DEV Community

Cover image for Welcome Thread - v258

Welcome Thread - v258

Dog waving and howling "how ya doing?"

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

  3. If you are new to coding, want to help beginners in their programming journey, or just want another awesome place to connect with fellow developers, check out the CodeNewbie Org!

Top comments (217)

Collapse
 
sa11erto5n profile image
Mohamed

Hello Everyone.
Am new to this amazing platform.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV! 👋

Whale hello there!

Collapse
 
sa11erto5n profile image
Mohamed

thank you mate

Thread Thread
 
montenroza profile image
Monten

good

Collapse
 
pavelee profile image
Paweł Ciosek

Hello! nice to have here! 👏

Collapse
 
sa11erto5n profile image
Mohamed

thank you

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen 💜

Hello there! Welcome to the DEV community!

Collapse
 
sa11erto5n profile image
Mohamed

thank you

Collapse
 
d2j1 profile image
D

Hello, Welcome to DEV!!

Collapse
 
sa11erto5n profile image
Mohamed

thank you

Collapse
 
yashkapure06 profile image
Yash Kapure

Welcome to DEV! 🤞👋

Collapse
 
sa11erto5n profile image
Mohamed

thanks

Collapse
 
sinisterchef profile image
Kyle O'Brien

Hi! I'm new here, I have 10 years of front end experience but I have fallen behind in modern web practices in the past few years. I'm looking to change that and get back on track. This looks like a great resources to accomplish that.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hey Kyle! Welcome to DEV. My name is Michael and I'm a Community Manager here.

Your experience definitely sounds familiar! I regularly hop into this Welcome Thread to say hi to new folks and there have been plenty of peeps pop in here saying that they've been on a coding hiatus for X number years and wanna get back into it. Just to say, that you'll fit in just fine here, haha.

Anywho, I hope you uncover some helpful resources and if you have any questions about our platform, don't hesitate to hit me up!

Collapse
 
sinisterchef profile image
Kyle O'Brien

Thanks for the welcome, Michael! It's nice knowing I'm not alone.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

You're very welcome, Kyle, and def not alone. 😀

You may not have any interest in posting here on DEV (which that is totally cool) but if you do, I think it'd be kinda interesting to folks to hear what things looked like 10 years ago and how they've changed today. That could make for a pretty fun, cool topic.

No pressure though, haha! 🙌

Thread Thread
 
sinisterchef profile image
Kyle O'Brien

I can probably pull something together about working in a "restricted environment" and just share my experience.

I currently work front end in Higher Ed and we have to ensure our sites run on our various legacy system and browsers around campus. I remember 3 years ago I got my hand very gently slapped for writing a modal pop up which used 'let' instead of 'var'. Thats just been the envoirment I've been in for 10 years now.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I hope you do write on this!

It sounds like a relatable experience to me — though let me be honest and tell you that I'm not a dev, I'm mostly a nontechie. Still, I think I've been around the industry long enough to mostly follow what you're talking about. 🙂

I see "I got my hand very gently slapped for writing a modal pop up which used 'let' instead of 'var'" and I know you're working in JS, imagine you've chosen an out-of-date way of doing things, but I don't really know the specifics here.

My understanding is that because you're working on a legacy system you have to work with old code and I'd imagine in some ways it could be beneficial to know older methods so that you can more easily read and figure out what is happening. Of course, if you're tasked with updating legacy code, then it helps to know what newer features you can bring in or if something is deprecated. Anyway, I'm just spitballing, trying to imagine what it's like to be in your shoes from a high-level.

I wanna ask a question about what it's like to work on legacy code and I'm gonna use an analogy... fixing up an old car. Granted, I'm not a mechanic so I'm not sure why I'm taking it here, haha. Anyway, If you were to fix up an old car, I'd imagine you'd have two ways you could go about it:

  1. You could use classic parts and try to get everything working again.
  2. You could remodel it with new parts, maybe even give it new electronics and abilities that it didn't have before while just keeping the body of the car.

Which of these do you think is more like working with legacy code? Or if neither of them are and this is just a bad analogy, then that's okay too, haha — just hit the brakes on me. 😅

Thread Thread
 
sinisterchef profile image
Kyle O'Brien

Ha, I think the old car example is appropriate! I enjoyed the hit the brakes joke at the end as well. I'm sure the pain is felt on all ends of our sites. I can only speak to the Front-end however. I'm writing pure JS which is still a great practice today and I'm thankful for that, but I see all these 'new' (new mostly to me) frameworks and how they can streamline/organize/improve our sites, but the car's engine and body is so out of date these new tools are not even compatible. It’s also like asking your parents for a new framework like VUE, React, Astro and them telling you we have frameworks at home and its Bootstrap 4.0.

Collapse
 
lymah profile image
Lymah

Nice to have you here.

Collapse
 
sinisterchef profile image
Kyle O'Brien

Thank you nice to be here.

Collapse
 
mrpips profile image
Okhafomhekpa

Nice 👍

Collapse
 
sinisterchef profile image
Kyle O'Brien

Appreciate the love.

Collapse
 
kelfrontenddev profile image
Kelvin Arias

Hi!

My name is Kelvin. I just started learning Front End June of 2023. I have learned so much but now I am trying to build a community. I found this website thru an X profile I follow. Please stop by and say hi! :-)

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen 💜

Hello Kelvin and welcome to the DEV community!

Collapse
 
lymah profile image
Lymah

Welcome to the dev community

Collapse
 
kaamkiya profile image
Kaamkiya

Hi, Kelvin! Welcome to the DEV community! 😄

Collapse
 
codebuddylarin profile image
Niral

Hi Kelvin !! Its great you are spreading your learnings by building your community :) .
All the best ahead !

Collapse
 
akenroberts profile image
Aken Roberts

Hi! I'm a seasoned generalist engineer and solo entrepreneur (in the making). I've joined DEV to increase my network and reach as an author and coach. I look forward to helping this community through community contributions and individual mentorship as much as possible. 🙂

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Welcome on DEV! ✨

Collapse
 
akenroberts profile image
Aken Roberts

Thanks 🙂

Collapse
 
danieljsaldana profile image
Daniel J. Saldaña

I hope to be able to share my knowledge and learn from others' knowledge :D

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV!

Spiderman swinging by to say hello

Collapse
 
israelojiefoh profile image
ISRAEL

I would be glad to learn one or two from you 😀

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen 💜

Welcome to DEV!

Collapse
 
lymah profile image
Lymah

Welcome to DEV

Collapse
 
hellrazor profile image
Valerii Volkovskyi

welcome!

Collapse
 
prnce2048 profile image
Prince Pandey • Edited

Dear Community,
I use my original name for my username.I am a hobbyist programmer,with some experience in casual gamedev in the past.I am learning more about the web now.I joined here to learn more about the same.Any form of help is appreciated .
Thank you!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Good stuff, Prince! You've landed at the right place. My name is Michael and I'm a Community Manager here at DEV — good to meet you!

Our community is filled with web developers and web dev posts. You'll definitely wanna check out #webdev — it's our most popular tag so you can't miss it.

Cool to hear that you've done some casual game dev! While it's not exactly game dev, someone recently posted about their personal portfolio that they stylized to look like a Gameboy game. You might find this one fun:

Collapse
 
lymah profile image
Lymah

Welcome to DEV.

Collapse
 
robinowens4702 profile image
robinowens4702

Hi everyone I just got here and unfortunately I don't have but a minute cause I'm a truck driver lol. First of all allow me to introduce myself. I'm Stan Owens original from Ga for all of you that are here in Houston TX. I'm most certainly green as they come when it comes to tech but hopefully this will be the beginning of a terrific education. It's a pleasure to meet everyone and I look forward to learning from you all. So long for now but I'll be back...
Image description

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Great to meet you, Stan! My name is Michael and I'm a Community Manager here at DEV — welcome to the site. 🙂

Are you hoping to make a career transition from truck driving to being a dev or are you more just learning about software development as a hobby?

Well, I hope the community is a good resource for ya. We got lots of helpful experienced devs here but also tons of people that are brand new! Also, we have folks from all different backgrounds and parts of the world. Just to say that you'll fit right in here! 🙌

Collapse
 
lymah profile image
Lymah

Welcome to DEV.

Collapse
 
mubarakik_ profile image
Mubaraka

Hi there!
My name is Mubaraka, and for the past six months, I've been a junior software engineer at a software engineering company. Though I appreciate the focus on code delivery to meet client needs and the lack of extensive code reviews, I'm still a beginner and would love to learn best practices to further improve my coding skills. That's why I've joined this platform—to obtain insights from experienced members' posts and blogs.

Collapse
 
dev_abdulhaseeb profile image
Abdul Haseeb

Hello Everyone I'm Abdul Haseeb. I'm learning fullstack web development.Currently i'm learning Node + Express backend and brushing my javascript skills using FreeCodeCamp. If you are a newbie, I would love to help you with your journey, feel free to reach out, Thank you

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hey Abdul 👋

Welcome to DEV! I hope that you have a good time meeting folks and learning more in the community here.

Collapse
 
dev_abdulhaseeb profile image
Abdul Haseeb

Thanks Michael, Nice to meet you.

Collapse
 
dbohdanov profile image
Dmytro

Super happy to be here! Still new to this community but open to exploring as I have heard a lot about dev.to. I'm a technical product marketer with little Python experience. Not a pure developer yet like to talk to smart tech people.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot woot! Welcome Dymtro. Hope you dig being part of the community.

Collapse
 
danielakproh profile image
Daniel Akproh

Hi there, I'm Daniel 👋
First time ever joining a community of developers, I never felt courageous enough to do it for year! Imposter syndrome has had me captive for a long time because I wouldn't consider myself to be gifted or super smart in any way to build cool things

But I'm really excited to be apart of the dev community now, hopefully we can encourage one another and grow together!

If you're reading this, would you please say a few words about yourself so that I can know you? 😊

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hey Daniel! It's great to have you with us. I can relate to your comment about imposter syndrome — it's real! Anyway, I'm glad you joined up and are here with us. I think you'll find the community here to be kind, encouraging, and helpful.

And to answer your question, my name is Michael and I'm a Community Manager here. I'm admittedly not a software developer and as I hinted at earlier, I definitely get hit with waves of imposter syndrome from time to time. But there are other ways that I contribute, one of which is to manage our Community Moderators.

Outside of work, I love listening to music and playing music with friends. In fact, I've found a way to bring my love of music into my work here at DEV. If you wanna share song suggestions with me, you can join me for Music Monday which I post every week — here's a link to the series.

Good to meet ya Daniel and hope to see ya around DEV!

Collapse
 
isttiiak profile image
Istiak Islam

Hello, I am Istiak Islam from Bangladesh. I am undergrad student with computer science background. Currently I doing some project so I need help from you guys and I also want to share my knowledge with you to improve my learnings and also track them. So I am here now ! Let's have fun, coding, and enjoy!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hey Istiak!

My name is Michael and I'm a Community Manager at DEV — welcome!

Great to have ya with us here. 😀

What projects ya working on btw?

Also, if you have any questions or need help from folks, you might consider posting an article to ask the community for thoughts or assistance. If doing so, I recommend using these tags: #help and/or #discuss.

Anywho, hope you have a good one and see ya around DEV!

Collapse
 
walsome profile image
Camille SOME • Edited

Hey everyone!
I'm @walsome, a passionate data science developer with a few years of experience.
I'm thrilled to be joining this amazing community!
Looking forward to learning from all of you and contributing where I can.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hey Camille! My name is Michael and I'm a Community Manager at DEV — welcome! Hope that you enjoy the site here and if you have any questions about the platform feel free to hit me up!

Collapse
 
ekeboetuk profile image
коричневатый

Hello everyone, I'm B_atman_rownish 😂
Just a tech enthusiast migrating from hardware (networking) to development. Started off on the MERN stack now trying my hands on other JS Frameworks like Next and Static Type Checkers like Typescript.
I'm happy to be here hoping to help and be helped.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Welcome! Sounds like a natural transition to me. Hope ya dig being part of the community and that ya find the site helpful.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome welcome welcome!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.