DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy 😄

Happy Friday!

Top comments (74)

Collapse
 
clara profile image
Clara

Made my first open source contribution. To dev.to :)
happy

Collapse
 
thevetdoctor profile image
Obafemi

Congratulations. I look forward to my that opportunity too. Cheers

Collapse
 
yechielk profile image
Yechiel Kalmenson • Edited

This week I was on my first podcast!

man in recording studio giving a thumbs-up

Collapse
 
helenanders26 profile image
Helen Anderson

Congratulations!

Collapse
 
yechielk profile image
Yechiel Kalmenson

Thanks!

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

Just made a new post this morning about CSS Variables!

And this afternoon I'm picking up a new kitten! There will be plenty of pictures being shared on Twitter!

Kitten waking up from a nap with tongue hanging out

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Yayy! 😸

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Ahhhhhh 💖

Collapse
 
yusadolat profile image
Yusuf Adeyemo

Good to hear you're picking a new kitten 🐱. Please share more pictures 🥰

Collapse
 
javaguirre profile image
Javier Aguirre • Edited

Starting to write in this community and receiving ❤️, very encouraging, thank you, people! 😁

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I got great feedback here and had fun messing around with some PWA stuff as a small task on the side because I was curious.

Discussion was really helpful and interesting.

This thread was also a ton of fun!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

I had a bad calf injury last November where I ended up putting on some weight, so I'm pretty stoked that I've dropped about 11 pounds in less than a month and more coming off. I've been eating better, sleeping more and been training like a mofo. 💪


Schwarzenegger side laterals with cats


Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Wow! Are you following any specific diet or just overall healthier foods?

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Mainly eating less (not starving myself) and not really eating as many carbs. I haven't eaten any pasta in the past month and I'll only occasionally have bread if eating a sandwich. Mostly lots of fluids (water, tea), protein (chicken, tofu) and veggies/fruits. I also generally don't eat anything after 7pm.

I've always trained at the gym by myself but to kickstart things, I joined an Orange Theory. I didn't think I would like group sessions, but so far I like it and I'm not as jiggly now 😉




Jiggly Jell-O person

Thread Thread
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Awesome! Congrats on the progress :)

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown 🇨🇦 • Edited

Just eat potatoes and rice, works for me every time.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Carbs only would make me put on the pounds. 🙃

Collapse
 
circleofawesome profile image
Samiul Anwar

I painted my apartment and finished all my stories for the current sprint before the weekend hit. Also I got news that Winds of Winter might be coming out before summer 2020 which I consider a massive personal win.

Collapse
 
rampa2510 profile image
RAM PANDEY

1) Published my first npm package - gitesy
2) Started writing blogs -

Collapse
 
daviducolo profile image
Davide Santangelo • Edited

my latest project Feedi (github.com/davidesantangelo/feedi) mentioned in the "Code & Tools" section of ruby weekly rubyweekly.com/issues/451

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown 🇨🇦
Collapse
 
anabella profile image
anabella

My win this week was being able to think about layout with CSS position: relative and absolute and getting what I had in mind to actually happen without hours of trial and error.

Also learning about SVG scaling :D

Collapse
 
swlkr profile image
Sean Walker

I was trying to calculate unique pageviews for todayinclojure.com with a subquery

select
  count(ip_count) as visits,
  day
from (
  select
    count(ip) as ip_count,
    created_at - (created_at % 86400) as day
  from stat
  where
    created_at >= ?
  group by ip
  order by day desc
) as stat
group by day
order by day desc

but used distinct instead

select
  count(distinct ip) as visits,
  created_at - (created_at % 86400) as day
from stat
where
  created_at >= ?
group by day
order by day desc

and it worked.

No code? Try no scale.

Collapse
 
drozerah profile image
Drozerah • Edited

Published a GitHub repo to automate ES6 to ES5 processing with a detailed documentation which provides a ready to go configuration that is aimed to give the JavaScript developer the capability to quickly set up a Node.js environment and deliver ES5 from ES6 without wasting time in the maze of Babel configuration options and its plugins...

It gives out of the box the minimum settings to start a new project or evaluate any new ideas and it includes one HTML code base to fulfill this objective as well.

gif

Check it out ! ES6 to ES5 transpilation with Babel.js and Node.js

Feedback appreciated ! ;)

Collapse
 
lauragift21 profile image
Gift Egwuenu

I completed a couple of articles I've been working on. One of them is on productivity as developers.
I made a minimal blog starter for Gridsome!

Collapse
 
majse14 profile image
Majse14

Hello there!! Now learning about PHP syntax, MySQL and Phpmyadmin

And yep I cleaned my house too xD