DEV Community

Cover image for Which Techie Are You?
Erika Heidi
Erika Heidi

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at eheidi.dev

Which Techie Are You?

Which techie are you? Tag yourself in the comments!

Tech Girls Full

  1. The Dancing Queen / King - when the tune is right, you stand up for some sick moves. Singing along is optional but highly encouraged.

  2. The Artsy - your desk might look a bit messy and there's definitely plenty of pens, colors, papers, and whatnot art supplies.

  3. The Cat Whisperer - maybe it's the heat, maybe it's the funny moving images on the screen, nobody knows for sure - but your desk is typically claimed by felines who will make sure you notice they're there.

  4. The Pack Leader - good boys / girls make sure you feel loved throughout the day; a snack or two and some belly rubs are expected in return.

  5. The Minimalist - not much to say or see, but things are certainly on the right spot?

  6. The Mom / Dad - your desk has a unique mix of random toys and maybe some lovely but at the same time awful hand-made mother day's gifts. There's also coffee, but it might be cold...

  7. The Tech Deeva - nail polish, hand cream, lipstick and lip balm... just the basics. Maybe you're a youtuber, maybe not, but you definitely know some tricks to look good in the camera.

  8. The Librarian - e-readers are boring, you prefer real books. Lots of them. Maybe you didn't read them all, but who cares? They are there for when you need them.

I am mostly number 2 and number 6, but sometimes I'm a 1 and a bit of a 7 as well! :)

Top comments (128)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I am a childless man but am definitely The Mom here

Collapse
 
erikaheidi profile image
Erika Heidi

HAHAH good one!!!! You must have a fun desk then.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern • Edited

The toys are my own 🙃

And I’ve fallen behind on flipping this calendar. 🤨

Thread Thread
 
baharajr profile image
Bennett(he/him)

Ben, may I selfishly have your GitHub toy please🥺

Collapse
 
v6 profile image
🦄N B🛡

a childless man

I need to open with that more often.

Collapse
 
molly profile image
Molly Struve (she/her)

You have a fur baby, that counts for like half credit 😉

Collapse
 
fullstackcodr profile image
fullstackcodr

I'm definitely a minimalist. I like to leave my desk like I "was never there". I found out that having a frugal work station makes me think more clear. Having a lot of stuff on the desk make me feel anxiety.

Collapse
 
marcosvpinto profile image
Marcos V Pinto • Edited

Same here, Man!
Too much visual noise puts me on a nerve!

minimalist

Collapse
 
mccurcio profile image
Matt Curcio • Edited

Moi? I am the cat-{Lion-Tamer} and minimalist. I have a two-ring circus where I crack my whip to keep the two tails off my keyboard and the hair from building up around desk.

Maybe a bit of Librarian too.

Collapse
 
erikaheidi profile image
Erika Heidi

Haha adorable!!! I'm envying you, been a cat hoarder in the past, it was fun although I couldn't use my printer (my cat would angrily punch it several times whenever it started pulling the paper to print)

Collapse
 
monicat profile image
Monica Macomber

Cute 💕

Collapse
 
mccurcio profile image
Matt Curcio

I keep a brush on my desk otherwise it gets Out-Of-Control. ;)

Collapse
 
t04glovern profile image
Nathan Glover

Cat Whisperer and proud

Elise

Collapse
 
mccurcio profile image
Matt Curcio

Sometimes I think my cat gets Pissed too. "Why don't you play with me, bunkie!"

Collapse
 
erikaheidi profile image
Erika Heidi

What a cutie! 😍😍😍

Collapse
 
richardcochrane profile image
Richard Cochrane • Edited
  1. The Snake Charmer - try as you might, you seem unable to reach a place where you have fewer than (what feels like) 100 cables (and you will defend every single cable present)

Snake Island

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

It's inevitable everytime I have ever organized cables, taking hours to do so, something needs changed the next day. Even if I have gone months without touching the spaghetti of wires before organizing.

Collapse
 
saymy__name__ profile image
Jordan Engstrom

Ha! Love this

Collapse
 
stephanie profile image
Stephanie Handsteiner • Edited

I'm a mix of 1 and 5.

Occasionally standing up and dancing to the right tune also helps against the back pain from sitting all the time, and I guess also helps with concentration, you know when you have stared at the screen all day and can't see the bug for the code or something like that.

Collapse
 
erikaheidi profile image
Erika Heidi

That's so true!!!

Collapse
 
xanderyzwich profile image
Corey McCarty

I'm the Mom (technically Dad). The coffee may be cold, but is always present. Kid picture (check) although my kids are too young to have many creations. Working in an office I don't have kids' toys on my desk, but I do have my tech toys (dual stack monitors, mechanical keyboards, gaming mouse, Randall Monroe's What If?)

Collapse
 
markoshiva profile image
Marko Shiva

Well if there would be similar stuff like a poll for males I would be.

combination of:

  • librarian
  • gamer/game dev
  • snakewhisperer
  • C/C++ minimalist
  • rubies collector
  • OCaml rider. :)
Collapse
 
bobwalsh47hats profile image
Bob Walsh • Edited

Definitely #3: I have proof! Audrey

Collapse
 
erikaheidi profile image
Erika Heidi

Share pleaaaaaase!!! 🙏🙏🙏

Collapse
 
bobwalsh47hats profile image
Bob Walsh

Added! (thanks for the great post)

Thread Thread
 
erikaheidi profile image
Erika Heidi

😍😍😍 Adorable furballbaby 😻 thank you!

Collapse
 
adamkdean profile image
Adam K Dean • Edited

I'm 9. The Engineer with devices and components all about me (though organised) but mixed with 8 having books everywhere. For each book I read, I buy two more. And when most folks get hair on their tongue, for me, it's a resistor. How did that get in there!?

Collapse
 
aleksandrhovhannisyan profile image
Aleksandr Hovhannisyan

I'm 9.

For a second there, I thought you meant you're 9 years old.

:D

Collapse
 
adamkdean profile image
Adam K Dean

Hah. Imagine that. In fact, I started coding when I was 9, and I was the "10. Floppy Disks filled with downloaded code everywhere" developer then.

Thread Thread
 
erikaheidi profile image
Erika Heidi

Haha, that's a good one - I've been a "CDs everywhere" person in my teenage years 😜 I'm glad it's so much easier to share and keep data nowadays!

Collapse
 
felipechalreo profile image
Felipe Chalreo

The Pack Leader

4 I guess

Collapse
 
dana94 profile image
Dana Ottaviani

1 - Sometimes I take coding breaks purely because the song I'm listening to needs my full attention.

2 - When I'm not coding, I'm trying to improve on my drawing skills.

5 - When it comes to my work desk, I try to have only the essentials on it. True story: in one of my office jobs after I went home for the day, one of my colleagues was asked by someone in another department if I quit the company because my desk was spotless and had really nothing personal on it.

8 - I still like reading physical books and my room is full of bookshelves.

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

I go between the minimalist and the mom.

that's it all of this crap is invading me and I can't stand it any longer take it all to where it goes

.... 20 minutes later

awe that's cute, and you made it for me 😂

Collapse
 
mindaugasjacionis profile image
Mindaugas Jacionis

I definitely love to dance, but I am quite sure that this lady would argue on which techie I am 😅
Black dog under the office table

Collapse
 
gergelypolonkai profile image
Gergely Polonkai

A little bit of each, i guess.

  1. I listen to music all the time, and i sometimes do some moves, regardless of my position (sitting or standing).
  2. I have some pens, pencils, papers, even a Wacom tablet i occasionally use.
  3. Two of them. One cat is always in my lap as soon as i sit down.
  4. Our dogs live outside, but on sunny days i often sit in the backyard, sometimes at near the stream under the big trees. And then they are always there.
  5. It may sound strange together with artsy and mom, but itʼs true.
  6. Father of two here. I donʼt think i need to say more on this front. Also, such gifts are never ugly. They are always the best pieces of art a kid can make at a given point. Plus, kids always give presents to express their love towards you.
  7. OK, iʼm not into nail polish and stuff, but i learned from my grandfather that you should always look good, even at home.
  8. My father is a bibliophile. I guess i inherited some of this.
Collapse
 
erikaheidi profile image
Erika Heidi

Wow, amazing! Or should we say.. BINGO! :D

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.