DEV Community

Cover image for What do you wish you were better at?
Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at iamdeveloper.com

What do you wish you were better at?

I'm sure all of us wish we were better at certain things regardless of where we are in our careers. What do you wish you knew better? Post your answers in the comments.

Some people new to the platform may not be aware, but there is a mentorship program that you can sign up for. You can be a mentor, a mentee or both.

I'm new to Ruby, so I'm going to be requesting a Ruby mentor.

What about you?

Top comments (21)

Collapse
 
bluebird1 profile image
bluebird

I want to learn open source skills. (The programming language is not a problem for me.) My performance in the open source community does not satisfy me. I hope to find an experienced tutor.

Collapse
 
lagsurfer profile image
Barney

that is so me

Collapse
 
bluebird1 profile image
bluebird

Hello guy.Make friends?

Thread Thread
 
lagsurfer profile image
Barney

Okay be friendz

Thread Thread
 
bluebird1 profile image
bluebird

Do you use some social networking sites? Like twitter or fackbook.sorry, I hope my social skills are as good as software skills.

Thread Thread
 
lagsurfer profile image
Barney • Edited

haha :D yeah sure add me on Twitter: SovietSenpai23

Thread Thread
 
bluebird1 profile image
bluebird

:D 404

Thread Thread
 
lagsurfer profile image
Barney

you should try now :P

Collapse
 
jackharner profile image
Jack Harner 🚀

The ability to stick through a project/idea all the way to the end. I have trouble where I'll come up with a decent idea for a project, get all fired up about it and then eventually fizzle out when the next idea pops up.

Writing cleaner CSS/SCSS. I always start out with the best of intentions, splitting code into stubs _header.scss, "using" BEM (sort of), etc. but by about the middle of any given project it feels like I'm overriding a lot of stuff that I shouldn't. Or I'll have something that needs to get modified, but the changes wouldn't really fit in any of the files I already have, but isn't really worth putting into it's own file, so I end up just sticking it somewhere and that doesn't feel great.

Managing git better. Looking through my commit history, a lot of them are just "stuff" "wtf" "lots of shit" etc. I pretty much only work by myself so my repos are mostly just used as offsite backups.

Collapse
 
tailcall profile image
Maria Zaitseva

I have pretty bad soft skills and can be quite anxious at times when talking to people. Working on it though.

Collapse
 
amritkdk profile image
Amrit Khadka

I think it's not matter choosing languages in Software Field. I guess we have to adapt everything according to project. What important thing for me is how to solve every single problems. and I guess it can't be same each and others what do we love in languages. As for me, I do found in Design and development, I do passion in #javascript, #html, #css, #ReactJs, #Nodejs ...

Collapse
 
puritanic profile image
Darkø Tasevski • Edited

Math & UI design 😂
Also, I think that my social/soft skills can be a lot better (damn you social anxiety).

Collapse
 
joshichinmay profile image
Chinmay Joshi • Edited

JavaScript. UI development.

Collapse
 
cjbrooks12 profile image
Casey Brooks

Writing thread-safe code. For how long I've been working with Java and Android, I should really know how to safely work with threads by now.

Collapse
 
drbearhands profile image
DrBearhands

Multi-threading is a known hornet's nest. That's one reason people find pure or linearly typed languages interesting.

Collapse
 
ardennl profile image
Arden de Raaij

Math

Collapse
 
mxl profile image
Maria Boldyreva

+1

Collapse
 
adhocore profile image
Jitendra

basically everything :)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

You should definitely sign up for the Mentorship program. ;)

Collapse
 
raidzen10 profile image
Gerade Geldenhuys

UI development.

My stuff just doesn't look "pretty".

Collapse
 
shuv1824 profile image
Shah Nawaz Shuvo

JavaScript and UI Design