DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

👋👋👋👋

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy 😄

Happy Friday!

Top comments (63)

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

It's not much, but I got my first post with more than 50 reactions : )

Collapse
 
ankitbeniwal profile image
Ankit Beniwal • Edited

Mutual Feeling. Here's my first post with 1500+ views and almost 100 reactions.

Thanks to all the Developers around the world. ✌️

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Congrats on your first post!

You did it!

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff • Edited

Thanks! It's not the first one, just the first with over 50 reactions :P

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

I had an amazing first week at my new job. 🤗

Collapse
 
tkjohnson121 profile image
KJ

Congrats on the new job and a successful first week! Any advice for someone close to an offer for handling the first week at a new place?

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor • Edited

Do the onboarding if they have it. If they don't, or it's lacking take some initiative to improve it. In one place I didn't have an account for something, so I added it to the docs. In another, I documented something about some processes for devs. The next person that comes along will thank you for it. 😉

Get the code running, see if you can understand what's going on. Ask questions, generally just be hungry to learn. I wrote a bit about onboarding in this post.

For the record though, the onboarding at DEV is top-notch. Even though it is top-notch, they still asked what could be improved. 👏🏻

Thread Thread
 
tkjohnson121 profile image
KJ

Awesome! I really like the part about improving it if you can. "Leave it better than you found it" and all that. Thanks for the advice!

Thread Thread
 
v6 profile image
🦄N B🛡 • Edited

In one place I didn't have an account for something, so I added it to the docs.

sniff You, sir, are an everyday hero.

What you're describing is basically the first activities of the heroine in The Unicorn Project, spanning multiple chapters. It's an underrated type of work.

Collapse
 
smallbellows profile image
Sara Given

Had a great 1-on-1 with my team lead. Got some positive feedback, a few things to work on, set priorities, etc. And set some good back burner items to work on while waiting on deliverables from other teams. Was super productive and also enjoyable!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

It was a busy week at work but I managed to check-off all my major to-dos. I'm also so excited that we've launched the CodeLand site and CFP!

Big shout out to @lisasy who worked super hard (and fast) on getting this project out the door!

Collapse
 
lisasy profile image
Lisa Sy (she/her)

Yay! 😀It was awesome.

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

Got my first pay as a writer, making me... a professional writer!

Started some discussions to do some paid written content for a company I love.

Almost crossed the 2k daily views marker on Medium. Likely crossed it long ago on dev.to but the stats aren't that granular here.

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

Oh yeah, and got accepted into the .NET Foundation and some code accepted, merged, and deployed at this company called Microsoft.

Collapse
 
helderberto profile image
Helder Burato Berto • Edited

Moved some of my posts to dev.to and received great feedbacks from community.

It give me a lot of motivation to write another posts.

Collapse
 
biros profile image
Boris Jamot ✊ /

This week, I created my first PR : github.com/cozy/cozy-stack/pull/2340 and it was accepted and merged.
It's really cool !

Cozy-stack is a self-hostable french cloud aimed at privacy: cozy.io

Collapse
 
jeromelaforge profile image
Jérôme Laforge

Well done and welcome in Go open source community.

Collapse
 
idrisrampurawala profile image
Idris Rampurawala

This week I completed 1 year being part of this awesome DEV community.
One year Dev badge

Collapse
 
ankitbeniwal profile image
Ankit Beniwal • Edited

My Baby Steps:

4 Week Streak Badge of pagalprogrammer

Collapse
 
gabe_ragland profile image
Gabe Ragland

I made some tweaks to my product homepage (divjoy.com) and saw 100% jump in sales. I talk about it a bit here: indiehackers.com/post/how-i-double...

Collapse
 
izzybaer profile image
Izzy Baer

I had my first technical interview loop in over a year! It was rough but I got my feet wet and I'm so relieved it's over. NEXT!

Collapse
 
tkjohnson121 profile image
KJ

Same! It's been wild but there's only more to come. Congrats on the progress!

Collapse
 
izzybaer profile image
Izzy Baer

thanks, one step at a time! congrats to you as well :)

Collapse
 
techie_ania profile image
Ania

Got back to doing coding exercises! :D

Collapse
 
djtai profile image
David Taitingfong

Started my first full-time job (excluding mil service) and got thru the 1st week 🎉

Collapse
 
learnwithparam profile image
Paramanantham Harrison

Prepared the content (Project folder structure and workshop lessons order) for my workshop. It was more work than I expected but loved it and learned a lot about how to make a sequence of topics while building something real

Next weak, need to create text content for the workshop 😅

eventbrite.com/e/api-design-for-be...

Collapse
 
practicingdev profile image
Practicing Developer

For a while now I've been helping a client of mine build out an event registration system for game stores.

While we've had several events successfully run through that system over the last several months, this week we managed to hit a new milestone: Our first totally sold out event!

Because this is a bootstrapped project still in its very early days, every small win feels great.

Collapse
 
buaiscia profile image
Alex

I published my first post on Dev.to :) part of a series, so more to come.

And I got my first interview for frontend developer :))

So two wins this week!