DEV Community

Cover image for What would you like me to cover
Gabriel Pedroza
Gabriel Pedroza

Posted on

What would you like me to cover

I'm currently working on a post that covers the similarities and differences of react and next. Apart from that, let me know in the comments what you would like to see or learn more about in an easy and conceptual way with examples <3

"Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn." –Benjamin Franklin

Top comments (25)

Collapse
 
tqbit profile image
tq-bit

After reading an article on 'Why Beginners should learn React', I'd love to read from you: 'Learn these Javascript basics before diving into a Framework'. You could add a few links to educational material. Maybe split the topic into pieces such as ES6, testing with Jest, and so forth.

Collapse
 
gabrielpedroza profile image
Gabriel Pedroza

This seems like a great idea because I've felt that I jumped into React too early and not really understood JavaScript as much as I should have. I created a draft for this right now and will go into that soon. Thanks for the idea💡❤️

Collapse
 
neka profile image
Neka

Hey 👋🏻

⚖️ Since Next is a React framework, when is it useful for me to switch from React to Next ?

🤹🏻 For what project/limits would it be abused to use Next for what it adds to React ?

(I hope I'm being explicit)
⎯ Nekå🌸

Collapse
 
gabrielpedroza profile image
Gabriel Pedroza

Will be covering this on my upcoming React vs Next post🧑🏻‍🔧😊

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

What would you say are the most under-represented problems with Next? — Like, what do people struggle to understand, but have a hard time articulating in order to get a sound answer?

Collapse
 
gabrielpedroza profile image
Gabriel Pedroza

This is a great topic! Will definitely look into it and make a post about this. Thanks ❤️

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Supabase vs Firebase

Collapse
 
gabrielpedroza profile image
Gabriel Pedroza

This is definitely unknown territory for me but I will definitely look into the databases of this and see what I can write about. Thank you!

Collapse
 
thedevsuraj profile image
Suraj • Edited

How to use a headless CMS to build a basic SaaS starter app, I would like to see a SaaS app (dashboard, users, profile, subscription page, etc) build using Headless CMS as backend

Collapse
 
gabrielpedroza profile image
Gabriel Pedroza

I'm currently creating a Nextjs app with a headless CMS (using Sanity). It is already connected and I'm currently on and off on it GH: github.com/GabrielPedroza/e-commerce

Once I finish this project, I'll create a post about headless cms's with nextjs

Collapse
 
thedevsuraj profile image
Suraj

Sweet, looking forward to reading this. Can sanity be used for Saas though, to handle stripe subscriptions?

Thread Thread
 
gabrielpedroza profile image
Gabriel Pedroza

Yeah, sanity can be used for SaaS because nothing really intervenes with Sanity afaik. It is also very simple to implement it with Nextjs because it is a framework for React and has its structure already set up in the api folder under the pages folder. I will also be talking about this very soon

Collapse
 
alesbe profile image
alesbe

A post explaining testing, why it's useful, and different options (Jest, Cypress, etc...) 🙌

Collapse
 
gabrielpedroza profile image
Gabriel Pedroza

Awesome, I've recently started reading about test driven development (TDD) and it is very crucial to write strong code that can pass edge cases. I created a draft about TDD and will post it once it's done thanks to you!

Collapse
 
alesbe profile image
alesbe

Great! I'll check it out :)

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

Ðe use of eþ and þorn in programming (as variable names or in ðe language itself). :þ

Collapse
 
nikitakoselev profile image
Nikita Koselev

Pick up your favourite OSS project from github and demo how everybody can contribute: grammar checks, read.me fixes and such.

Collapse
 
gabrielpedroza profile image
Gabriel Pedroza

Great idea! Many people feel scared to contribute and I will write a post about this. Thank you!

Collapse
 
k_penguin_sato profile image
K-Sato

Comparison of Solid.js and Svelte would be very interesting!!

Collapse
 
gabrielpedroza profile image
Gabriel Pedroza

This would be very new territory for me and that's why I feel in love with programming. I will definitely look into this!

Collapse
 
josepedrolorenzini profile image
Jose_Lorenzini

Recursive functions

Collapse
 
gabrielpedroza profile image
Gabriel Pedroza

I will definitely cover this soon!

Collapse
 
efpage profile image
Eckehard

Hy Gabriel,

I read tons of tutorials and articles about react, but I still have no clue about the role of the framework in a project.

Let assume, you need to build a company website, including some portofolio, a web shop and some blog pages.

So, react is only one small element in this process. Can you draw a big picture, how the framework fit´s in? Even in a web design company, how many people work with react compared to the whole crew?

Thanks for your insights

Collapse
 
results_teatime profile image
Teatime results

Hey thanks for the super helpful reply. I'm not sure how I missed that thread. I haven't quite mastered the search function on here. I think I'll pass with him this time around. If i want any further guideline we will contact you here dev.to/gabrielpedroza/what-would-y... teatimeresults.co/

Collapse
 
bestsoundbarblog profile image
Best Soundbar • Edited

Hey thanks for the super helpful reply. I'm not sure how I missed that thread. I haven't quite mastered the search function on here. I think I'll pass with him this time around. If i want any further guideline we will contact you here
dev.to/gabrielpedroza/what-would-y.../best-sound/what-would-you-like-me-to-cover-17bd