DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v214

a strange kaleidoscopic, mirror view of a dude saying "wassup" to himself

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (187)

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Heyo everyone, welcome to the community! I joined about 2.5 years ago during Hacktoberfest 2020 to blog about a Python open source project I was building at the time and never left :~)

Can't wait to see everyone around! :D

Collapse
 
ant_f_dev profile image
Anthony Fung

Hi! Sounds interesting - what was the project about?

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Hey Anthony! Thanks for asking :D

it was a lightweight Instagram scraping library that abstracted out having to deal with HTML so you could focus on writing clean code i.e. Profile("chris_greening") would scrape my insta (chris_greening) and set followers, number of posts, profile pic URL, and a whole bunch of other data points as attributes. You could also chain that with Post, Hashtag, etc. objects that would do similar things (number of likes, number of comments, etc.) and build a really interesting web of data points

Super useful and I had a lot of fun with it but Instagram started really cracking down on web scraping and it got too difficult to regularly maintain 😅

Thread Thread
 
ant_f_dev profile image
Anthony Fung

Sounds like a tool that could produce some stunning data visualisations! Can I ask why Python? I don't really know much about it so was just trying to broaden my horizons.

Thread Thread
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Lol yeah! I was doing some really neat stuff, it's a bummer the project fell off

And of course! At the time I was really focused on breaking into the data science space (where Python is a hugely popular language) and Python was already my primary language so I just kind of fell into it

Python also has a really rich ecosystem of packages that lent itself well to this particular project and the simple yet elegant syntax aligned perfectly with the philosophy I wanted to build into the package

Thread Thread
 
ant_f_dev profile image
Anthony Fung

That's a shame about the project. Have Instagram's changes made the project non-functional now?

Thread Thread
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Ehhh more or less, last I checked it still partially works but the GET requesting is very naive so Instagram flags the primary functionality very quickly for botting

When I was building it though I figured some folks would have much faster solutions for gathering the HTML so I built the ability to pass just the raw HTML files in and scrape from there instead, I think that still mostly works

Collapse
 
dellamora profile image
Francielle Dellamora

Hi Chris, can you say more or have you published about how we can participate in Hacktoberfest? If you have please send the link (:

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening • Edited

Hey Francielle! :D

It's a fantastic way to get involved with the open source community and develop your personal portfolio/resume - I would say I partially owe my career to Hacktoberfest 2020. I went in a complete newbie to open source, started my own project, and then landed my first steady programming job a couple months later as a direct result of that project!

I haven't personally published anything about Hacktoberfest itself but they've got really great info on the official website each year on how to get involved

Basically you signup with Hacktoberfest on their website each year around October and then between October 1-31 you have to submit at least 4 pull requests to open source projects on GitHub or GitLab (and the pull requests have to be accepted/verified by project maintainers)

The first 40,000 participants to complete the 4 PRs get to choose between receiving a t-shirt or having a tree planted (and then here on DEV you get a badge on your profile as you can see on my profile (I have 2020, 2021, and 2022 😎 )

Let me know if you have any questions, I'm always happy to help :D Maybe this year I'll write a blog post about how to get involved 😎

Thread Thread
 
dellamora profile image
Francielle Dellamora

First of all, thank you very much for the explanation!!! I am very anxious to participate this year and you managed to clarify several doubts that I had

Thread Thread
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Omg of course, anytime!! Please always feel free to reach out for questions/advice

Totally understandable, I was super anxious too - that's actually why I started my own project instead of contributing to an existing one! At least on my own project I was able to learn the basics of open source, git, GitHub, etc. at my own pace without any external pressure

It ended up working out really well because I was able to build a small community of new open source contributors that were in the exact same boat as myself and we all learned on that project together!

I'm super beginner friendly on all my projects - when Hacktoberfest comes around this year (or whenever) please reach out or submit some pull requests if you want! I can help walk you (and anyone else that's interested) through GitHub, pull requesting, etc. it's def easier having someone explain when you're first starting out

Collapse
 
geesilu profile image
Luthira Geesilu

Nice to meet you Chris!

Collapse
 
mbluecoder profile image
Michael B. Hildebrand

Hello everyone! I would like to learn as much as I can about Docker and related material. I love coding!

Collapse
 
andrzejkaras profile image
Andrzej Karaś

For sure you will find here so much usefull content :)

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

That's fantastic Michael, best of luck on your Docker journey!!

Collapse
 
elizabethdebicki profile image
Elizabeth Debicki

Welcome to the community Chris 😀

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Thank you Elizabeth!

Collapse
 
codetodevelop profile image
Code to Develop

hi

Collapse
 
blackmust profile image
must

Hiii #programming peeps, I'm Mustapha - a caffeine-fueled coding machine with a love for android development. When I'm not staring at my screen, you can find me on the hunt for the perfect snack to power my coding adventures. Looking forward to connecting with fellow code enthusiasts! 👨‍💻🚀

Collapse
 
ant_f_dev profile image
Anthony Fung

Hi Mustapha!

Sounds interesting. I don't usually build phone apps, but had to work on a (very light) one once; it was written using React Native. What languages/frameworks do you like best for Android development?

Collapse
 
blackmust profile image
must

React Native is good one but I like flutter.

Thread Thread
 
mrosyidr profile image
mrosyidr

Hi Mustapha!

May I know why you prefer Flutter over React Native? Personally, from your own perspective..

Collapse
 
geesilu profile image
Luthira Geesilu

Welcome to the community!!

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Heyooo Mustapha!

In your opinion what's the best snack for coding?!

Collapse
 
blackmust profile image
must

Hi Chris!!
The best snack for coding is definitely 'chips and queso' because it's a great way to add some "cheesy code" to your programming! Just don't spill any on your keyboard or you might end up with some "cheesy bugs" in your code. ;)

Thread Thread
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

hahaha awwww yeahhhhhh chips and queso is def one of my fave snacks, w a lil bit of hot sauce too? very solid choice

Collapse
 
justplayerde profile image
Justin K.

Welcome to the community Mustapha 😀

Collapse
 
africandev profile image
Alao-Abiodun

Hi devs,

My name is Alao Abiodun, backend engineer, I do technical writing in my free time or open sourcing and take some readings or watching movies for relaxation. I'm super excited to be joining the DEV community. I'm currently learning microservices and DevOps of things. An individuals conscious of the pros and cons when building an application.

I'm glad to be network with other developers, learn new ideas, and collaborate with developers to build projects 🤝

Looking forward to getting to know you all and contributing to this amazing community. 😊

Best regards, 🙏
Alao Abiodun

Collapse
 
ant_f_dev profile image
Anthony Fung

Hi Alao Abiodun!

Do you mostly write about everything, or is there a topic that you particularly focus on?

Collapse
 
africandev profile image
Alao-Abiodun

I write about mostly everything technical articles(how to implement stuff technically), databases, security.

Collapse
 
duncanteege profile image
Duncan Teege

Hi Alao! Welcome to the DEV community. Just out of curiosity, what is your favourite movie ever?

Collapse
 
africandev profile image
Alao-Abiodun

For series: I am going with POWER

Collapse
 
aneeqakhan profile image
Aneeqa Khan

Greetings and a warm welcome to all!
Here is a helpful reference for markdown that you may find valuable in the future.

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Thank you for sharing Aneeqa!

Collapse
 
chroniclesofsam profile image
Samuel Akinremi Damilare

I'm Samuel.

Excited to be a member of this community.

Currently developing my technical writing skills and there's no better way to improve your writing skills than read.

Look forward to learning and sharing with you all.

❤️ &💡

Collapse
 
kaviiiiisha profile image
Kavisha Nethmini

Hello Samuel, you came to the right place. Welcome to the community!!

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Heyo Samuel - excited to have you here!

This is a fantastic place to develop your technical writing skills, can't wait to see what you come up with :D

Collapse
 
unlockyoursound profile image
Christopher Carvalho

Hello there!

Image description

My name is Christopher and I’m very excited to be joining this awesome community. I’ve been following Dev.to along my coding journey, so it’s a big day for me to finally come and say hello!

I’m obsessed with making apps with React and Django Rest Framework atm. I got into this because I’m building a new music platform (watch out, Spotify!) but I also find myself with a ton of smaller projects where I’m also using this stack. I just love it!

For my main gig, I work in the music industry, doing content writing, lecturing, and artist services. You can learn more about that here.

When I'm not working and/or coding, I like to go on walks and travel with my fiancé. We live in a nice little part of London called Dulwich but we really like to get out of the smoke every so often!

One of my goals this year is to get an issue posted on one of my repos and another is to have a PR merged into a someone else’s project.

If you’re interested in connecting with me, here is my personal website (made in React and DRF), and here is a link to my Github profile.

Looking forward to connecting with fellow developers here!

Cheers,
Christopher

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Heyo fellow Christopher :~) welcome to the community!

Collapse
 
unlockyoursound profile image
Christopher Carvalho

Hello name friend!

Collapse
 
inibambam profile image
Bambam

Hi guys !

I'm thrilled to be joining the DEV community. I'm a biochemistry student but i have a passion for coding and maybe ill try to look for ways to make the industry more digital and connected.
I'm always on the lookout for ways to streamline my workflow and increase my productivity, so if you have any tips or tricks you'd like to share, I'd love to hear them!
It's nice to be here

Collapse
 
manojlingala profile image
manojlingala

Hello, everyone!

My name is Manoj, and I'm a Senior Dev with a deep interest in Microservices and building scalable applications using industry best practices. With over 10 years of experience in the development industry, I'm always on the lookout for new ways to learn and grow, and I'm currently exploring the world of GO.

I'm thrilled to join the Dev.to community, where I hope to share my knowledge and connect with fellow developers who share my passion for cutting-edge technology. In my free time, you can often find me honing my ping pong skills.

Looking forward to getting to know you all!

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Heyo Manoj - glad to have you here, thanks for coming to share your knowledge! Can't wait to see your articles around :D

Collapse
 
manojlingala profile image
manojlingala

thanks @chrisgreening

I have already started with my articles
dev.to/manojlingala

Collapse
 
duncanteege profile image
Duncan Teege

Hi all! After lurking around for a long time, finally decided to jump in the cold water and put myself out there by writing articles about NextJS, React, JavaScript and even HTML, CSS and more. Soon I'll even be creating YouTube tutorials. Already having a lot of fun with it!

Collapse
 
sergio_montes profile image
Sérgio R. Montes

Hello everyone, I'm Sergio, 45 years old.
I have worked for 20 years with advertising, in the creative area.
In 2019, I ended up migrating to UX, and in the last months I've been doing a lot of design system.

And in the last two, I see the developer giving life to screens etc....
I thought it was magical, with a magic touch he gave life to something that was just a screen without code, I found it amazing!

So today I joined your community, I intend to become a front end developer.

I'm fully aware that it won't be easy, but I'm willing to try, if it will work or not, only time will tell!

Pleasure****

Collapse
 
dmytrolitvinov profile image
Dmytro Litvinov

Hello from 🇺🇦.
I remember how excited I was to join the community back in 2018. I had just written a post promoting my GitHub repo, awesome-flake8-extensions, and I couldn't wait to connect with others who shared my passion for software development, coding, and design.

Now, as I feel a renewed energy to create more content, I've decided to rebuild my website. This will allow me to share my insights and expertise with others in the community. I'll be offering practical tips and advice on how to become a better developer, with a particular focus on Python/Django for the backend.

I'm thrilled at the prospect of being able to help others develop their skills and knowledge in this exciting field. And with my new website, I'll have a platform to showcase all of the valuable content that I create.

I'm looking forward to connecting with even more like-minded individuals in the community, and I'm excited to see where this journey takes me. I'm committed to making a significant impact in the world of software development, and I can't wait to get started.

Collapse
 
vineet_codes profile image
Vineet 🦉

Hello 👋 , Myself Vineet ☺️ From India 🇮🇳
An Aspiring fronted developer and designer
My Goals to get better at skills , and help other people to make them better as better developer
I joint Dev Community to explore and seek knowledge from the other experience developers around the world 🌎

Happy To help ☺️

Collapse
 
sarahsquyres profile image
Sarah Squyres

Hello all!!

I'm currently enrolled in a coding bootcamp through University of Texas San Antonio. I am making a career switch from nursing (burnout).

I am very excited to join this awesome community! Although I am starting from ground zero, AI is very intriguing to me. I am curious to learn more about how AI can be used as a tool to boost productivity and improve workflow.

Well anyway, thanks for reading! See you all later!!!

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Heyo Sarah that's awesome, welcome to the community!!!

One of my best friends career-switched into tech through a bootcamp and she landed a great job working as a full stack engineer at a fairly large company

Hard work and consistency, you got this!! Best of luck on your journey :D

Collapse
 
sarahsquyres profile image
Sarah Squyres

That's awesome! It's nice to know there's hope for a newbie lol

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome everyone! I encourage anyone who just joined to find a post they found useful, and say thank you to the author. It goes a long way!

Collapse
 
samurairecruiter profile image
Samurai Recruiter

thank you and looking forward to giving back!

Collapse
 
gerbertrf profile image
Robert Gerbert

I am a long time ham radio guy. Callsign. KY4RG. Look me up on QRZ.com.
I'm learning Python/Django in order to write logging apps for hams, among others. I use digital radios, DMR and D-STAR.
Django cheat sheets are really helpful to point you to what you need to do next. It's not all that easy, but it's fun. Working through trace backs is a challenge.

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Heyo Robert that's a super cool application!

I worked as a DJ/program director at a college FM station in NY and by the end of my time there I had started using Python for crunching raw Nielsen listenership reports into useful data visualizations for the station

Obv different than writing logging apps for ham radios but Python is a fantastically versatile language for hacking projects like this and it's a heck of a lot of fun - I'm excited to see what you come up with!!!