DEV Community

Nandini S Hinduja
Nandini S Hinduja

Posted on

Most Meaningful Jobs

What are the most meaningful professions in the world? I thought every person is motivated differently and the most meaningful profession for each person is going to be different. First I will start by telling what I think is the most meaningful job for me and then I hope you all tell us what would be the most meaningful profession for you in the comments! I am doing this as an exercise so that we can at least realize if we are on the right path or not. Because more often than not, the career that we are in because we need the money or something that society convinced us to do. Let's start!
I think the most fulfilling career for me would be one where:

  • I am directly able to see the impact that I am bringing to people.
  • I am able to grow myself or the work that I am doing is building my brand.
  • I am communicating with people at least once in a while.
  • I am able to easily do the tasks that are required of me.

The kind of jobs which I think would suit this description are:

  • Professor
  • Lawyer
  • Teacher
  • Psychologist
  • Freelancer

I have tried to list professions which are at least somewhat achievable for me at this point.

What profession would be the most meaningful for you? Let us know in the comments!

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
garrentmh profile image
Darrell Tan

For me it is very similar. Mainly:

  1. Impact other people's life. Be it to remove their pain or help them to get closer to their dream
  2. Using my knowledge to create tools to help them achieve either one of the two above.

For profession, probably related to:

  1. Marketer
  2. Branding agency
  3. Tech entrepreneur that helps solves health, wealth or relationship issues
  4. A speaker or keynote speaker that helps non-tech people to get to know how to use tech or tools to help their life.
  5. Sales people (yea.. i know what most people think but they are the key person to get our products to the people... all depends on how the person sell)

Well.. there're a lot but for now that is all in my mind.

Collapse
 
nandinishinduja profile image
Nandini S Hinduja

yes, there are endless possibilities! Thanks for your comment, it was very insightful!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Meaningful jobs for me definitely involve helping create work for others. So an entrepreneur who hopes to create at least a few jobs for other people that they like and help them find meaning as well.

Collapse
 
nandinishinduja profile image
Nandini S Hinduja

great!

Collapse
 
chucktomasi profile image
Chuck Tomasi

My motivating/steering criteria for the last decade or so have been:

  • I get to do what I love
  • The organization finds value in what I do and the ideas I bring
  • I make a positive impact on people's lives
  • I continue to learn and grown while sharing my (old and new) knowledge

For this reason, I think I'm in the perfect place right now as a Sr. Developer Advocate. After re-reading my list, a Doctor or Teacher/Professor/Instructor could fit that list too.

Collapse
 
nandinishinduja profile image
Nandini S Hinduja

yes! great list!