DEV Community

Cover image for 🎉 Celebrating 5000+ followers on DEV
Mukesh Kuiry
Mukesh Kuiry

Posted on

🎉 Celebrating 5000+ followers on DEV

Hey DEV friends and followers! 🙌

I just wanted to take a moment to thank each and every one of you for being with me on this journey. 🎉

It brings me so much joy to share that we've surpassed 5000 followers! Your support means the world to me, and I'm genuinely grateful for this fantastic community. 🧑‍💻

Here's to more exciting times ahead! Cheers! 🍻🍺

image

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
aloisseckar profile image
Alois Sečkár

Congratz for an achivement.

On the other hand, I am not yet convinced it really means something. I now have 869, after just a few weeks here and without even trying. But my latest articles gained almost no attention anyway. I still see them with "< 25" views, days after publishing. So what those "followers" actually do?

I would rather have 10, but those who would like to go through my content and provide some feedback (even like "oh, this was totally uninteresting and bad, don't write about this again"). Hundreds of annonymous accounts who just have clicked "Follow" somewhere and don't care at all, don't feel so good.

But maybe it is just a bad luck?

Collapse
 
kaamkiya profile image
Kaamkiya

No, I don't think it's bad luck. Most people on DEV for over 2 months have 500-1000 followers. When you make an account, the page, by default, selects 60 or so people that you will follow. Most people seem to just go with it, and that's how people get so many followers.

Then there's the spam accounts.

Collapse
 
mukeshkuiry profile image
Mukesh Kuiry

Maybe, Dev sincerely need to fix this.
@thepracticaldev

Collapse
 
mukeshkuiry profile image
Mukesh Kuiry

Thank you Alois!

Absolutely, I get what you're saying about the fake followers on dev.to. In my opinion, quite a few users here seem to be bots.

Plus, I've noticed that some of my posts, especially the series ones, only get around 200 views. It seems like the visibility depends a lot on the content and the kind of users involved.

Yeah, Dev needs to fix this.

Collapse
 
lilxyzz profile image
Travis

Congratulations Mukesh 🎉 Cheers for the great posts!

Collapse
 
mukeshkuiry profile image
Mukesh Kuiry

Thanks, Travis!

Collapse
 
bcouetil profile image
Benoit COUETIL 💫

Congratulations 🎉

Would you mind sharing more stats ? how many articles, duration before reaching this point, thoughts on the journey, will to gain them, difficulties in the process...

Collapse
 
mukeshkuiry profile image
Mukesh Kuiry

Thanks, Benoit!

It took me about 2 months, 34 articles, and consistent posting.
My post got around 60k+ views and 1.5k+ reactions.

Collapse
 
jeffchavez_dev profile image
Jeff Chavez

Congrats sir.

Collapse
 
mukeshkuiry profile image
Mukesh Kuiry

Thanks Jeff!