DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v212

Cartoon door opens up and the words "what up" come out letter by letter

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. πŸ‘‹

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (203)

Collapse
 
sulcalibur profile image
Sul

Hi, designer and (slight) developer here based in Cambridgeshire, UK πŸ‘‹πŸ»

Collapse
 
dsk114u profile image
Daniel Keating

Hello and how goes things

Collapse
 
unanah profile image
unanah

welcome onboard

Collapse
 
laoyan0523 profile image
laoyan0523

Hi Guys, My name is Tony. I come here because I read some blogs that mentioned dev.to. I am a co-founder of a startup company.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Welcome Tony!

Collapse
 
geesilu profile image
Luthira Geesilu

Hello Tony!!

Collapse
 
getnuvo profile image
nuvo

Coool

Collapse
 
p19y profile image
peacelovesubbassunity

Hi Tony ! What kind of startup company are you founding ? Do you have a landing page to share or anything ?

Have a lovely day !

Collapse
 
friqenstein profile image
FriQenstein

Greetings all,
I just joined!

I found this site from a post about the negative aspects of SO, which I am fully familiar with. I wanted/needed a place where open discussions are allowed and the possibility of a result driven response.
There are times when I just get stuck, and after a week or more of a variety of attempts to fix or work around the issue, I need to seek help/guidance for problems that are, usually, specific to what I am doing.

I am looking forward to interacting with this community and hopefully being able to contribute as well.

o/

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Welcome!

Collapse
 
geesilu profile image
Luthira Geesilu

Welcome to the community!!

Collapse
 
zonker profile image
David Nitzsche-Bell

I totally understand your feelings about SO. I'm the same. Some people are not very helpful, if not actively harmful. I try to avoid the place as much as I can. Thank you, ChatGPT! ;)

Collapse
 
nativeit profile image
Stephen Davis

Greetings from Charlotte, NC!

My name is Stephen, I am an experienced consultant and systems administrator.

I am currently doing my best to convince ChatGPT to do all the legwork to integrate Forms.io submission data with a Moodle LMS database. It's been...unproductive, if I'm honest. I will most likely spend twice the amount of time πŸ™„ tweaking my phrasing and looking for ways to improve its code generation than I would simply doing it myself--one of the true hallmarks of an I.T. professional! πŸ€“

Anyone else doing far more work than necessary simply because your innate curiosity and/or hunger for novelty got the best of you? Raise a glass! 🍻


Give me a fast ship, for I am going a long way.

Collapse
 
zonker profile image
David Nitzsche-Bell

you just described my entire programming career.

Collapse
 
developerdocs profile image
Sara Ali

Hi everyone Im Sarah
Human Resources Coordinator Talent
Management Analyst Generalist
Relationship Building Account Management
Data Analysis Turning
data into action to build a thriving company
culture

Collapse
 
kaviiiiisha profile image
Kavisha Nethmini

Hello Sara, welcome to the community!

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

welcome everyone!

Collapse
 
jrking365 profile image
Jean Roger Nigoumi Guiala

helloπŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
kingkunte_ profile image
kingkunte_

Thank you. cheers

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome folks!

Collapse
 
prestonator profile image
preston jenkins

What is up my guy!

Collapse
 
theyasirr profile image
Yasir Rehman

Hi everyone,

I am Yasir Rehman, and I am working as DevOps architect and leading a team of engineers with professional experience over six years. I am glad to be a part of the DEV community and will bring insights and details about DevOps, Platform engineering, cloud native, multi-cloud systems and solution design.

It will be fun to benefit from the great DEV community and will play my part as a contributor.

Collapse
 
jakariyab profile image
jakariya abbas

Welcome to the community

Collapse
 
otacke profile image
Oliver Tacke

Hey everyone!

I earn my daily bread with IT freelancing and I have been lurking on dev.to for a long time but just published my first post :-D

Collapse
 
nativeit profile image
Stephen Davis

Hi Oliver! I've been a freelance IT consultant for the last 8-years. I could probably make more money doing almost anything else with my skills...but I love the self-determination, variety of challenges, and unique relationships I have with my clients. I have found that it takes a rather particular set of skills and personal habits/tendencies for someone to be suited for making a living this way, and I'm glad I discovered that I fit that mould. What kind of services do you provide?

Collapse
 
otacke profile image
Oliver Tacke

Hey, Stephen! I have been freelancing for four years now and I like it a lot. I help clients to make better use of a software called H5P, often by creating custom code, but also by providing strategic consulting.

Collapse
 
unnatijp24 profile image
unnatijp24

Hello Everyone! I am Unnati. I am here to start my journey in Computer Science. Currently, I am in my third year of college. Being a beginner, I would love to collab on any project or hackathon. I would surely appreciate getting into the team.

Collapse
 
__masashi__ profile image
Masashi

Fun fact: I actually live Panipuri (called 'Puchka' where I stay), and asking for extra spicy water is compulsory according to me. Welcome to dev.to btw.

Collapse
 
unnatijp24 profile image
unnatijp24

I am glad to know the puchka lover! We would surely bring something as great as puchka to the community!

Collapse
 
parmesant profile image
parmesant

Heyo!
I am an ML Engineer who is transitioning into an SDE.
What brought me to Dev is Learning in Public. Writing about what one is learning is probably one of the best ways for identifying holes in one's knowledge.
I look forward to interacting with this wonderful community :)

Collapse
 
spanarin profile image
Sergey Panarin • Edited

Hi folks! Happy to be here with you! I have 10+ years of experience building things for web and now I want to share some practical tips for all who want to launch MVPs fast and with less hassle either at startups or corporations.

I think that MVPs must be beautiful, high-converting and easy-to-build.

I research and experiment myself trying to find the best tech to do it and I’ll share my findings with you.

Collapse
 
kingkunte_ profile image
kingkunte_

Hello, community. I want to introduce myself to this new place I like to call home. Could you let me address you all as my new family members? My name is Norbert Wede, and I am here mainly to curve a career in Technical Writing and network with all of you awesome people. I am a web developer majoring in backend development and a recent graduate from the Multimedia University of Kenya. I managed to bag myself a Bachelor's degree in Computer Technology. But as you all know, everything gets scary and confusing after school; I wake up every morning, or sometimes I stay up late contemplating my next move. I am still trying to say I have the accurate answer to this question conclusively, but I am halfway there. By now, I might have started being bland and clichΓ©. Let me not take up more of your time. This was to be welcome to DEV post, not the story of my life, hahaha. I hope I stick around long enough to achieve my two primary goals. Do you remember them? Don't worry; I will list them again.
1) Curve a career in technical writing
2) Network as much as possible with you all.

Thank you all for your time.
Cheers.

Collapse
 
louis_bertson_1124e9cdc59 profile image
Louis Bertson

Welcome guys

Collapse
 
mathubenson profile image
mathubenson

hello guys

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

welcome to the community!