes tambĂ©m escrevo sobre perguntas comuns ou tĂłpicos que estĂŁo em alta.

Meu conselho Ă© ler este artigo que escrevi sobre escrita.


Wrap up

Thanks so much for reading. We appreciate you taking the time to learn about another one of our amazing moderators. 💚

Stay tuned for future mod interviews in this series!

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
morgannadev profile image
Morganna

I'm here at DEV because of @pachicodes! And it's amazing to learn a lot of things from her! E obrigada por considerarem traduzir a entrevista tambĂ©m para portuguĂȘs. <3

Collapse
 
pachicodes profile image
Pachi đŸ„‘

❀❀❀

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woohoo! Major props to Pachi for bringing in so many cool folks. I'm really glad you're here with us Morganna. 😀

Quanto à tradução, de nada! Muito obrigado por ler. 🙌

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Congrats @pachicodes !

Collapse
 
danicaus profile image
Daniela Caus

Parabéns, Pachi! Me emocionei lendo esse post!
@pachicodes is an amazing inspiration for all Developer Relations professionals, especially on how to include and expand knowledge throughout the community. I'm a witness to the impact this woman is able to make. Watching her being recognized like that just feels natural! <3

Collapse
 
pachicodes profile image
Pachi đŸ„‘

❀❀❀

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen

Congratulations! 🎉 ✹

Collapse
 
gikapassuti profile image
Gisele

Nenhuma novidade de que a Pachi Ă© incrĂ­vel e maravilhosa! Apenas isso que eu tenho a dizer dessa musa que me inspira tanto e que me ajudou tanto em minha jornada profissional

Collapse
 
josircg profile image
Josir Cardoso Gomes

Excelente entrevista Pachi! Jå virei seu fã, principalmente em relação às iniciativas da Feministech. Keep going!!!