DEV Community

Ben Halpern for The DEV Team

Posted on

Hacktoberfest Miscellaneous discussion (October 15th)

How's the open source hacking coming along?

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

We currently have over 100 open PRs, mostly from the community. It's a good problem to have. We're working on getting through it all!

Collapse
 
sduduzog profile image
Sdu

It's amazing how much you learn from it. Although reviews are sometimes scary, they are really insightful. Of all my PRs, none have been rejected, there's one more that I'm waiting for to see being merged πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Looking to get this PR merged in the next day or two.

All markdown files are properly formatted now #181

This PR implements #162, and adds a precommit hook via lint-stage and husky. For the time being, I have only added an entry to lint-staged to format markdown (md) files. As well, all the md files have been formatted using the prettier settings that I copied from Storybook's settings.

Built everything locally and it looks good. I just did a smoke test navigating to some pages.

learnstorybook.com screeshot

Also, Skeletor approves of this PR.

Skeletor approves

Here’s the rest of my progress.

Collapse
 
gklijs profile image
Gerard Klijs

Still to busy, last year similar situation somehow October is a busy month. But can across a rust graphql proxy which had logging to Kafka on the roadmap. Which having used rust with Kafka before should be pretty easy to create to implement.

Collapse
 
themafro profile image
Matthew Francis

Got confirmation of my four successful pull requests this evening.

Collapse
 
ginniecodes profile image
Jhinel Arcaya

Amazing, congrats!

Collapse
 
s_aitchison profile image
Suzanne Aitchison

4 PRs merged and I feel like I've gained SO much from the process. Definitely been bitten by the open source bug! I wrote up a wee bit about it all:

Collapse
 
lexplt profile image
Alexandre Plt

I've done my 4 PR, and received about 3 on my programming language project, and more are coming!

I still plan to make more PR because we never get enough contributors on our projects, so let's start by helping others before receiving help!

Collapse
 
ioana__b profile image
Ioana Budai πŸ’¬ • Edited

from 0 to 3 PRs merged. I'm on my way to picking up programming skills , so it was thrilling to be able to make the first steps with Github.
Also managed to organize 2 Hacktoberfest meetups with our local dev community.
Still a long way to go until I actually bring meaningful contributions, but I'm lucky to get enough support and y'all are awesome too πŸ€—

Collapse
 
kudapara profile image
Kudakwashe Paradzayi

My repo for curated design tools has been receiving some love lately. If you're struggling to find repositories to contribute to, check it out.

GitHub logo kudapara / curated-design-tools

A curated list of the tools we use to enhance our design wokflow.

curated-design-tools

A curated list of the tools we use to enhance our design wokflow.

Design Applications

  • Adobe XD - Wireframe, design, prototype, present, and share amazing experiences for web, mobile, voice, and more.

Design tools

  • Grabient - Beautiful and simple UI for generating web gradients.
  • Blob Maker - Make organic svg shapes for your next design.
  • Coolors - Generate perfect color combinations for your designs.
  • Metatags - Edit and experiment with your content then preview how your webpage will look on Google, Facebook, Twitter and more!
  • Css filters - Visual playground for generating CSS for custom and Instagram like photo filters.

Patterns & backgrounds

  • Cool Backgrounds - Explore a beautifully curated selection of cool backgrounds that you can add to blogs, websites, or as desktop and phone wallpapers.
  • Toptal subtle patterns - Free high quality patterns for your next web project.
  • Trianglify.io - A tool for generating low poly triangle…

And on my part I've been digging deep in the dev.to repo and I think i'm beginning to get the hang of things. I'm confident that I'll open a pull request and maybe even become a regular contributor.

Collapse
 
squgeim profile image
Shreya Dahal

How do you deal with projects that don't seem to be actively maintained? I have opened some PRs on some VSCode extension I like, but the maintainer has not even commented on PRs from one year back.

Collapse
 
ginniecodes profile image
Jhinel Arcaya

Everything was head over heels, until my laptop took some vacations and stopped working πŸ™ˆ

So... Working on it πŸ˜