DEV Community

Cover image for Day 13. Blocker
Kiolk
Kiolk

Posted on

Day 13. Blocker

As is often happens, I found a solution the next day after a good night's sleep. It's not the solution I expected, but It's a reasonable option for a temporary fix. Maybe I increased my technical debt, but I removed the blocker.

What I did:

Today, I continued to work on the bookmark I wrote about earlier. I fixed the problem with repeat animation when the bookmark reappeared on the screen. I also added a haptic effect on press, but I couldn't test it on a real device due to connection issues. Additionally, I'm trying to find a solution for changing the colors of the Lottie animation to support different themes. Lottie animations support that through dynamic properties. If I understand correctly, I should manipulate some variables in the JSON file by replacing one value with another. It doesn't look complicated If the file is well-organized and has clear naming for components. The icon I grabbed for free from the Lottie website looks obfuscation, and it's very complicated to understand what is going on. I added a TODO for future investigation, as it could take a lot of time.
Current state DevTo client application

I created a GitHub project for storing all my TODOs and upcoming tasks. I believe, it's a necessary step if I want to engage people to contribute to this project. I think it's the simplest way to track tasks and stay on the platform, with the ability to track progress and keep reference on the code. 

What I will do:

  • Add Detekt(a static code analysis tool) to the project.
  • Update README file with description of project.
  • Create a GitHub project to manage the tasks for future collaboration.

If you want to join the project, just leave a comment here, or write a message in LinkedIn.

What help I'm looking for:

Designer (create design of application in Figma)
Android/KMM developer
Any other help related to the project.

My timeline:

Day 1. Deep breath and dive
Day 2. Networking layer.
Day 3. Loading of articles.
Day 4. ArticleItem.
Day 5. Localization.
Day 6. Work on Sunday.
Day 7. First week.
Day 8. Enjoying coding.
Day 9. Expect/actual.
Day 10. TODOs.
Day 11. Friday evening.
Day 12. Frustration.

You can buy coffee me here :+)

See you tomorrow. 

Top comments (0)