DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v105

Hippo Hello There

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (278)

Collapse
 
fajarsiddiq profile image
Fajar Siddiq

Hey I'm Fajar Siddiq from Singapore, i'm learning JAMstack currently! ;) fun fact: professional yo-yo player

Collapse
 
seemcat profile image
Maricris Bonzo

Hi Fajar 🙋🏻‍♀️. Ooh. How does one become a professional yo-yo player?!

Collapse
 
funkiefresh profile image
Funkie Fresh

how did you work on using your off hand to start doing the 2 hand tricks?

Collapse
 
fajarsiddiq profile image
Fajar Siddiq

2 hand tricks - you can practice one by one, once you're comfortable with it then you can do both

Collapse
 
taitran65856347 profile image
Tai Tran

Love to hear that 😍

Collapse
 
michelledev3 profile image
michelledev

Hi Fajar

Collapse
 
fajarsiddiq profile image
Fajar Siddiq

hey!

Thread Thread
 
michelledev3 profile image
michelledev

How's it going Fajar, I need some help, can you share my article about angular 12 --- i have no followers ;(

dev.to/michelledev3/angular-12-and...

Collapse
 
mainstreetswagger profile image
mainstreetswagger

hmm.. haven't known jamstack yet.

Collapse
 
aanuoluwap profile image
Aanuoluwap

Hello

Collapse
 
whiletrace profile image
Trace Harris

Hello Everyone!! My name is Trace! I am an early career developer. Looking for my first paid position. I am currently comfortable with Python, related web frameworks, CSS, and HTML. I have worked in Javascript and the React library, though it has been some time, I am looking to refresh those skills. I am Looking to increase my language knowledge this year and will endeavor to learn Java. I have some project ideas I believe that ML and Natural Language Processing would be the best paradigms to use, though I need to do more research. I am an interest in AR/VR and mobile development. I currently looking to improve my problem solving skill set, as well as foundations in Algorithms, data-structures. Currently volunteering my time and skill set to Code for PDX

Collapse
 
danitcodes profile image
Danielle Thompson

Hey, Trace!

I'm pulling up Code for PDX now, but I'm also in the area and would love to find ways to invest in and volunteer with my community with my newly acquired skill set (once I'm out of coding boot camp schedule). I'd love to hear more about your experience with them, how you've been volunteering your time with them, and any other local orgs you've worked with on a volunteer basis :)

Algorithms and data-structures are on my learning list, too, once we've gotten through a React module in my school!

Hope you're well!

Collapse
 
jessenieman profile image
Jesse L Nieman

Hi Trace! Welcome!

Sounds like you have a lot of cool stuff going on. Python is a great language. That's the first one I learned!

Best of luck!

Collapse
 
burak_emmiler profile image
Burak Emmiler

Hello Trace, welcome!
You look so curious about "so much" thing.

More power to you!..

Collapse
 
drdynscript profile image
Philippe De Pauw - Waterschoot

Greatings Earthlings 🖖

I am Philippe aka drdynscript living in Ghent (Belgium). I am teamleader in the educational programma "Associate Degree in Computer Programming". I am also teaching Front-end, JAMStack and Full-Stack JavaScript Development.

I love open source, open data, APIs, WebGL, WebXR, Machine Learning, Internet of Things ... Programming in JavaScript, PHP, .NET (C#), Python and integrating common frameworks, such as React, Vue, Express, Laravel ...

I am looking forward to read interesting posts, share some dev-stuff, participating in Hackathons, expanding my skills set (Glitter, Svelte ...) ...

I like graphics love programming make creative things.

Collapse
 
cooljoebob64 profile image
Joshua Luppes

Greetings, and welcome!! I think Machine Learning is awesome, have you done any cool projects with that so far?

Collapse
 
reyhaynes profile image
Reinaldo Haynes • Edited

Hey everyone, long time Frontend/App developer, new'ish to DevTo (I've read my fair share of articles here).

I speak pretty fluent Javascript, along with frameworks within that ecosystem.
While I'm fairly good with React Native, I'm currently learning Dart/Flutter, SwiftUI & Kotlin to weigh out my options for the best way to create my startup's MVP app.

Looking forward to spreading some of my accumulated knowledge working with startups as well as large corporations as a developer, brush up on my technical skills, and writing updates on creating starting a Startup as a Technical Co-founder.

Fun Fact: I accidentally got into development after Lehman Brothers went down during the '08 financial crisis.

If you want to talk, feel free to hit me up.

Collapse
 
andersbjorkland profile image
Anders Björkland

Hi Reinaldo! I'd love to read about your experiences. I'm about to join a startup and would be interested to read about other people's experiences of it.

Collapse
 
romfrolov profile image
Roman Frolov

Hey, Reinaldo! 👋

Collapse
 
hamburgerbunz profile image
Alejandro Fernandez

hey everyone! hope you're safe and also you're loved ones. just passing by saying hi and now byee :F

my expectations using dev.to are uhm, idk. i have a huge passion in computers and web tech and all that stuff in between and so yeah. i like being strange and silly. i find it weird that my definition of strange and silly is/isnt yours :O but thats also cool lol

k bye

Collapse
 
guumee profile image
Guzel Murtazina

hey you're funny

Collapse
 
hamburgerbunz profile image
Alejandro Fernandez

😅 thanks

Hope you had a great New Years. If you didn’t, don’t worry. Keep being awesome 🙌

Thread Thread
 
guumee profile image
Guzel Murtazina

I'm not worried)) I didn't even celebrate it :D

Collapse
 
siriusbl4ck profile image
Saurav Kale • Edited

Hello, I am Saurav from India. I'm a second year electronics engineering student, trying to learn web and app development to be able to pursue software roles, and trying to do some Leetcode everyday. Any guidance from EE's who made the switch to software dev would be highly appreciated!
The thing i love most about dev is how one can make things you wish existed yourself.

Collapse
 
acoh3n profile image
Arik

Welcome Saurav! Super happy to have you here. Good luck in your journey!

Collapse
 
ajahbenjamin8 profile image
AJ_Benjamin

We are in this together man, though I'm mechanical and second year as well

Collapse
 
siriusbl4ck profile image
Saurav Kale • Edited

Cheers, dude!
I think the hardest part is understanding the intermediate level concepts like Greedy, DP, etc. The dev parts are amazing, and more about just how much time you spend on it. But these "interview prep" things are a bit more tricky. The grind is quite real. I'm at this "plateau" right now in the intermediate level stuff.

Collapse
 
zealberth profile image
Alberth Florêncio

Hi!
I'm Alberth Florêncio, from Fortaleza (Brazil).
I'm a python enthusiast and data scientist (with a focus on machine learning algorithms).
Nowadays I'm studying big data with spark and I want to study deep learning models.

Collapse
 
otumianempire profile image
Michael Otu

Welcome, Alberth. Good luck with your studies.

Collapse
 
zealberth profile image
Alberth Florêncio

Thanks!

Collapse
 
zhengyun01 profile image
Zheng Yun

new to here. May us a bright future.

Collapse
 
wholesomedonut profile image
donut

Welcome!

Collapse
 
plakhlani profile image
Prashant Lakhlani

Hi, 🤝

I'm an enthusiastic technology geek who loves to develop modern and innovative software for businesses. I'm having 15 years of real-life experience building software for many industries.

I'm an expert developer and work with Microsoft SharePoint (2010/2013/2016/2019/Online), .Net (Framework 1.1, 2.0, 3.5, 4.5, 5.0), and .Net Core with C# and VB.NET. I am also good with React, Angular, and Typescript. I use Boostrap and material-ui for react for the design system and have a good basic understanding to develop appealing modern UX.

I'm passionate about solving business problems using technology and developed good proficiency in delivering innovative business solutions.

Looking forward to contributing and learning from all of you!

Collapse
 
chrisfokz profile image
chrisfokz

Hi All, my name is Chris. I've always had a passion for programming, but life took me on another path. Dedicating my free time now to pick it up again, interested in web development, working through a .net certificate at the moment and self teaching myself PHP. Hoping that one day I can level up enough to switch careers to my original passion!

Collapse
 
gagocarrilloedgar profile image
Edgar Gago Carrillo

Hi Everyone Edgar here, 23 years old from Barcelona working on a project called Nuwe.io to improve the way tech talent progress professionally. Currently improving my Fullstack JS skills and finishing a Master in Aerospace engineering.

Nice to meet you all !!

Collapse
 
romfrolov profile image
Roman Frolov

Hi, everyone!

My name is Roman. I'm from Saint Petersburg, Russia. I work at Codesphere as a Software Engineer. I've been working in a startup scene for almost 3 years with many exciting cutting-edge technologies. Looking forward to connect with the amazing DEV community!

Fun fact: I wrote my first program at 21, just a few years ago. :)

Collapse
 
cmlandaeta profile image
cmlandaeta • Edited

Hola soy Carlos, llegué acá xq m apasiona la VoIP y asterisk. Quisiera ser mi propia pbx y módulo de Call Center. Quisiera hacerla con vue, y nodejs, pero apenas aprendo a programar quiero aprender javascript primero. Cómo me podrían ayudar para aprender javascript? Soy administrador de servidores Linux y he hecho script fabulosos, he visto unos cursos online de fundamentos de javascript y programación pero no han dado en el clavo, los instructores van directos hacer cosas que no se donde la sacan, entiendo que debemos investigar por nuestro propio medio, de eso trata este mundo tecnologíco, pero no sé donde buscar para documentar bien, por eso llegué a dev.to por que me pareció una comunidad muy buena, espero pueden ayudarme y pls, que no sean ejercicios de carritos de ventas, blog y esas cosas repetidas, se que hay cosas más interesantes.

Collapse
 
danitcodes profile image
Danielle Thompson

Hey, all! Brand new to DEV, currently a web & mobile development student at Epicodus Coding School after making a career pivot from bar & events management. (Fun facts - yes, I make a mean beverage, and throw a kick*ss party in a non-covid world.)

As I'm getting into the second half of my school's learning materials, and heading ever-faster to an internship and then - gasp! - the real world again, I'm looking for more community in the industry.

Currently learning - in class: C#, MySQL, PHP. Out of class - Adobe Photoshop & XD, Sass. Attached is a recent project I'm working on while on winter break. The image is a digital painting in Photoshop - my very first foray with the application, in fact. I'm taking the image and using it as a backdrop for a web application that has animated weather elements like snow, clouds, and twinkling stars. :) Link with the finished project on GitHub soon!

Happy to be here, and happy new year, all!

Cheers!

Collapse
 
cryptoglitch profile image
Paloma G. • Edited

print "Hello, internet friends!"

My name is Scythe, I am new to the community however my goal currently is to learn SQL and Java basics. I hope to contribute insightful or useful information on here.
I like playing games (PC currently), art, and whatever piques my curiosity.

My career goal is in cybersecurity (Infosec, DFIR, pen testing) and at the moment I am studying for my Security+ certification.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.