DEV Community

Cover image for Typper 💻🎮, (the beginning of) a typing game [v0.2.0-beta]
Patrícia Pereira
Patrícia Pereira

Posted on

Typper 💻🎮, (the beginning of) a typing game [v0.2.0-beta]

🎉 Introducing Typper, a simple typing game where our hero is a Ninja fighting off a never ending hoard of Zombies. 🎉

Typper is still in an early stage, there are many features and improvements to come that will make everything more interesting!

Give it a try, have fun and feel free to reach out and give feedback 📝 or report a bug ⭕️ (I am sure there are a few).

🎮 PLAY 🎮

Remarks

  • Typper is being developed using React. It is not the obvious approach to building a web-based game, but I wanted to familiarize myself with the new Hooks API, so 🙆.
  • I did not use any library for the animations (sprites, object movement, collision detection, ...). I know it would have saved me a lot of work, but I wanted to try and use the Web Animations API.

PatricePeartree @ Twitter

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
quinncuatro profile image
Henry Quinn

Just getting a blank white page in Firefox. :/

Collapse
 
patricepeartree profile image
Patrícia Pereira

Hi Henry, which OS and Firefox version are you using?

Collapse
 
quinncuatro profile image
Henry Quinn

macOS Mojave Version 10.14.6
Firefox 81.0

Sorry! I usually try to provide people with that info when I submit bugs! Works on Windows Firefox, though!

Thread Thread
 
patricepeartree profile image
Patrícia Pereira

Okay, I'll check it out, thanks for letting me know!

Collapse
 
joelnet profile image
JavaScript Joel

window.firebase.analytics is not a function maybe it's my adblock?

Collapse
 
emanuelhfarias profile image
Emanuel H. Farias

same here, I'm using Brave Browser

Collapse
 
patricepeartree profile image
Patrícia Pereira

Yes, the Firebase Analytics script is being blocked. You could lower the shields for it, but I just added anyway a fallback for the game to run without being able to log events to Firebase Analytics 👍 Thanks for letting me know.

Thread Thread
 
joelnet profile image
JavaScript Joel

Got it working now! Looks great!

Collapse
 
seanmclem profile image
Seanmclem • Edited

I love it! It's like The Typing of the Dead, but much easier to play anywhere you want. I look forward to more updates

Collapse
 
patricepeartree profile image
Patrícia Pereira

Thanks! It's a side project, still quite simple, but I do hope to grow it in my free time.