DEV Community

Gene
Gene

Posted on

Beer vs coffee?

Say it's 12:00 AM and you still need to complete that last feature before the sun rises in a few hours. You decided to grab something to drink so you went to your kitchen and you were presented by two options:

  1. Ice-cold BEER.
  2. Brewed COFFEE.

What will you grab?

I just recently tried beer and it works well for me. Just drink enough. LOL

Top comments (24)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

With the premise that this is a scenario to be avoided at all costs IMO. I'd go with beer in this case.

I've productively engaged in this sort of thing when there was no deadline, but rather out of positive energy and a festive mentality.

Collapse
 
gene profile image
Gene

D`Oh! I really hope these kinds of situations will be avoidable in my case soon. But for now I really don't have a choice.

After an hour of drinking beer I am now feeling sleepy. Guess next time I'll just go for coffee.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Best of luck!!

I just wanted to mention this because a lot of folks revere this kind of over-working. Prop it up as an unabashed positive.

Thread Thread
 
kaelscion profile image
kaelscion • Edited

I would go for beer as well. But mostly so that I could get sleepy enough to forget that final feature and go to bed like a NORMAL PERSON!! 😂😂😋😋

All kidding aside, I totally get the need for those midnight sessions. Mine happen to be the "waking up at 2AM with a sudden rush of unbearable guilt that I went to bed the night before rather than finish said feature" issue. I am sorry that you have no choice but am there myself so I get it. I'd go with beer. Or, preferrably a mid-shelf bourbon like Maker's Mark of Basil Hayden's with a splash of lime juice and a single rock. If only to relax myself because when I'm in that position, chances are I am one stressed duck.🦆

Thread Thread
 
gene profile image
Gene

Wow! That's more than beer! I'd immediately fell asleep.

Collapse
 
rdumais profile image
Ryan

I would choose beer in this scenario, only because I know all too well that I would be up until 3:00 A.M. from the coffee. :)

Collapse
 
gene profile image
Gene

Makes sense! Can I assume that you drink coffee over beer when you're in the office then?

Collapse
 
rdumais profile image
Ryan

That is a fair assumption!

Collapse
 
antonrich profile image
Anton

Haven't drank beer for ten years. So I'd go with coffee (and put some butter in it).

Collapse
 
scottishross profile image
Ross Henderson

Is that a thing?!

Collapse
 
antonrich profile image
Anton

Yes (many people in east countries put butter in their tea). Works better with grass fed butter and something called MCT Oil (there is also xct and brain octane).

The MCT oil I have ordered just has been delivered to my aunt. I'm gonna grab it tomorrow and try with coffee and butter and will let you know. I haven't tried this yes, but heard good things.

Thread Thread
 
scottishross profile image
Ross Henderson

That's fascinating. I have genuinely never heard of this. I'll have to give it a go if I ever get the chance.

Thread Thread
 
antonrich profile image
Anton

I got the mct oil. Tried it two times already with coffee and butter. I feel more energy. I also added brazil nuts to my died for testosterone ;)
mct oil from iherb

Collapse
 
sudiukil profile image
Quentin Sonrel

I hate coffee and love beer, so... yeah, beer.

The real question is: what kind of beer? I'd go for a stout.

Collapse
 
gene profile image
Gene

I prefer a Moscow Mule! :D

Collapse
 
sudiukil profile image
Quentin Sonrel

If I can choose outside of coffee and beer then I'll just whip up a vodka + Red Bull... I mean, there's a deadline after all, I might need the boost.

Thread Thread
 
gene profile image
Gene

I feel that's too much for me to handle already :O

Collapse
 
cvanhorn09 profile image
Christopher van Horn

^ This. Balmer Peak is a shocking (and scary) realization once you've experienced it first hand. xkcd.com/323/

Collapse
 
theredspy15 profile image
Hunter Drum

Gatorade or soda. I don't drink beer nor coffee

But as a Java developer, I feel the need to say coffee (if I were to pick one)

Collapse
 
deciduously profile image
Ben Lovy • Edited

Psh. Two fingers of rye whiskey should do the trick. Repeat as necessary, explore ridesharing options.

Collapse
 
gene profile image
Gene

Hahahah! I'd immediately fall sleep XD

Collapse
 
andrewsmith1996 profile image
Andrew Smith

Beer = Reward for doing great work
Coffee = Help me do my great work

:P

Collapse
 
gene profile image
Gene

Accurate!