DEV Community

Cover image for Beyond Content Creation: How Open Source Contributions Can Help You Get Noticed
BekahHW for OpenSauced

Posted on

Beyond Content Creation: How Open Source Contributions Can Help You Get Noticed

I know, I know. It’s kind of ironic to create content about not needing to create content to get noticed. In recent years, there’s been a big push to have new developers create content to “get noticed.” But here’s the thing, creating content might feel daunting and discouraging for those who don't have the time or resources to create content regularly or it might take away from making progress in deepening your coding skills. The good news is that there are other ways to get noticed without relying solely on content creation, and in today’s post we’re going to talk about using open source to get noticed.

How to Get Noticed

What if instead of spending hours a week creating content, you spent that time working on contributing to open source? It doesn't have to be an issue that majorly impacts a code base. Start where you’re comfortable; get an understanding of open source, working with other teams, communicating, looking at larger code bases, and understanding how code works.

Benefits of Contributing to Open Source

  • Visibility. At the very least, you're going to be noticed by the people who are on that team and you’ll be building in public. There will be a public record of how you communicate with others, approach the issue, and of how you contributed.
  • Mentorship. During that process, you might find that you’re able to receive mentorship from the maintainers as you work through the issue. There are also many communities out there that provide support for new contributors.
  • Experience. You’ll grow as you work through the issue, likely receive feedback that you’ll need to implement before your PR is merged in, and you’ll demonstrate your ability to communicate with a team.

People will remember the way you communicate your code and how you communicate with the team. In some instances, these interactions have led to people being shortlisted as potential hires or even being invited to interview.

I once worked with a woman who told me that she really wanted to work for a particular company that had a really rigorous interview process that she knew she couldn’t pass. Instead, she put her time into making contributions to their codebase, betting that if she could prove herself that they’d let her bypass the interview process. That bet paid off. And she's not the only one it's paid off for.

Tweet from @Dayhaysoos: My last job and current reached out to me because of my open source work 🫡

Build a Strong Resume

According to Indeed.com, hiring managers look at resumes for 6-7 seconds on average. How does your resume compare to other candidates who have pursued similar learning experiences? Do you all have the same bootcamp projects? Have you all listed the same classes? Something that you can include on your resume that no one else can is your open source experience.

People often ask, “How do I get experience as a software engineer if no one will hire me?” That’s a valid and frustrating question. Open source contributions are one way to get experience. I recently talked to a hiring manager who said, because of the competition for early career roles, the best way to get a job is to become a mid-level developer. There are projects out there that will challenge you to learn and grow as part of the process. It is doable to hit that next career level through contributing.

Tweet from @patak_dev: 👋 @stackblitz hired me because of my OS contributions to Vite, to ensure I could continue to help maintain the project long term

Build Your Network

There are more developers who are off social media than are on social media for tech. So if you’re following Tech Twitter, for example, you’re only seeing a small percentage of those people working in tech. By participating in open source, you’ll find a broader community of people in the industry who you can learn from, participate with, and ultimately grow with. It doesn’t have to start with a PR, either. You can answer questions in the discussion, open an issue, or direct people to resources in the community Discord/Slack/forum.

Tweet from @sandra_rodgers_: I made an open source contribution a few years ago to a little vue package; the owner worked for a startup. He had his CTO reach out to me through linked in. I interviewed and they wanted to hire me but I decided to stay where I was. Great experience though!

In the global market for tech talent, open source provides credibility and an opportunity to showcase real-world work that you’ve done.

Now here’s a little choose-your-own adventure to close out this post. If you want to…

  • learn about how to find a good first issue, I recommend you read Brian Douglas’ Good First Issues Don’t Exist.
  • find a project that’s looking for contributors, check out our Friday posts, Who's looking for open source contributors? Week 38 and Week 39.
  • talk more about open source, we’ve got our Weekly Chat on Discord on Tuesdays at 12p EDT, and our open mic Twitter Space on May 3, 11am EDT—as well as every Wednesday for the next four weeks.
  • show off the open source contributions you’ve already made, add them to our highlight feed, and maybe they’ll even be featured in our next newsletter.

Shoutout to doaortu for their contribution to the GitHub CLI!

Screenshot of OpenSauced Highlight with description for the contribution

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
cynthia-developer profile image
Cynthia Iradukunda

I recently started contributing to open source and its the best decision I have ever made in my career so far. I have gained a lot of experience, mentorship, and recomendation letters from the maintainers. Highly recommend it for newbies.

Collapse
 
darshilparikh2002 profile image
Darshil Parikh

How did you start contributing to open source .....Because I'm totally new bie and don't know from where I should start . Could you please guide me

Collapse
 
bekahhw profile image
BekahHW

Yessss. Check out the links at the bottom of this post: dev.to/opensauced/how-to-contribut.... If you come to our discord session or Twitter space, I can directly answer your questions, but there’s also some great links referenced in the Twitter thread.

Thread Thread
 
darshilparikh2002 profile image
Darshil Parikh

Thank you

Collapse
 
pham1389 profile image
Pham Nguyen

Bạn nên vào github.ở đó bạn sẽ biết thêm nhiều thứ? Chỉ là lời khuyên ?tuỳ thuộc vào bạn

Thread Thread
 
darshilparikh2002 profile image
Darshil Parikh

Được rồi
Cảm ơn

Collapse
 
developerdoran profile image
Jake Doran

I've yet to contribute to an Open Source project, but it is something that I would like to do as I really do see the value in coding publicly. Unfortunately, I am yet to find a suitable opportunity. The issues I've seen have predominantly already been taken care of or are stale and 5+ years old!

Collapse
 
bekahhw profile image
BekahHW

You should come to the Twitter space or one of our weekly chats! I'm happy to help you find a resource or a good fit for what you're looking for.

Collapse
 
opherm profile image
Christopher Auga

I would be glad to hop on this opportunity, I'm new to this and want to get involved

Collapse
 
developerdoran profile image
Jake Doran

I honestly don't use twitter much, what are the weekly chats? :)

Collapse
 
arskeliss profile image
Csokán Pál András

Interesting article and really helpful for me. Cheers

Collapse
 
bekahhw profile image
BekahHW

I'm so glad it was helpful!