DEV Community

Cover image for Starting Out at 38
Naresh Meetei
Naresh Meetei

Posted on

Starting Out at 38

Hey guys, I'm 38 and just started this journey of coding.

In my 10+ years of weaving through art and design, I stumbled upon a new medium of creating art—coding.

Yes, to me, this is another medium of art.

Stepping into this new adventurous journey is like diving into a whole new world of creation.

This is my easier path, my shortcut to connect with the best and the brightest people.

Easier than going out there and trying to find them myself.

As I grapple with syntax and algorithms, I realize this new medium is my golden ticket to reaching my goals.

A new canvas, a digital palette where every line of code is like a brush stroke and a way to craft something impactful.

I'm letting my mistakes, learnings, hard work and small achievements be the guiding light.

Learning this new medium is like unlocking a whole new world of creativity for me.

This is going to be the most adventurous journey of my life.

I'm stoked AF!

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
crazycga profile image
James

As an artist, no matter what you're working on, be it a database or a small program, I encourage you to think of data abstractly in terms of its SHAPE rather than its CONTENT. I try to teach people that when they work for me, but it is a difficult concept to convey. But to a coder the shape of the data can be more important than the content because ultimately we reshape it for our purposes.

Enjoy this trip. If you "get" what I just said you're in for a wild ride when you realize the difference between coding and art is very small.

Collapse
 
miketalbot profile image
Mike Talbot ⭐

^^^ This. 100% this.

Collapse
 
miketalbot profile image
Mike Talbot ⭐

Programming languages are like the medium you choose, oils, pencil, water colour, c#, Javascript :) Working with each one requires different skills and practice, and perhaps you'll prefer one over another.

I agree that programming is art, whatever medium we use, we are trying to create something deeper, something that emerges from the syntax.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Never too late, all your prior experience will pay off!

Collapse
 
martinkr profile image
Martin Krause

Shameless plug, but I wrote a book that might interest you:
Modern Full Stack development, which will be published by No Stach Press soon. It's an easy, hands-on introduction to creating web applications with Next.js, MongoDB and Mongoose for beginners like you!

Collapse
 
emurrell profile image
Eric Murrell

Congratulations, and best of luck to you. I too transitioned into tech in my late thirties. All of your soft skills are your bread and butter. Keep learning, building, and putting yourself out there.
Cheers 🖖

Collapse
 
prsaya profile image
Prasad Saya

Programming can also be creative, yes.

Collapse
 
michaelsynan profile image
Michael Synan

Good luck man if you need anything hit me up!

linkedin.com/in/hellomichaelsynan/

Collapse
 
pinky057 profile image
ishrat

Greetings and best wishes!

Collapse
 
khairunnisaas profile image
Khairunnisaas

Welcome to programming world!

for me... creating art through code is very awesome. i hope i could make art through coding someday

Collapse
 
natescode profile image
Nathan Hedglin

Welcome! As you probably know the best teacher is experience. Have fun!