DEV Community

Michael Tharrington
Michael Tharrington

Posted on

Anybody taking advantage of Amazon Prime Day deals?

Calling all consumers, Amazon Prime Day is underway.

A pile of cardoard boxes opening up endlessly and stacking on top of each other, a little bit like Russian dolls. Finally, a cardboard box person pops out of the top of the stack and then their head opens up and the video seamlessly transitions to the beginning where the boxes start to endlessly stack up again.

I'm such a sucker for a good bargain. 😅

Anybody else taking advantage of any Prime Day deals? If so, what are you picking up?

Top comments (27)

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕ • Edited

Hmmm I hesitate to take Stanmore II by Marshall..

Image description

Collapse
 
soumyadeepdey profile image
Soumyadeep Dey ☑️

Convert To Indian Currency I Will Be Instant Poor !!!

😭😂🙂

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

And now, I want one of those too! 😅

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Personally, the electric lawn mowers have been calling my name.

Collapse
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper

I own an electric lawn mower - love it!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Ooo nice! What kind did you get?

Thread Thread
 
montyharper profile image
Monty Harper
Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Good stuff! Well, unfortunately we didn't pull the trigger quick enough and the ones we were looking at sold before we could get'em. Might have to look into this one!

Collapse
 
theaccordance profile image
Joe Mainwaring

Spent a lot of money on legos, this was my favorite of the lot though
Image description

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

I love me some LEGOs and that Hulkbuster looks dope. 4049 pieces is no joke either!

My last LEGO purchase was the Batmobile Tumbler from the Dark Knight series... built it during COVID over the course of a couple months and it's chilling on my music desk now.

close up photo of the LEGO Batmobile on a wooden desk

zoomed out photo of the LEGO Batmobile on my desk... you can see my various synthesizers and other music gear surrounding it

I hope ya enjoy your build!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

There should be an Amazon Prime day for getting rid of all the crap I already own 😄

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hahaha! Hey, every day is Craigslist Day as far as I'm concerned.

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

I stocked up on 3D printer filament... 😬️

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha! Very nice. 🙌

And ooooo this reminds me... I've been meaning to ask you if you've heard anything about 3D printed homes?

There's a company out there called ICON that has a really interesting process and is creating some super cool looking houses. I think this was the first video I saw on it all but here's another one where their founder talks through a show house they created and some of their building ethos.

If you just wanna see a quick view of their printing tech in action though, check out this video:

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

oh yeah, definitely. I think we have covered this sort of thing on our podcast (Games at Work dot biz) over the years, along with all kinds of other fields that 3D printing is being applied. Super interesting stuff.

Collapse
 
gyurmatag profile image
Varga György Márk

No... Because I live in Hungary. No Amazon here. :D

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Ah dang, haha! Do y'all have anything Amazon-like? Just curious. :-)

Collapse
 
gyurmatag profile image
Varga György Márk

Yes. For example Emag.hu and Alza.hu

Collapse
 
ronsheridan profile image
Ron Sheridan

nah

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha, good on ya. The lawnmower I wanted sold so aside from a cheap pair of sunglasses (cue the ZZ Top) I basically skipped on it as well. 😎

Collapse
 
alexhyettdev profile image
Alex Hyett

I couldn’t find anything I wanted this year. Not sure if the deals aren’t as good or it is just me.

Collapse
 
soumyadeepdey profile image
Soumyadeep Dey ☑️

No Maybe Deals Are Not Good!

Collapse
 
danbailey profile image
Dan Bailey

Mostly I bought a bunch of stuff for organizing my kids' bedrooms. And I finally got around to buying the D&D 5th edition Dragonlance book ($21 instead of $50).

Collapse
 
jcsmileyjr profile image
JC Smiley

Pick up a Amazon Fire Kids tablet for my grandson. Thinking about grabbing some cycling supplies.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oooo nice! You're gonna score a lot of points for that one.🔥 Other granddad better watch out, haha!

Cycling supplies reminds me I need a new bike pump... that's going on the list!

Collapse
 
blueberry077 profile image
Marc-Daniel DALEBA

idk.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha! Ya got til 11:59 PT to get it figured.