DEV Community

Cover image for Devas, an online community for women starting in tech
Pachi 🥑
Pachi 🥑

Posted on

Devas, an online community for women starting in tech

Happy Monday!
Happy New Year!
Happy week :D !!!

Today I am writing to announce my newest project, that I have been working with my sister-in-law: Devas in tech!

Devas is an online community for women starting in tech.
Our goal is to be a safe space for code newbies to get advice, support and motivation.
While our main language will be English, we will have a Portuguese chat, since both me and Karol (SIL) are Brazilians.

Where the idea came from?

Easy. I am a code newbie myself and a woman lol
And sometimes I just feel like it would be nice to have a space to talk with other girls about tech, ask advice or just vent really.
Also, we all know that tech is an industry that needs more women! So supporting those little code babies like myself is a way to make sure they don't give up and stay motivated as they go.

Why the name Devas? Does it mean anything?

Portuguese is a language that put genders in every word. So Devas is a play in Devs, making it female.
We wanted a fun and sort name, that would sound cool in English and Portuguese.
Also, if you just google the word Deva you will find out in Deva is also a name of Divinities in Indian religious, but I won't go into that (but please comment if you are Indian and can teach me more).

Who is welcome to join?

Every women in tech!
While our goal is to support and motivated ladies getting started in tech, the experience of senior devas is welcome!

Right now we are just a Slack community, but we plan in being an online resource and share on our website tips and material to support code newbies.

How do I join?

If you liked the idea and would like to join please visit our website and sign-up: https://www.devas.tech/

And follow us on twitter pleaaaaase?
https://twitter.com/devasintech

Can't wait to e-meet you :)

Have a great week !

XOXO,
P.

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
cjtaylor1990 profile image
Corbin Taylor

I really like this idea. Obviously, I'm not the target audience, but I've volunteered to help organize diversity initiatives in Astrophysics in the past, and think that this is a great idea. Good luck, Pachi!

Collapse
 
pachicodes profile image
Pachi 🥑

Thank you !!
♥️

Collapse
 
meatboy profile image
Meat Boy • Edited

Why this site is limited to only one gender? Women are similar to men in the aspect of engineering and science, it's not about biology or our bodies. Furthermore, they would learn faster while having views from different perspectives not only a small, closed group. Anyway, good luck! 🎉😀

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Good luck with this!

Collapse
 
pachicodes profile image
Pachi 🥑

Thanks Ben!!!

Collapse
 
anupamsahay9 profile image
anupamsahay9

Devas means stating a group of male gods

devis is the right term which you would have used .

anyways its a good initiative to empower women.

Collapse
 
pachicodes profile image
Pachi 🥑

Thank you !

Collapse
 
avasconcelos114 profile image
Andre Vasconcelos

I thought the name was a wordplay with the word "Divas"

Nonetheless, this is a cool initiative and I wish y'all the best

Collapse
 
pachicodes profile image
Pachi 🥑

Thank you 🥰

Collapse
 
nikema profile image
Nikema

Go Pachi! I'm going to go follow now.

Collapse
 
pachicodes profile image
Pachi 🥑

Thank you !!! 🥰