DEV Community

Kim Arnett 
Kim Arnett 

Posted on

Resume Review

Let's help get some fresh talent in the industry. Help out another person by checking for spelling, grammar, making sure their resume is easy to read and any other tips you have come across your journey you think will benefit someone else.

The rules are simple:

Juniors:

Post a link to your resume / cv below for others to review, or get extra eyes on.

Seniors:

Please give feedback and reply so we don't all pile on the same one (but you can absolutely provide additional feedback).

*if you don’t want your personal info out there please replace with placeholders so the layout isn’t messed up. *

This thread was started on Twitter. Feel free to follow along in any or both places!

Top comments (350)

Collapse
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner 🚀

Would love some feedback on mine.

I have a website version that uses Print CSS to adjust down to a printer friendly version.

My thought was that since I'm trying to get a web design/development job having a resume website would be kinda cool and nifty that I can just print off a copy, wherever I am.

Collapse
 
dariusx profile image
Darius

Perfect resume because its form itself speaks to your area of expertise. It paints you as having very specific skills, and that's usually a good thing. While a narrow focus can mean some people will not respond, it means that you will hook the ones who ought to respond.

Collapse
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner 🚀

Thank you for the kind words. That's definitely what I was going for. I'm trying to get a job making websites, so why not have my resume be a website? Most places only have an upload field for the resume, but then I can just go there, print off a fresh copy as a PDF and upload it.

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

Hi Jack.

I like the look of this immediately, but there are a couple of things I would change:

  • The headings have underlines on them which make them look like links (they're not)
  • The employment timeline and skills sections are very large compared to the rest of the page, and they take up a lot of vertical space, which feels unbalanced.
  • The accordion effect for the previous roles is nice, but I don't know why it's there. Why do I need to click to read the text? It's not to save vertical space (see previous point) and there's not a lot of text in them, so why not leave them open?
  • I don't know why the roles on the timeline have a hover effect, because it makes me think I can interact with them and I'm left clicking to no effect.
  • In general it feels like things get more claustrophobic the further down the page I scroll, with less padding and ending up with one giant image. Perhaps this could be made into a thumbnail link?
  • From the two projects, one has an image associated with it and one doesn't. It'd be nice to add an image to the first one (the desktop recreation) provided that's not using copyrighted assets or anything.

I really like the way you talk about "Professional Highlights" and "Projects I'm Proud Of". This gives me the impression that you're selecting things you think will interest me as a prospective employer, rather than turfing out every project you've ever done. Saying you're proud of something and showing it off is also a great way to impress people.

Collapse
 
xlebenny profile image
Benny Leung

I love it, it's simple and beautiful

But in Hong Kong, the job hunter only Ctrl+F the exact word, didn't know what is that

They will ask do you know .net if you know C#

Finally, CV will become "Word Wall" :(

Collapse
 
david_j_eddy profile image
David J Eddy

I am loving the printed version. Really stands out compared to the 'wall of text' most resumes are these days. My only concern is the non-tech centric roles; but I have no suggestion on how to deal with that given your experience and how tightly coupled they are to the next step in career path.

OVerall, I am digging the design Jack. Well done.

Collapse
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner 🚀

Thanks for your feedback David. I was definitely trying to stand out with the design.

I've had a couple people mention having my time at Target on there. The only reason I included it was to prevent the "Why'd you take a year off?" question. I've read that having employment gaps isn't the end of the world, but if there's a gap and the answer is "Oh, I just worked at Target" that seems worse than not having the gap.

Collapse
 
garfbradaz profile image
Gareth Bradley

I love the interactive Website Jack.

Collapse
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner 🚀

Thanks Gareth!

Collapse
 
samuraiseoul profile image
Sophie The Lionhart

Might just be me, but I always notice when a site doesn't have a favicon or has the wrong one such as the drupal one when they don't give their own. So I would say get a favicon. Looks nice otherwise.

Collapse
 
molly profile image
Molly Struve (she/her)

Wow, this is impressive and you just graduated! NICE WORK!

One suggestion I have would be to get a little more detailed on some points to help you really stand out. It will also help people get a firm grasp on what you can do the more detailed you are. For example:

  • "Manage project to ensure timely completion" -> What exactly did you do that helped the team stay on task?
  • "Integrate multiple complex enterprise systems to provide services that optimize and support business processes" -> What processes were supported? What systems were you working with?

I am personally a big fan of tailoring my Resume. You have A TON of awesome skills, but sometimes that makes it a little overwhelming to read. When you are applying, look at the job description and maybe try to whittle down your Skills list to those that you think would be most important for the job. That way if someone is reading your resume they can easily see you have the skills they are looking for.

When I first graduated I also put some of the relevant classes I took under my education section. Something to think about if you want. I also added notes about any organizations I was involved in or led that I thought might convey I had skills the employer was looking for.

Did I mention I LOVE your font?! :D Keep crushing it!!!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I agree with all of this. That’s all I have to add. 😂

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

+1 to what Molly said, I wish I would had such experience to show when I graduated haha.
Definitely trimming down the skills to the most relevant for the job you're looking for is important.

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

OK, I'm going to poke as many holes in this as I can:

Consistency (i.e. evidence of attention to detail and caring about your presentation) is important.

Some of the skills are written as "Frontend - React, Vue, Bootstrap" and some as "Version control using git or svn". I'd recommend picking a style and sticking to it. Keep capitalisation consistent between technology names and use a dash to separate the label from the list instead of the word, "using". There's no reason for some lists to have "and" or "or" before the last item and some not to. I'd leave it out, because that makes the text look a little less dense on the page.

Lines like "provisioning of customer accounts in vendor systems" are pretty vague and look like filler to me. If I was interviewing you I'd maybe ask you to elaborate but I might make the assumption that you just put it in there to make the list have more than two bullet points.

Remember that when someone (well, someone like me) looks at a CV we're noticing the weakest parts and we're thinking that if the candidate included that bit, it's because they couldn't come up with anything better. The best CVs make it look like the candidate had just shown us some examples of how good they are, leaving the reader to imagine that everything else they've done is up to the same standard.

This is the most interesting line in your CV:

Utilize MongoDB aggregation framework and SQL to write reports to save company upwards of $300,000/yr

Instead of that I might choose to write this:

I planned and developed a reporting system for MongoDB which reduced operating costs for the company by $300k per annum.

Obviously it depends what you did and that might not be completely accurate anymore, but I'm trying to put the emphasis on you doing something. I'm also trying to avoid contractions like "/yr" and words like "utilize" which make things sound buzzwordy. I've also changed the voice so instead it's not so passive and it's more about you. I know some people say that you shouldn't use words like "I" too often in your CV, but, well, I don't agree :P

I don't think you need to include the heading on every page1. Reviewers are probably either going to be reading this on their screen or on a printout that they're bringing to the interview, so they're not going to get anything mixed up. This means you get more space on the page to sell yourself and you don't need to use titles like, "... continued".

The Education section seems padded compared to the rest, because it's spread out with extra line spacing and includes irrelevant information. When I read things like "August 29, 2018" I think, "why do I care what day you graduated?" It's also inconsistent with the way you write dates for the work experience.

I think this covers everything for that section:

Education

BSc Software Development, Herzing University, 2018.

The classes you mention will already be covered by your skills list... except I notice they aren't. You thought it was important enough to mention that you learned C++, but it's not something you list in your skills. My interviewer brain asks, "did you fail that course?"

I could also suggest you shorten the skills section to just include the skills relevant to the position for which you're applying. Maybe you could keep a copy of this "master" CV and let it flow over a few pages. Knock yourself out with writing this copy but trim it down for each role you apply for by removing things that don't matter.

Maybe change the heading "Work Experience" to "Relevant career history" or something2 because "work experience" is a phrase associated with people interning or still in education, and might put people off who just glance at the document.

It looks like you have a lot to offer, all I'm suggesting really is that you tidy it up a bit.


  1. yes, I know you only have two; I'm being wildly general. 

  2. that's terrible, too, makes you sound like a robot. But I can't do better before my morning coffee! 

Collapse
 
santiago_salem profile image
Santiago Salem

Here is my CV I would like to hear what you think about it and what should I change to make it better :)

Thanks for this opportunity!

Collapse
 
molly profile image
Molly Struve (she/her)

HOLY awesomeness! I can't believe you have done all of that and you are only 23!

Now I am not sure what it is like when applying to other companies outside of the US but here is my feedback if you were applying to US companies.

  • Eduction: You list that you have a degree and your grade point, I would put the grade point up with the University name then use the space below to list some relevant classes that might have taught you skills you need for the job you are applying. I also think you can leave your high school off. Given you have so much other experience I dont think its needed.
  • Jobs: Maybe add what language you used at each one otherwise those are solid!
  • Scholarships and Publications: I am on the fence with these. I am not sure how relevant they would be to someone looking to hiring you for a programming job so you might want to leave them off.
  • Languages: I think you could do without this being a full section. Maybe instead of Technical Skills you call that section just Skills and list your two languages there...? Just a thought.
  • References: To save space I think you can leave these off. I typically put "Reference available upon request" at the bottom of my Resumes.

Overall, make sure you are only putting on the CV what the employer needs to know about you to ensure you can do the job they are hiring for. You have so many awesome accomplishments but not necessarily all of them should be on a CV and not necessarily all of them will be relevant for the job you are applying for.

Hope that helps!!!

Collapse
 
santiago_salem profile image
Santiago Salem

Hi Molly, thank you for taking the time to check my CV and give feedback! Yes, luckily I could do a lot of things during 2017 and 2018 that helped me to have some accomplishments in my CV after graduating from the university.

I applied to almost all companies in Europe, but I will definitely take your advices to improve it. I didn’t realize on putting classes/subjects that were related to the job I applied, will do that and take out my high school degree.

Also I will polish the other sections to make the CV shorter and better!

Thanks again!

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

Hi Santiago.

I like your CV, and there's not much I'd change. This is therefore mostly a proofreading!

"What I expect about a company" sounds a little odd - if not a little entitled - to a native English speaker. I might say, "What I am looking for in a company" instead.
The same with beginning sentences with, "also" which is a very European thing to do. "Also I worked" reads better as "I also worked" or even simply "I worked".
There's no need to say "During my internship" in the section which is headed "Research internship". Remove that phrase and get a bit more space to write in more achievements.

I'd reverse the order of your sections to something more like Skills -> Job history -> Education -> Publications... because honestly, once you have any job experience, people stop caring about what you learned at university or school. First eyes on the page will likely be HR people or recruitment agents who are scanning for keywords1

You don't need to list your references on your CV (at least not in the UK, I don't know what it's like elsewhere) as it's understood that you will be asked for them if and when your CV generates enough interest to get you to an interview. Leaving them off saves you space you can use to expand on your skills. If you still feel you need this section, I'd suggest you remove the introductory paragraph ("The people listed below...") since it's unnecessary.

As to that, the intro text to the "Technical Skills" section is also unnecessary. This section and the references section are the only places you use this style. It looks a little odd pressed up against the bullet list and doesn't add any information to the document.

I'd rename "Extracurricular training" to "Training" or put it in the education section. I'd also rename "Technical skills" to "Skills". If you do that, then all the labels on the left-hand side of the document will fit on a single line, which in my opinion will make the page look neater.

I'd work on the margins, too - your name in the heading and some of the dates (see: "February 2018 - May 2018") are pressed up too close to the side of the page for comfort, and they make the whole thing look a little ragged.


  1. Welcome to the world of Javascript === Java. 

Collapse
 
santiago_salem profile image
Santiago Salem

Thank you very much Ben, for giving me such a good feedback! I really appreciate the time you took in checking my CV. I will change the writing to make it more clear and improve de margins (I totally agree that they don’t look very well)

Collapse
 
samuraiseoul profile image
Sophie The Lionhart

Don't know how it is in Europe but normally one page is ideal here in the US. Also the gray background would make this a pain to print out I would think. Content wise looked okay though!

Collapse
 
crondinini profile image
Camila Rondinini

If I can give my two cents, I studied in London and got some pretty awesome CV tips when doing my master.

The recommendation there is also that your CV should fit in one page. My guess is that other countries in Europe are also like that - so research the country's "CV Rules" before you apply. :)

I would also tell you that over there you don't need and actually shouldn't include your picture.

Collapse
 
santiago_salem profile image
Santiago Salem

Thanks for your feedback! I will need to summarize if I apply to jobs in US (though 2 pages wasn’t to much). Regarding the background you are right, although I like how it is in digital format, if I need to print it is inconvenient with that colours.

Thread Thread
 
samuraiseoul profile image
Sophie The Lionhart

Glad my feedback was helpful. I can't design for shit but I can critique. :P

I think it does look good digitally but is bad for print. The problem with that though is if I get a digital copy, I'm not going to look for a print copy. I'm just gonna be sad.

Thread Thread
 
santiago_salem profile image
Santiago Salem

Totally agree with that haha!

Collapse
 
firebase007 profile image
Alexander Nnakwue

Hello guys, thanks for this thread. I'm trying to get my third job in software engineering, precisely in the front end side of things. Here is a link to my CV, drive.google.com/file/d/1MzAdhjT__.... Thanks in advance for any feedback. Appreciated

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

Hi Alexander.

I have mostly presentational tips for this one:

  • avoid using the light grey colour for some of your text. On a screen that's below the contrast threshold for basic accessibility.
  • give the text a bit more line height - everything's a little crushed together.
  • you don't need to include the full street address for every job
  • make the tenses consistent: "Prepared technical pitches..." is something you did, but "Full-stack development using..." is something much more passive. Say "Developed xxx with..." instead.
  • remove some of the extraneous language padding out these bullet points. "Garnered experience" is particularly odd - just say "Worked with graphic desieners converting..." instead.
  • Make the section titles use consistent letter case. In "Languages, Interests and links", the "I" is in full caps but the "L"s aren't. In "Technical Skills" it's all small-caps, and in "Work Experience" it's title-case with full and small-caps. Just make them all the same :)

Your intro paragraph is important but it reads slightly clunkily:

Profile: Software engineer with thorough hands on experience of 3+ years in modern Front-end web development technologies (React JS, VUE JS and React Native for mobile development). With skills in rapid prototyping, design, implementation and testing of software products – including user acceptance testing and TDD. Passion for software architecture and experienced with open-source stack: Git, Mongo and Docker.

I suggest a couple of minor tweaks:

PROFILE
I am a software engineer with a thorough, hands-on experience of over 3 years in modern front-end web development technologies (React JS, VUE JS and React Native for mobile development). I have skills in rapid prototyping, design, implementation and testing of software products – including user acceptance testing and test-driven development.

I'm not sure how to rephrase the "passion" part and sill keep it in the same voice as the rest of the paragraph, and I'm worried that putting too many things in that opener will make it less punchy.

Hope this helps!

Collapse
 
firebase007 profile image
Alexander Nnakwue

Hello Ben,

Thanks so much for the feedback. I am so grateful for the time you took to go through my resume and give this detailed feedback. It really means a whole lot to me. I will go over your recommendations, suggestions, and advice and follow suit accordingly. Once again thank you and do have a nice day ahead.

Regards,
Alexander Nnakwue

Thread Thread
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao • Edited

Overall feels professional just that I would changes the following. Firstly it's the amount of titles for packt publishing find one title that you wrote down and stick with it. Lastly I would remove the word intern from Sparkplug. Since I won't consider someone a intern when they you had graduated from university and had been working with them for 3 years after they had graduated, that is not a internship but full time work.

Thread Thread
 
firebase007 profile image
Alexander Nnakwue

Wow. Thanks for the tip Max. I really appreciate the feedback. Thanks again. Regards
Alexander

Collapse
 
michelleepps profile image
Michelle Epps

I second that view. Nicely constructed CV that gets to the point. Just remember to adjust and highlight particularly impactful experience based on the position/company you are applying, you’ll do just fine!

Collapse
 
firebase007 profile image
Alexander Nnakwue

Thanks Michelle. I will take in your feedback and implement accordingly. Regards🤗🤗

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

I think your CV is pretty solid, nothing to say :D

I see you freelanced at Packt Publishing, I reviewed a couple of books for them ages ago!

Collapse
 
firebase007 profile image
Alexander Nnakwue

Thanks for the feedback rythms, feels good to hear. Yes I freelanced with Packt a while back. Also doing same with Appress ATM.

Collapse
 
garfbradaz profile image
Gareth Bradley • Edited

Firstly, you have it to 2 pages, which apparently is the magic CV number! I absolutely love the font and style. Its crisp and clean and you can glance the skills quickly and easily.

I really like this, I would interview you.

Collapse
 
bailytroyer profile image
Baily Troyer

I can't express how amazing of an opportunity this is!

Feel free to tear apart my resume. I value any feedback!

I am a student that is searching for internships, trying to leverage my current experience.

Thank you to anyone that is able to give me advice/feedback :)

Collapse
 
kaydacode profile image
Kim Arnett 

Hello another iOS Developer :D

I like the beginner to advance ranking. I also like the breakdown all your experience.
Just a reminder that any tech you list is interview-fair game, so make sure you are in fact comfortable with what you list and can answer questions about it. Next, position your skills for the job you want, not the job you have. You have a lot of various experience and I would encourage you to think about where you want to take it. Good luck!!

Collapse
 
bailytroyer profile image
Baily Troyer

I couldn’t agree more, thank you so much! I’m in a tough position, because I’m a DevOps intern currently and I love it so much, but I practice iOS development in my free time so I’m trying to find an internship that would see my DevOps experience as valueable, but I agree on what you said because I don’t want to seem wishy washy.

Thank you so much for your advice, it’s always exciting meeting other iOS people!

Thread Thread
 
kaydacode profile image
Kim Arnett 

Devops is valuable anywhere you go!! If nothing else than to provide insight into the whole process. It's always tuff getting started, my comment was primarily something to keep in mind as you go further into your career.

Collapse
 
vipulrawat profile image
Vipul

One thing that blew my mind.

How did you give yourself 5 stars (100% knowledge) on Atlassian Suite(Jira/Confluence)?
I am pretty sure even the main contributor/creators don't have the 100% knowledge of the product.

Collapse
 
bailytroyer profile image
Baily Troyer

I hadn’t thought about it like that, I agree completely. Thanks!

Thread Thread
 
michelleepps profile image
Michelle Epps

Hi Bailey,
I would add a few thoughts...

First of all, I come from the school of thought that you highlight your most impactful item based on where you are - your most impactful is eduction at the moment. There are definitely different camps on this one, but I would swap.

I would also put a small (read sentence at most) intent at the beginning to direct the resder you are interested in an internship in x, y or z. I think that could help drive reality.

Love the visual on the left. Hope you have the career you want in tech!

Collapse
 
fnatic_shank profile image
Shashank Srivastav

It's a marvellous idea @kaydacode
And here's my resume. Would love to get some feedback :)
I am python, javascript engineer and I am trying to land a remote job as backend developer.

Collapse
 
thejessleigh profile image
jess unrein

1) for your skills at the bottom, how are they ordered? It doesn’t feel obvious looking at it. Either make sure they’re listed from strongest to weakest, or just list them alphabetically. Alphabetical listing makes it look less haphazard.
2) anywhere you can, add numbers. I know from your resume that you worked on apps. Refactored some controllers. How big were the apps? Did you have to deal with concerns of scale? How many controllers did you refactor? When you say “almost all” that could be three or fifty depending on the size of the app. When you implemented caching for an app, what kind of performance gains did you see?

Collapse
 
fnatic_shank profile image
Shashank Srivastav • Edited

Thankyou for the feedback Jess :)
Currently I have listed my skills in the order of strongest to weakest but since the intent is not easily visible, I'll try experimenting with alphabetical ordering or a small hint denoting the strongest to weakest order.
And I definitely agree with you that I will add numbers to measure each metric, builds a clear picture.

Collapse
 
david_j_eddy profile image
David J Eddy

Hello Shashank; your looks pretty impressive. Very well filled out and the sections are well separated. I like that you list the tech used during each position. The one issue that really stings is the capitalization. Python, Docker, etc should be upper case. Also, add the months to to the employment dates. At the moment it looks like you work at each place for exactly 1 year.

Good luck in your search.

Collapse
 
fnatic_shank profile image
Shashank Srivastav

Hey David, thanks for the wonderful feedback :D
I'll add capitalisation for key words and adding months is a very valid point, I'll incorporate that too. Thanks again.

Collapse
 
azmain1217 profile image
Syed Azmain

I know I'm probably late in trying to get into the field since I graduated in May 2018, but I would really appreciate feedback on my resume and portfolio website.

Thank you!

Collapse
 
kaydacode profile image
Kim Arnett 

Love the layout -
reminder any technology you list be prepared to interview in. Otherwise, focus on what you want your job to be in.

Is it correct that you're doing Data Analytics Apprentice and Mainframe Production Support Analyst at the same time? Both point to present.

Only real suggestion would be to add a line under each position what tech you worked in.. just a high level summary. I think it's great that you elaborated to fill out the page. When you get more experience, definitely focus on making it skim-able.

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Why do you think you're late? You just started, that's perfectly fine!

Like the resume :) Good idea of listing what you've worked on in each position

Collapse
 
azmain1217 profile image
Syed Azmain

Haha I just feel like I haven't done too much in terms of software development so far in the last 3 years!

Thank you so much! Is there anything that you'd suggest that I modify/change?

Thread Thread
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Nope :D

Collapse
 
marcelosdm profile image
Marcelo Melo

Hello!!

Great idea!!!

Here's the link to my resume. I hope everyone feel free to give any feedback, as I really need it!

Thanks to everyone!

Collapse
 
kaydacode profile image
Kim Arnett 

reminder anything technology wise you include make sure you're ready to be interviewed in it.

I would prefer a more skim-able approach. By that I mean, less wordy, straight to the point especially under your experience. What languages did you use? Why were you an asset to the team? What did YOU accomplish? Do you have any measurements (lowered load time by 3 seconds, for example).

For someone with over 10 years experience I'd love to see more elaboration under your experience.. might as well finish filling out that last half of page :)

Under technical skills, you have an extra / in front of React.

Personal preference to move experience before education.

Overall looks good, I think some minor updates would really be beneficial. Good luck!

Collapse
 
marcelosdm profile image
Marcelo Melo

Hello Kim!

I'm so glad to receive your feedback! Now, I'm going to review and consider your advices!

Thank you so much!!

Collapse
 
prachip1 profile image
prachip1

I am a WordPress developer from the past one year. I am quite interested in Front end development using HTML, CSS ,Javascript,jQuery and other. I am looking for a job in this field only. This is website prachipweb.co.in. please review it.

Collapse
 
shahor profile image
Shahor • Edited

Your website is really beautiful, but there is something that could send a wrong message and be detrimental.

The first time your website is loaded, that is to say without cache, there is a loading bar at the top.
All is well, and I was pretty excited to discover why I was asked to wait.

The loading went on for a few seconds and then I just saw a regular page that didn't make me understand at all why there was a loading.
It seems unnecessary and my knee jerk reaction was This person doesn't care about their craft

Please don't take this the wrong way, I'm not assuming anything but since it was my initial reaction I'm thinking I won't be the only one and losing a recruiter's interest for such a detail would be a shame.

Collapse
 
prachip1 profile image
prachip1

No I wont mind. You correcting the fault and that is a big help. I will fix it. Thanxx

Collapse
 
molly profile image
Molly Struve (she/her)

Your website is SLICK!!! I like what you did with the %'s and the skills, that is a neat touch. I would assume that the left is beginner and right is mastery. You might want to put a little key on that just so people know what the scale is measuring.

For the CV itself.

  • I think the top three sections, Career Objective, Profile, and Personal Qualities you can do without on the CV. They are great but I think you should save them and use them in a cover letter or email that you would write when you are applying. By doing that you can also tailor them to the job you are applying to make sure you emphasis the qualities the job is looking for.
  • Project Undertaken and Research Work - make sure to get the spacing right under the bullets, that will just sharpen it up.
  • In terms of applying for a job I think you can do without Extra-Curricular Activities and Personal Details BUT I would put that you know multiple languages under you skills bc that is definitely not something everyone has.

Hope that helps :)

Collapse
 
prachip1 profile image
prachip1

Thank you so much.. I will make these changes .

Collapse
 
jemimaabu profile image
Jemima Abu

Oh what a great thread.

I've never had my resume reviewed before but I've never gotten any complaints about it either.

I would love some feedback: Jemima's resume

Collapse
 
phallstrom profile image
Philip Hallstrom

Please take everything with a grain of salt and decide for yourself if you agree with it or not :)

  • My personal preference would be to not have two columns. For me it makes it harder to scan and or read in the order you want me to read it in. Is EDUCATION really the most important thing on here? Or should it be EXPERIENCE? Hard to say with multiple columns.

  • Skills. You list JavaScript in FE Development, but break Python and C# out into Programming Languages (instead of BE Development). I'd consider consolidating the sections (particularly UX and UI) and perhaps move the individual Tools into their respective categories. Less headers may result in the skills themselves carrying more weight.

  • Experience... The 2nd/3rd descriptions read almost the same. Creating mockups and wireframes. See if you can't break those out to distinguish. Perhaps mention the applications used? Or maybe size/number of customers, or something else. I guess that, at least for me, "UI/UX Designer" implies mockups and usability so the descriptions aren't adding anything.

  • I would move the last three (teacher, trainer) into their own section... "VOLUNTEERING" maybe? I love that section, but it feels odd in Experience which I think of as more "jobs" and the dates don't let it work well chronologically.

  • Last thing.. If I print this only then do I see your name, website, email, and phone. Might just be my Safari, but seems odd not to have it there all the time.

Collapse
 
jemimaabu profile image
Jemima Abu

Hi Philip,
Thanks so much for the detailed response.
I've made some changes to my resume and I'd love to get some feedback from you on the new look.
Once again, thanks

Thread Thread
 
phallstrom profile image
Philip Hallstrom

I like it! Did you add the PROFILE or did I somehow miss it completely from last time? Either way I really like it. Nitpick, spell out "2 years" as "two years." It will read better.

I'm still inclined to merge the UX and UI skill categories together, but that's just me.

I think the one column setup really makes it easier to read as you intend me to read it.

Thread Thread
 
jemimaabu profile image
Jemima Abu

I just added the profile.
Right, I've done the merge.
Thanks so much :D

Collapse
 
shahriarsiraj profile image
Shahriar Siraj Snigdho

I was about to create a post to get feedback on my resume and then I saw this one! Awesome..

Here's my resume! Honest feedback will be must appreciated!

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Hi Shahriar,

a few things:

  • "take challenge and gain experience from it" I would change it to "take on challenges and gain experiences from them"

In your skills you mix frameworks in the programming languages section (Angular?) and frameworks in the markup languages section (Bootstrap)? If the section is "programming languages" just list programming languages and then do a section for the major frameworks you know. Also, AJAX is neither :D So:

Languages: C++, C#, Java, PHP, JavaScript, TypeScript, HTML5, CSS3
Frameworks: Laravel, CodeIgniter, Ionic, Wordpress, Angular, NodeJS, jQuery, Bootstrap
Databases: MySQL, Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Access

Also, swap the order of the experiences. Always put the most recent first, that's the most important while scanning a CV. Same for the awards at the end, most recent first :-)

You are doin a Master in CS, unless this CV is for academic reason I don't think you need to list all the courses you attended at your Bachelor (because the fact that you're doing a Master tells me you're quite knowledgeable in computer science alreay). It also saves you a lot of space in the CV.

Good CV!

Collapse
 
khmaies5 profile image
Khmaies Hassen

here is my resume please take a look at it and give me some advice, thanks in advance.

Thread Thread
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Hi, I think it's a solid resume, congrats.

Just a few small details in the copy that would make it even better

a quick rundown:

In the description: "Software engineer student specialize in..." should be "Software engineering student specialized in..."

In the skills section, capitalization is not hugely important but trivial copy errors can be corrected:

"IOS" to "iOS", "swift" to "Swift", "nodejs" to "Node.js" (or "Node JS"), "Sql" to "SQL", "NoSql" to "NoSQL", "SqlLite" to "SQLite", "Mysql" to "MySQL", "javascript" to "JavaScript", "java" to "Java", "html" to "HTML", "css" to "CSS". You either put everything in lowercase, which make sense because the styling looks like they are "tags" or you use the proper capitalization for each word. But don't mix it, your choice.

Same thing for the experience, things like "api" instead of "API" or "angular 5" instead of "Angular 5" or "Ads" instead of "ads". "RESTapi" should be "REST API".

"and using Adobe framework (flash,photoshop,illustrator)" should be "and using the Adobe suite (Flash, Photoshop, Illustrator)".

Same thing in the experience section. "Google play" should be "Google Play" and so on. Basically google all the names of the tools and use the capitalization they use :D

"this game made until now 200k+ downloads in windows store" should probably be rephrased as "This game as made 200k+ downloads as February 2018", replace it with the month and year of the last time you checked :) Because "now" is a moving date.

"i used Ionic 2" should have a capitalized "I" as in "I used".

In the volounteer experience you use the present tense, but the experience was in the past, so I would rewrite that paragraph using the past tense. Something like: "My role consisted in supervising all IT staff and creating events and trainings related to new technologies inside and outside the university. I also worked on the communication and advertising of such events, in addition to social media."

They are all trivial changes, that's why they are worth getting right. They polish your resume.

Also, make sure the links are clickable if you send this around as a PDF or in a web page or in a presentation format.

Good job so far!

Thread Thread
 
khmaies5 profile image
Khmaies Hassen • Edited

Thank you for you advice, i was posting for internships and entry level jobs with this resume but i didn't get any luck i get rejected from the first selection. thought that my resume is the problem but after what you said now i don't know what is wrong :p

Collapse
 
onecastell profile image
Franklin Castellanos

I have a lot to learn but I've already begun to apply for jobs. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Heres my resume

Collapse
 
junajan profile image
Jan Jůna

It requires permission to access your resume.. Also, maybe I am old school but I would go with a simple PDF.

Collapse
 
onecastell profile image
Franklin Castellanos

Fixed. It is a PDF.

Thread Thread
 
junajan profile image
Jan Jůna

good... I had a look and I miss some links to other services like LinkedIn, StackOverflow, your personal website if you have any..

Maybe some hobbies would be good or something that will tell people what kind of person you are.

Also, have in mind that people can have a plan to print your CV to a paper so they would print it also with the grey background so I am more for a white background, but that's just mine opinion.

Wish you best :-)
Jan.

Thread Thread
 
onecastell profile image
Franklin Castellanos

Thanks so much for your helpful feedback.

Collapse
 
miguelrodoma95 profile image
Miguel Rodriguez • Edited

Great idea, thanks! Definitley will take advantage of this.

Here's my resume I just updated it, so it may be lacking of some things.
Warning: since I'm not a native english speaker I may have spelling errors. Any kind of feedback is welcome :D

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Hi Miguel,

really love your intro and your goals, you have a strong CV.

A few notes:

  • "on it’s technical implementation" -> "on its technical implementation"
  • you don't need to repeat the name of the app/project in all sub lists. Instead of "Android developer of Bop" you can just say "Android developer"
  • "de bridge" -> "the bridge", "delivering advances" -> "develering advancements"

I'm not sure about listing udemy's or udacity's courses in your CV, you've already established you're self taught, unless you have a certificate or something there's no need to list the courses.

Collapse
 
miguelrodoma95 profile image
Miguel Rodriguez

I was aware of one of those spelling errors, they're quite embarrasing... Thanks for pointing them out!
I'll reconsider about mentioning the online courses, maybe they don't really give more value to my resume.

Thanks a lot for taking the time to read it and provide feedback, I really appreciate it!