DEV Community

Kaamkiya
Kaamkiya

Posted on • Updated on

12in24 - One language a month

Credit to @amtzespinosa for the idea.

During 2024, I will try out a new programming language monthly, one that I have never used before. I'll record some of what I learn here, and you can find all of the programs I make in the Github repo.

I chose the languages using this Python script:

import random

languages = ["8th", "AWK", "COBOL", "Common Lisp", "Crystal", "D", "Dart", "Delphi Pascal", "Elixir", "Elm", "Emacs Lisp", "Erlang", "F#", "Fortran", "Gleam", "Go", "Groovy", "JavaScript", "jq", "LFE", "Lua", "MIPS Assembly", "Nim", "Objective-C", "OCaml", "Perl", "PHP", "PL/SQL", "Prolog", "PureScript", "Racket", "ReasonML", "Red", "Ruby", "Rust", "Scala", "Scheme", "Standard ML", "Swift", "Tcl", "TypeScript", "Unison", "V", "Vim script", "Visual Basic", "Web Assembly", "Wren", "x86-64 Assembly", "Zig"]

print('\n'.join(random.sample(languages, 8)))
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

The list of languages contains every language on Exercism, excluding ones that I've used before, web languages, or ones that I can't download for some reason.

The output I got was:

x86-64 Assembly
D
Perl
Crystal
Elixir
AWK
Wren
OCaml
Nim
Zig
Emacs Lisp
Erlang
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

So those are the languages I'm going to play with! Quite a cool selection. I've heard of some of them, but never used most, so it should be fun!

My goal is to make some simple programs with all of them, and keep working with the ones I like.

Here's the Github repo.

What are you doing in the new year?

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
bogomil profile image
Bogomil Shopov - Бого

Nice challenge! Good luck!

Collapse
 
anras573 profile image
Anders Bo Rasmussen

I like this challenge.
I want to get better at painting miniature figures, so my goal is to simply paint more this year 😅

Collapse
 
kaamkiya profile image
Kaamkiya • Edited

That's an awesome goal! 😀

Collapse
 
pavelee profile image
Paweł Ciosek

Great resolution! Keep it up! 🚀

Collapse
 
amtzespinosa profile image
Alex Martínez

Niiiice, have fun!

And, as I can see, February is the month of COBOL!

Collapse
 
kaamkiya profile image
Kaamkiya

It is :)