DEV Community

Cover image for Three Months In: Teaching Myself to Code Full-time
Mel R
Mel R

Posted on

Three Months In: Teaching Myself to Code Full-time

This 3rd month has been πŸ”₯ πŸ”₯ πŸ”₯

Right at the end of my 2nd month I had just discovered my passion for game development. Once I had that career direction in my mind, my learning speed has gone from fast to TURBOOOO.

I have designed and developed a Star Trek Space Shooter demo, a first person shooter demo, 3d PacMan, and am now working on a dungeon crawler rpg.
(https://n0nb1narydev.github.io/projects.html to see and play my first 3 games)
Each game has taught me so much with both Unity and C#. The work days go by way too fast and I find myself dreaming about developing games every night.

The most valuable thing that I have learned this third month is that when you know what direction you want to go with coding and developing, that is the point where you can really start to expedite your self-learning.

It's not easy finding that perfect career-fit for you, it wasn't for me. I went from psychology, to forensics, to biology, to photography, to web-development, and finally to game development. Life is not about taking the easy route. Do what feels right for you even if it is the harder direction. Even if it's an unconventional path. If you want to change directions, there is nothing wrong with that at all. Just follow your bliss, try new things, keep moving forward, and don't be afraid to fail.

Top comments (0)