DEV Community

Cover image for Day 30: Swift macOS password manager for people who hate the cloud
Sean Walker
Sean Walker

Posted on

Day 30: Swift macOS password manager for people who hate the cloud

<- For Day 29 go here

πŸ“… 01/29/2019
πŸš€ 13 hours until launch 🀞
πŸ”₯ 29 day streak
πŸ’° $5.00 price
πŸ€‘ $0 revenue
πŸ“ˆ 0 customers
⌚️ 52 hours spent
😭 1 Rewrite
πŸ›¬ 1 Lander with Source
πŸ’» 114 files changed, 250127 insertions(+), 559 deletions(-)
🏁 Today's goal: Submit to app store for the third time. Finish lander. Submit to product hunt

11:52 AM
Got rejected from the app store again, here's the reason

No surprise there, this is my first mac app. There were a few other things like not being able to tab through the text fields, which I thought was interesting.

Submitting to the app store probably isn't going to happen by tomorrow. So I signed up for devmate something I didn't really want to do, but if I want to even have a chance at launching tomorrow morning at 12 AM PST, I'm going to have take some drastic measures. Let's see how fast I can integrate their SDK in and set up payments 😬 after work.

5:55 PM
I got paddle working on a notarized version of the binary. It actually worked when Alisha downloaded it and installed it. I CANT BELIEVE IT. A week's worth of work over the span of a month and I actually have a decent password manager that I wrote from Xcode > New Project.

The feeling is incredible. I honestly could care less about the launch. It's just great to finally complete a very tiny version of something in the timeframe I set and have it work. πŸ’ͺ

I can probably make any piece of software given enough days… I could probably do ANYTHING given enough days. Wait.

I don't want to get ahead of myself.

I still need to create a bunch of promo stuff for product hunt before 1 AM and I still need to get the lander in order, but other than that, the very first version of allyourpasswords is done. So many features I want to add, not to mention an iOS companion app so I can truly be free of my current password manager.

Turns out I didn't finish the lander, but it's good enough to launch!

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
defman profile image
Sergey Kislyakov

Looks nice, but you call it open source yet I don't see any source. Are you going to open-source the app on the release?

Collapse
 
swlkr profile image
Sean Walker

I take that back, it's open source now github.com/swlkr/allyourpasswords

Collapse
 
swlkr profile image
Sean Walker

I am going to open source it in about 12 hours

Collapse
 
lorismaz profile image
Loris Maz

Good luck πŸ‘πŸ‘

Collapse
 
swlkr profile image
Sean Walker

thanks! i’m going to need it πŸ™

Collapse
 
maniflames profile image
Maniflames

You got this, you're super close!

Collapse
 
swlkr profile image
Sean Walker

🏁