DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v194

A cat is freaking out, its body spinning around wildly. Suddenly, it lands in a comical pose where it seems to be laid back and relaxed, while the word "Sup." appears on screen

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (126)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Heyo peoples! 👋 Welcome to DEV and nice to meet ya.

If ya have any questions about the community, the platform, whatever else, feel free to hit me up!

cartoon handshake with a fist bump that explodes into clouds and then forms a heart

Collapse
 
sebastianwis profile image
sebastianwis

Hi Michael,
thanks for helping out! :)
Is there a place where I can ask for feedback about my project?

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Heyo Sebastian,

No probs, I'd be happy to help! And this is a great question.

I think the best way to do this would be to write a short post that links to your project & gives some basic info on what it's all about, then end your post by asking readers for feedback. Something like:

I hope you enjoyed learning about my project. If you would, please leave me some constructive feedback in the comments!

Other suggestions:

  • you have the ability to add 4 tags to your post — use them all so that your post is more likely to be seen! Of course, make sure to use tags that fit the topic of your post
  • on the tag note, I'd recommend using the tags #discuss, #showdev, & possibly #help (btw, click into those links to get to each tag's landing page and read through their submission guidelines on the left-hand side to ensure you're following the rules for the tags)
  • let folks know in the title of your post that you're going to be looking for feedback so that they know what they're getting into! You could title it something like "Looking for Feedback on My Personal Project" or "Feedback Wanted: I'm Creating X" (X being the name of your project"
  • if your project is on GitHub, you can link to the repo using embeds which just looks nice. 😀

These are some of the things that I think I'd do if I was in your shoes. If you have any questions about this, don't hesitate to hit me back up!

Collapse
 
sophieemmly profile image
Sophie Emmly

Your collection of landing pages is impressive. We will provide you with a good mattress cover that will provide your body with the necessary cushioning and support, as well as

How to make a firm mattress softer? Silk and Snow Toppers could be the best option to make your mattress soft. I believe these are the perfect lead-generation landing pages. Could we use it on the WordPress website? Do I need to hire a developer to use it? Please let me know so I can make a wise decision. Thanks

Collapse
 
harendra8095 profile image
Harendra Rathore

Thanks for open invitation

Collapse
 
_imightbedele profile image
Bamidele Ajewole

Hello Everyone 👋👋, I just got here.🌚
I am building up my skills as a technical writer and I love using Flutter to develop mobile applications📱
So what brought you here.

Collapse
 
geesilu profile image
Luthira Geesilu

Hello Bamidele!
Welcome to the community!

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Great to meet you. Here to get better at my writing and Web development.

Collapse
 
simonmv74 profile image
Simon

Hi all,
New to coding just started learning Python.
👍

Collapse
 
britnysarver profile image
Britny

Python is one of my favorite languages! I haven't used it in years, but I am re-learning it and re-familiarizing myself with all of its capabilities. How is the learning going so far?

Collapse
 
simonmv74 profile image
Simon

Good so far but a little slow due to work but I keep on trying to squeeze in 30 minutes in my lunch break and in the train but I M enjoying it so far. What do mainly use these days?

Thread Thread
 
britnysarver profile image
Britny

That's good. A little every day is the way to go when busy with work, I think. My current position has me mainly focused on report development in PowerBI and querying data using SQL. But due to my history with Python and the openness of my company allowing me to explore other options and solutions I am trying to get back into Python to test out its capabilities.

Thread Thread
 
simonmv74 profile image
Simon

I am sure you will pick Python again without much issue and shouldn’t take you long as you said you have used it previously and as you work with large data sets already Python will enhance what you already do.

Thread Thread
 
britnysarver profile image
Britny

Thank you for the vote of confidence! It is already feeling familiar but still new as I'm using libraries I haven't previously used. I am excited to keep moving forward and yes that is my hope, that Python can enhance what I am already doing. What languages and programs are you typically using right now?

Thread Thread
 
simonmv74 profile image
Simon

My apologies for the massively delayed response. Just started learning Python 🐍 recently and mainly for package management and automation as something to enhance the MDM offerings with the business, their are a lot smarter people at my company than me, so I am just soaking up as much knowledge as I can and trying not to get overwhelmed. My current idea is to incorporate custom actions with macOS spotlight and as such with my very limited knowledge and experience that is goal.

Thread Thread
 
britnysarver profile image
Britny

No worries at all. We all get busy, I understand. That sounds like it will be a great application and use of Python, it is admirable that you are trying to learn Python to implement that improvement.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome everybody!!

Collapse
 
erichy_dev profile image
riki_dev

Thank ya for the warm welcome.
Hope to be part of de growth in dev.to

Collapse
 
leoromerodev profile image
Leonardo Romero

Hi everyone, I'm Leonardo an old Developer in multiples languages. I'm so exited to begin in dev.to I hope to help us and learn more about us.

See ya

Collapse
 
zigrazor profile image
ZigRazor

Welcome to DEV.to!

If you have any questions about the platform and community or anything about open source feel free to contact me!

Happy Coding!

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

I bet we'd be best friends in the coming days. 😅
I have a ton of questions concerning open source.
I hope that we can connect.

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

Hello friends 😃
How are you doing?

🛀🛌👨🏼‍💻

Collapse
 
britnysarver profile image
Britny

I have joined a Developer Advocacy Program at my job and as part of the program we are working on our technical writing/blogging skills. I am here to learn from all of you and to test my hand at technical writing myself.

Collapse
 
dhabiri profile image
Dhabiri

Hey everyone, I'm excited to join this great community.

Collapse
 
kaviiiiisha profile image
Kavisha Nethmini

Hello Dhabiri!

Collapse
 
candlepeter profile image
Isienyi Paschal Ejike

I am Paschal, I am a frontend developer currently learning React. I seeking to internship to put my skills to use Ina team while developing new ones. I learn with tutorial videos faster than with books.

Collapse
 
fabestah profile image
fabestah

Hello everybody! ❤️
I fell in love with Python and coding in general a few months back and somehow a magical blue text transferred me to here 🧐
Fun fact: I'm an autist, so if I write something weird or slightly offensive in an unempathetic way, please don't feel irritated or provoked by me, I most likely didn't mean it that way 🤓
Nice to meet you all! 😊

Collapse
 
kaviiiiisha profile image
Kavisha Nethmini

Hello!!!

Collapse
 
visualviolet profile image
VisualViolet

I wanted to drop in and say hello! My name is Savannah, but most know me in Slack/GitHub/Discord as VisualViolet. I love to code and work with SQL databases. I'm currently enrolled in a bootcamp through UW and I hope to launch my career as soon as I finish. Nice to meet you all!

Collapse
 
kaviiiiisha profile image
Kavisha Nethmini

Hello Savannah, Welcome to the community!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Hello 👋🏼

And welcome to new members here ! 🎉

Collapse
 
seninkokkodi profile image
Mohamed Senin

Hey

I’m new here👋🏼</>

Collapse
 
opyrusknight profile image
OpyrusKnight

Hello