DEV Community

Ben Halpern for The DEV Team

Posted on

Hacktoberfest Miscellaneous discussion (October 10th)

How's the open sourcery coming along?

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
pbouillon profile image
Pierre Bouillon

I won my T Shirt this year too !
I also will organize for the first time an open-source event in my city !

I'm so glad I can contribute a little bit more this year and introduce other to the open-source community 😄

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

Done with my beginner contributions 😄
Vicente Reyes hacktoberfest contributions

Collapse
 
timrodz profile image
Juan Alejandro Morais

Really good so far, I have another PR assignment to check out tomorrow - It'll be using Stencil + Typescript on a web app!

Seeing the insane amout of PRs being done all over the place excites me for the future of open source - I'm personally enjoying contributing to projects where the stacks are unknown to me (e.g. DEV - First time trying out Ruby on Rails, or VS Code extensions)

Keep on going everyone!

Collapse
 
hwolfe71 profile image
Herb Wolfe

Five PRs completed. However one is marked ineligible. A second one, which was also marked ineligible, has disappeared. It looks like the owner did a rebase on the repository to 10 days ago, after my PR had been approved.

It's been tough finding projects to work on, as a beginner who primarily knows C and some Java.

Collapse
 
sarahscode profile image
Sarah Katz

Working on my first contribution to Gatsby - formatting some stuff in the docs to better match their style guide. Hoping to have a PR in soon!

Collapse
 
artoodeeto profile image
aRtoo

Already contributed on Dev.to 2 times. I'm so happy. :)

Collapse
 
peiche profile image
Paul

3 PRs so far.

Collapse
 
codingnagger profile image
Jean-Dominique Nguele

6 PRs at the moment but started quite late, couple days left before I officially get my t-shirt.

Collapse
 
renegadecoder94 profile image
Jeremy Grifski
Collapse
 
dillionmegida profile image
Dillion Megida • Edited

It's going Awesome Ben.
In respect to your tip on contributions yesterday,My PR on gatsby got accepted today, and DEV Community is now part of the supporters on the community page : )

Collapse
 
codercatdev profile image
Alex Patterson

First accepted pull request to Gatsby 😺

github.com/gatsbyjs/gatsby/pull/18197

Gatsby swag

Collapse
 
majse14 profile image
Majse14

Hello, any recommendations to contribute in PR CSS for beginners?