DEV Community

Cover image for I’m a Liberal Arts Grad, and I am a Software Engineer at Microsoft, ask me anything!
Julie Hubschman
Julie Hubschman

Posted on

I’m a Liberal Arts Grad, and I am a Software Engineer at Microsoft, ask me anything!

I’m a Software Engineer at Microsoft. I work on an incubation team that works to build experiences using software and hardware prototypes to define the next generation of Windows Devices and experiences. Previously at Microsoft, I was in a rotational program for college new hires where I got to try out two other roles. First, I was a Service Engineer working on two factor authentication with a focus on accessibility and usability. Second, I was a User Researcher for XBOX User Research on the Platform team. I went to a liberal arts college called Goucher College where I made my own major in Human Computer Interaction.

I believe that having a liberal arts degree has helped me in the technology sector, and hope that soon companies realize the power of a liberal arts degree.

Top comments (74)

Collapse
 
vaidehijoshi profile image
Vaidehi Joshi

Hi Julie! 👋 Fellow liberal arts grad here 😊

I'm curious to know if there has been one (or many!) thing from your liberal arts degree that has helped you immensely in your role at Microsoft/in STEM in general? Like you, I feel that my liberal arts degree has make me uniquely qualified for certain things in my job, and allows me to bring something special to the table. Is there anything you can point to in your experiences that are in the similar vein?

Collapse
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

Hello!

I WRITE SO MUCH. I write emails, I will soon be writing patents, I write documents, I write code reviews. The amount of writing I do, lends itself to a Liberal Arts degree, because I know how to write. I sent an email to someone very high up once at Microsoft, and my manager freaked out. He saw the email and was stunned at how eloquent it was, I was not sure if I was supposed to be offended or not.

I don't think it is noticed to much now, but I think in the future of my career, my ability to write will be a huge strength.

Collapse
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

Hey Jag!

My college allowed me to make my own major, basically what I had to do was:
1) Write up a long paper about why my major was important and why one major would not fulfill what I wanted to learn
2) Show research of other colleges with HCI programs and then show how I could supplement it
3) Find my courses for the rest of the three years of college and list why each one would apply to my major.
4) Find a professor in each department to be an advisor

Then after all of that, I submitted it and it had to be reviewed by some people. It was great, and definitely not something for everyone.

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

When & how did you realize that's what you wanted to do?

Thread Thread
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

They wouldn't let me major in Cognitive Science and double in Computer Science, so I proved them wrong. :)

But to be honest, I still don't know what I want to do. I just do things that I think are interesting and sound exciting to me.

Collapse
 
shanise profile image
Shanise Barona

Hi Julie! Thanks for answering questions with us today! I also have a liberal arts degree and am wondering since you made your own major, what are some ways that you've explained to companies, perhaps at an interview, the benefit of having a liberal arts degree and how that sets you apart?

Collapse
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

Hi!

This is one of my favorite things to talk about.

I believe that my education gives me an openness to learn, and more experiences. I actually wrote about this....
Here is the quote from the article: (medium.com/@jhubs/the-other-divers...)

"I am a technical individual with a foundation in the liberal arts and I am proud of that. To build successful products, you need diverse teams, but if your entire team is made up of graduates from X’s computer science program, how diverse is your team actually? They all went through the same classes, and were taught to think the same when it comes to solving problems. Is that really a diverse team?"

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

What courses did you self-assign for your major?! Which ones prepared you to be an engineer?

I also made my own major...but it's not nearly as cool sounding as Human Computer Interaction.

Collapse
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

I had to choose all of my classes actually!

The ones that prepared me most to be an engineer I actually took in Scotland when I studied abroad. There I took a course about the Internet which was like 2 courses put together, it was half front-end and half back-end.

But to be honest, I don't think any one class prepared me to be an engineer. I think having experiences with internships helped more. I don't think any college course has a class where if you screw up, you can make a company lose millions of dollars.

Collapse
 
maestromac profile image
Mac Siri

what kind of internships did you have?

Thread Thread
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

Two software engineering internships. I was one of two "non-mainstream" college students accepted.

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Any fun nuggets from those two courses about "the Internet" ? Was it a technical course or more historical?

I recently read The Victorian Internet which is about the advent of the telegraph. And Ben has recommended Where Wizards Stay Up Late: The Origins of the Internet as a similar book on the origins of the internet.

Just curious if you encountered anything in those courses that might be fun/surprising to the rest of us.

Thread Thread
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

It was technical. I did take a super interesting course in college about the theory of computing. An ex buddhist monk taught it. There was a lot of questions about life that came up.

Collapse
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

I also want to say that the courses that I think taught me the most were the ones that had nothing to do with Engineering. I took some strange classes, I took Jazz Band every semester (I played the saxophone), and I took English classes. I think that is what makes liberal arts so cool.

Every college has the same Intro to CS class,for the most part, the difference between Liberal Arts and other colleges is I have a wider swath of knowledge, and those at other schools have a much more focused band of knowledge. I think Liberal Arts works for people who know what interests them, and they want the best way to apply it. Once again, I am not discrediting technical degrees. I think if you know what you want to study and you know your life plan, go that way.

Collapse
 
tiffany profile image
tiff

As a former humanities major, this is a great story. How was the transition from liberal arts to CS? Did the shift in thinking take long or was it something you just got right away?

Collapse
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

Hi!

I actually took CS courses in college. I think how it was taught made the transition easier. I can't tell you how to reverse a binary tree, but I can read just about any computer program that is put in front of me.

So to answer, the transition was easy and yet hard. Easy, because anything can be put in a liberal arts perspective; Hard, because I don't have quite the same amount of technical gritty knowledge.

(I really hope I answered your question)

Collapse
 
tiffany profile image
tiff

You did! That's pretty great. Thank you.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

When did you come up with "Human Computer Interaction"? Was it heading into university or during? Were you already sort of on that path before making it explicit or was this a path you envisioned ahead of time?

Collapse
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

It was while I was at my college. I wanted to study Cognitive Science, but to study that, I had to create an interdisciplinary major. I decided to take a CS class my freshman year because I thought about a double major. I found out that you could not double major with an interdisciplinary, so I had to come up with a way to combine everything.

At first I thought I was going to do Artificial Intelligence as my major, but I couldn't find enough courses, so I went with HCI.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

What does that "Human Computer Interaction" comprise of? Who is chiefly in charge of thinking about these sorts of concerns in an engineering team?

Thread Thread
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

I like to think that Human Computer Interaction is taking into account the fact that our products are being used by other people. I feel that it is the coding of a great user experience that is inclusive.

I wish that someone was in charge of this on an engineering team. I think it usually falls to a Project Manager. I wish that more engineers thought about it, but it doesn't always happen.

Thread Thread
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I recall reading a pretty interesting anecdote about how Google's project at Stanford, which arguably was one of the most important engineering projects in the history the world, was kind of scoffed at because it was "soft computing", e.g. the part where the human interacts with the machine. It seems like their peers thought that anything that the humans touched with was for non-hardcore engineers to work on.

I think the opinion has shifted away from this extreme a bit. Anyway, do you have any thoughts on this anecdote or have you experienced this sort of thing?

Thread Thread
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

It's funny you say this. I looked at going to a big tech school, and Computer Science was their "softest" major.

I think some companies are working on making more inclusive and diverse work forces which helps a lot. When an engineer makes a product they make it so that it works for them (left or right handed, etc.). Having a more diverse workplace gives more eyes on a product from different backgrounds.

Collapse
 
cassidoo profile image
Cassidy Williams

HCI seems like a very design-centric degree, in addition to the obvious tech and science challenges. Do you ever design things in your day-to-day, or on side projects? What are your go-to tools?

Collapse
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

Hey Cassidy! We should hang out soon!

I really don't do side projects, because I feel like my daily job is just making things.

Tools that I love include: Sketch, atom.io (which you told me about), and Pixelmator.

I hope that in the new year I can scratch that creative muscle again.

Collapse
 
cassidoo profile image
Cassidy Williams

We should! I'm starting to actually have free time again, ha!

I'll be curious to see the things you make!

Thread Thread
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

Wooo!

And me too! Maybe we will make something together. I have never been good at making stuff on my own, I like a collaborative effort.

Collapse
 
milkstarz profile image
malik

Hi Julie! As a non CS degree major, I can relate with your story (aviation here). What are some the things you do to network with other developers/like minded people?

Collapse
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

Twitter. I am addicted to Twitter. I just started following people who I thought were interesting, and replying to people, and I found friends.

Collapse
 
tiffany profile image
tiff

Exactly what I did. Amazing the gems you can find that way.

Collapse
 
milkstarz profile image
malik

Awesome. I'm just getting into Twitter now, I wish I knew about these people before, I got some serious role models now! :)

Gonna follow you on twitter too :D

Thread Thread
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

I post a lot of ridiculous non relevant things. So be prepared

Collapse
 
kellyjandrews profile image
Kelly Andrews

I myself have a BFA in Graphic Design, and love to discuss the career path I've taken. What tips can you offer other non-CS degree folks about the road that lies ahead?

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Wow cool Kelly. I'm curious: your work is pretty far from the "graphics" part of software, even though there is plenty of work to be done in that area. How did that journey take place? Do you still make visual art, with computers/software or otherwise?

Collapse
 
kellyjandrews profile image
Kelly Andrews

I wish I did - I once made some really cool hyper-realistic images that I have no idea where they went now :(

I always wanted to not just do design, but front-end web development. It then turned into full on development roles.

If I get the chance to make some graphics, I jump on it still ;)

Collapse
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman • Edited

You are going to get rejected a lot. It sucks. But, know that it is the company not realizing your potential. Keep trying, keep applying, look at startups, look anywhere. Just keep making stuff and try to find a way in with your degree.

Graphic Design is used all the time! Maybe you know Unity really well... that is a big thing right now with AR/VR. Take advantage of those skills you have and make them flashy. Just spin them to appeal.

Collapse
 
maestromac profile image
Mac Siri

what would be your advice to other liberal arts grads who want to follow your path?

Collapse
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

Know that a lot of companies will reject you, and that is on them.

Network your ass off, because connections make finding jobs a lot easier.

Always ask questions.

Collapse
 
maestromac profile image
Mac Siri

This is a great advice. Thank you!

Thread Thread
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

Absolutely. The hardest part is just staying positive through it all. Just know that there are people out there who are willing to take a chance on you.

Collapse
 
kellyjandrews profile image
Kelly Andrews

What sort of take-aways from each rotational experience influenced your ultimate decisions on your career path?

Collapse
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

My first rotation was in IT and was very technical. I enjoyed the work, but I realized security was not for me. My second rotation was completely nontechnical. I thought trying both sides would help me. Also, each role I had help me expand my network and find things that I was interested in. I found that from the two, although the nontechnical role was really cool, I missed coding. The second role also showed me that I had an area of interest, I just needed to find the technical side to it.

I am a networking fiend, so any chance I get to do that is a win for me.

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

I just want to share that I also do not drink coffee.

Collapse
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

I only drink coffee that doesn't taste like coffee. So like mochas and ridiculously sweet Starbucks drinks. It is very hard living in Seattle and not being a coffee drinker. There are a lot of judgy looks.

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

grande java chip frappcuino - 2 pumps extra ice light whip with skim milk plz

..same 😅

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Do you ever get to work with @thelarkinn ??

Collapse
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

Sadly, no. :(

Collapse
 
thelarkinn profile image
Sean Larkin

NOT YET AT LEAST BUT WE SHPULD JUST HANG! And then find cool ideas to collaborate on!

Collapse
 
annarankin profile image
Anna Rankin

Hello Julie, thanks for doing this AMA! As a fellow non-CS-degreed software engineer (BFA in Illustration, lol), I have some questions for you about culture and learning.

Before I got into tech, I was working in some decidedly different fields (local government, graphic design, etc), and the culture shock for me coming into a startup was pretty notable. What did you do before you came to Microsoft? Is the tech business culture something that you were immersed in before starting your job, or was it new to you?

Another question I have - does the impostor syndrome ever really go away? :)

Thanks again for your time! This is awesome :D

Collapse
 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

Hi Anna!

I was actually in college! I graduated and got a job at Microsoft. I had some idea about the tech culture, I had two internships previously at Intel, and my dad worked at Microsoft over 20 years ago (no nepotism). I do think that Microsoft made it easy and was very welcoming, thus making the shock of culture change easier.

Impostor Syndrome never goes away! I wish! Especially with a Liberal Arts degree, it always creeps up. Some days are better than others, but I think knowing that it is okay to be an impostor, keeps me going. What I mean by that is, I bring a perspective that none of my teammates have, and that is why I am here. I am technically able, but I also have a different view.

 
juliehubs profile image
Julie Hubschman

It is awesome! It took about 4 months during the second half of my sophomore year.

I wish! My degree just says B.A. in Individualized Interdisciplinary Major.

So I guess I can name it anything.