DEV Community

Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Let's end the week on a high note.

Looking back, what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small!

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting to all your meetings on time
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy πŸ˜„

πŸŽ‰

Top comments (66)

Collapse
 
annarankin profile image
Anna Rankin

This week, I learned about using NOT EXISTS in a SQL subquery! I was able to use this to get rid of a left join and speed up a hairy database query πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰ It really made my week lol. Also had a really good chat with a mentee about equivalence vs. equality in JS and Ruby!

insert-gif

Collapse
 
dmfay profile image
Dian Fay

I wish SQL had a negative join operation consistent with other join types because the fact that a NOT EXISTS subquery outperforms the outer join + null test approach just doesn't seem right.

Collapse
 
annarankin profile image
Anna Rankin

I absolutely agree - I actually found this by googling "opposite of a join query" πŸ˜‚ it would be cool to have an EXCLUDE operation or something similar

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

(can it be non-dev related? Please @jess πŸ––)

This week, I went back to the gym after the physiotherapist benched me for a few weeks because of an injury! It gives me an energy boost and... it sparks joy :D

simone biles vaulting

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Yes it can (i'll update with an example)!!
and heck yeah!!!

Glad you're doing well :)

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy

LOL

Glad you're doing well :)

ahah thanks! :-)

Collapse
 
aspittel profile image
Ali Spittel • Edited

This week, I.... turned this post into a lightning talk and gave it at a Women Who Code event I organized!

dancing T-rexes

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

This week, I... was able to earn my Responsive Web Design Certificate via FCC, was able to launch my Amazon Affiliate site, started reading The Art Of War of Sun Tzu and started developing my Web Design company website.
Alt Text

Collapse
 
davefollett profile image
Dave Follett • Edited

This week, I made five 3-pointers (4 in a row) in a pickup πŸ€ game and setup Code Climate on an open source project.

Great idea for a discussion, I ❀️ it!

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

This week, I added code climate check for one my open source library.
It was tough to get code coverage test work but with help from Dave Follett πŸ‘Š,

10+ commits

I got it working last night.

Add test coverage task list #54

Test Coverage tasks

  • [x] Add test coverage flag to Jest: reference
  • [x] Add Code Climate configuration to CircleCI: example
  • [x] Add Code Climate test coverage badge: markdown

Validate CircleCI configuration file

And a CircleCI issue was due to an indentation error, which Dave pointed out πŸ˜›

wow

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

CodeClimate πŸ‘Œ

Tremendous tool

Thread Thread
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Uber cool.

It reminds you of the time when you first used eslint(or Resharper) and see massive errors πŸ˜›

Thread Thread
 
davefollett profile image
Dave Follett

In addition to being a great tool, Code Climate generously gives itself away for free to open source. Amazing stuff.

Collapse
 
lauragift21 profile image
Gift Egwuenu

This week, I got promoted at work

insert-gif

Collapse
 
toby2nice profile image
toby2nice

Awesome dear.

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

This week, I... finally started reading "Practical Object-Oriented Design in Ruby: An Agile Primer" by @sandimetz and have been enjoying it SO much. What a fantastic writer!

ruby-gem

Collapse
 
aspittel profile image
Ali Spittel

Omg! That's one of my favorite books of all time. I actually use a quote from it as my "goodbye" to students on the last day of class. May or may not have cried a few times.

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Nice! Let us know how it is when you finish it!

Collapse
 
buphmin profile image
buphmin

This week, I....

Coded a lot of stuff in Go! I spent a lot of time thinking about how best to approach the problem and making sure test along the way. So far I have about 85% test coverage according to

go test -cover

and 100% test coverage of exported utilities.

Collapse
 
joshhadik profile image
Josh Hadik • Edited

This week, I finally started sharing on Dev! I’ve always wanted to get involved in a dev community and start writing about my perspective on things but always got caught in the trap of trying to β€˜overperfect’ everything I wrote (and never actually posting any of it.)

This week I finally just posted something. Then another thing. Then another thing after that. I know the writing could use a lot of work, but hey, I’m not gonna learn by rewriting the same five articles on Evernote a thousand times!

Meta GIF

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Awesome! Will check those out.

Collapse
 
maxwell_dev profile image
Max Antonucci

This one was actually from earlier today! I was struggling with a PR, so I thought it'd be a smarter, more productive move to walk away and address another bug. When I tracked down the cause of this other bug, I wound up finding an issue that broke several key parts of our app while slipping through a blind spot in the tests. Thanks to me finding it, we managed to get a fix to production before the weekend!

I count it as a win since it shows my old habit of banging my head against something to prove myself, it's often not as good as moving to where I can be more effective for the team.

GIF of someone having chosen wisely

Collapse
 
themafro profile image
Matthew Francis

This week, I forgot how to use Git and GitHub so taught myself how to use them again

insert-gif

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee • Edited

NICE πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
priteshusadadiya profile image
Pritesh Usadadiya

I am beginning to learn git. Any tricks that might help ??

Tried to use github desktop. Unfortunately doesn't work on my machine.

Collapse
 
themafro profile image
Matthew Francis

I used Codecademy's course codecademy.com/learn/learn-git

Thread Thread
 
priteshusadadiya profile image
Pritesh Usadadiya

Awesome πŸ‘ , thanks

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

This week, I pushed a fix to allow code spans in comments and the article editor! I had been putting it off a bit because I thought it would be a hairy fix, but it turned out to be really straightforward. It was a pleasant surprise, and it was a good reminder that something may seem more difficult than it actually is.

A clay-mations sheep wipes its forehead in relief.

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

You're becoming a regex ninja ;D

Collapse
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao • Edited

This week, I was able to arrange to get paid for the first time to write a python tutorial or article in one of the awesome python blogs I had been learning from for awhile.

Amazed to get to write

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

That sounds pretty ideal.

Collapse
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao

Yeah, it is cause I would never imagine me in getting paid to write. Now it's left for me to write the article or tutorial which is a nice problem to have I guess.

Collapse
 
ozzyogkush profile image
Derek Rosenzweig

Back at the beginning of January I submitted an op-ed to a local newspaper on a non-tech related topic, and they finally published it this morning. So that made me pretty happy. Also got a particularly annoying bug fix ticket into testing, so there's that.

Collapse
 
kevinkace profile image
Kevin Cameron • Edited

Got OAuth2 working on out bespoke backend, to get data from Firebase.

Edit: Thanks to this package github.com/kjur/jsrsasign

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Congrats!