DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v43

whale hello

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. πŸ‘‹

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (1019)

Collapse
 
eldersam profile image
Elder Samuel

Hello there. I'm new here, and I hope to contribute with you (with this fantastic community).

Collapse
 
vaidehi2000 profile image
Vaidehi Vaishnav

Hello CommunityπŸ˜„!!!

Collapse
 
rauleburro profile image
Mur

Hi!!!

Thread Thread
 
bertilmuth profile image
Bertil Muth

Hi! Welcome to the dev.to community.

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Hello! πŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
sunnypaul393 profile image
Sunny Paul

Hi

Collapse
 
sanojkumaroad profile image
Sanoj Kumar

Hi Vaidehi

Collapse
 
donald24ever profile image
Eyituoyo Donald Okegbe

Hello

Collapse
 
webart20 profile image
web art

Hi!

Collapse
 
arca profile image
Ari Cahyono

Hi πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
momobarro profile image
momo-barro

Hello Vaidehi. Are you the superstar from the soap opera? lol!

Collapse
 
icaropnbr profile image
icaropnbr

Hello there!

Collapse
 
ssjvirtually profile image
Shashi_Jakka

hello vaidehi vaishnavi

Collapse
 
marlonx19 profile image
Marlon Englemam

Welcome, Samuel! I'm sure you're gonna love it here! Feel free to contribute as much as you can!

Collapse
 
antoinega profile image
Antoine

Warm Welcome !

Collapse
 
aashifahamed profile image
Aashif Ahamed

hello whatsup

Collapse
 
momobarro profile image
momo-barro

Yup I believe so I'm here to.

Collapse
 
gubanovigor profile image
GubanovIgor

Hi, all!

Collapse
 
nayaknavin profile image
Navin Nayak

Hi

Collapse
 
aliabdelrahman74 profile image
Ali Abdelrahman Ali

Hey

Collapse
 
edmongarcia6 profile image
Edmon Garcia

Hello

Collapse
 
rachelktyjohnson profile image
Rachel Johnson

Hiya Elder Samuel, welcome to the community. Hoping to grow alongside you :D

Collapse
 
brijeshburfal profile image
BRIJESH

hey ELDER SAMUEL same I'm also new here but I'm pretty sure the experience and journey with this community is gonna worth it ... :)

Collapse
 
anmol270900 profile image
Anmol

Hello!!

Collapse
 
soumya17052002 profile image
soumya17052002

Hii!!!

Collapse
 
aliabdelrahman74 profile image
Ali Abdelrahman Ali

Hello :D

Collapse
 
folajomi__ profile image
FọlÑjọmí

Hello

Collapse
 
mikister profile image
Milan Radojević

Welcome Samuel, I hope you're gonna like it here!

Collapse
 
anibalardid profile image
Anibal

Hi ! nice to meet you

Collapse
 
verdantfire profile image
verdantfire

Hey there, hope you like your time here.

Collapse
 
hugoazevedosoares profile image
hugoazevedosoares

Hello!

Collapse
 
youdevs profile image
Carlos HernΓ‘ndez

Hi Elder!

Collapse
 
markoshiva profile image
Marko Shiva

Hi there and welcome to the community.

Collapse
 
karladler profile image
Karl Adler

Hey there!
I hope this site is getting a better UX soon :D

Collapse
 
valentinprgnd profile image
Valentin Prugnaud 🦊

Hello! New here as well!

Collapse
 
antoinega profile image
Antoine

Welcome !

Collapse
 
shrey27tri01 profile image
Shrey Tripathi

Hi Elder!!!

Collapse
 
lem0nez profile image
Nikita Dudko

Hello!

Collapse
 
heroichitesh profile image
Hitesh Kumar

Hii

Collapse
 
heroichitesh profile image
Hitesh Kumar

Hello there!! I am also new here!!

Collapse
 
helen8297 profile image
Helen Kent

hello!

Collapse
 
nisarhassan12 profile image
Nisar Hassan Naqvi

hello!

Collapse
 
fluffystark profile image
John Matt

Hi! :)

Collapse
 
geobald profile image
George Baldwin • Edited

Hello there!

Collapse
 
eggrenaissance profile image
eggrenaissance

Hello! I'm also new here....hopefully all this will start making sense soon!

Collapse
 
michaelrayner92 profile image
Michael Rayner

Hello Samuel!

Collapse
 
edertxodw profile image
Edertxo

Hi! I'm new too, let's try to contribute! :D

Collapse
 
katerrrrrrr profile image
katerrrrr

Hello

Collapse
 
padri profile image
Padri

Hi!!! Samuel

Collapse
 
momobarro profile image
momo-barro

welcome big man ;)

Collapse
 
webart20 profile image
web art

I'm also new one here, but it will be great to get experience together in this community.

Collapse
 
merichard123 profile image
Richard

πŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
vineetnayak777 profile image
Vineet Nayak S

Hello!!!

Collapse
 
lema_javier_ profile image
Javier

Hi 😁

Collapse
 
nezhar profile image
Harald Nezbeda

Hello

Collapse
 
is124 profile image
Tilak

Hola! Looking forward!

Collapse
 
spydarmunky profile image
Spydarmunky

Whale High-Low There!

Wandering the web and found this great community and the content found here. Thought it would be great to stick around, learn a few things and who knows, maybe do a bit of sharing as well!

Living the life of a Database Developer and reaching to new heights to become more valuable to those around me.

Collapse
 
helenanders26 profile image
Helen Anderson

Welcome! Come check out the #sql and #database tags for all things Database Dev.

Let me know if you need any help getting started :D

Collapse
 
spydarmunky profile image
Spydarmunky

Thanks Helen! i will certainly go check that out :)

Collapse
 
markoshiva profile image
Marko Shiva

Its nice having a database developer here. Welcome.

Collapse
 
verdantfire profile image
verdantfire

Really nice comment, man.

Collapse
 
antoinega profile image
Antoine

Hello !

Collapse
 
cpandya231 profile image
Chintan Pandya

Hello there,

Just another software developer trying to be cool by experimenting new things!

Collapse
 
jfifhause profile image
Jacob Fifhause

Hey, me too! Seems like a cool place to learn.

Collapse
 
raymondcoplin profile image
Raymond Coplin

nice, welcome !!!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha nice! Your octocat looks way cool. 😎

Collapse
 
cpandya231 profile image
Chintan Pandya

Haha, thanks man! Here is another 😎

Collapse
 
helen8297 profile image
Helen Kent

Hello!

Collapse
 
get_hariharan profile image
Hari Haran😎

Hola brother

Collapse
 
pandiyancool profile image
Pandiyan Murugan

Vanakam di maapla
Coimbatore la irunthu

Collapse
 
mikister profile image
Milan Radojević

Same here, do you put your stuff on codepen or somewhere else maybe?

Collapse
 
cpandya231 profile image
Chintan Pandya

Well I use GitHub if that's what you're talking about? Any cool projects/ideas you want to discuss?

Collapse
 
nayaknavin profile image
Navin Nayak

hi

Collapse
 
wache profile image
Wach-E

Welcome Chintan. I'M new here and hope learning will be great

Collapse
 
nezhar profile image
Harald Nezbeda

Hi!

Collapse
 
chaks0482 profile image
Chakir

I'm in the same situation ! Welcome! 😁

Collapse
 
jessicavrooyen profile image
Jessica Van Rooyen

Hey! Been actively stalking DEV content for a while, figured I'd finally join the community.

Currently working as a freelance ui/ux designer, but my passion is in front-end development. I have a BFA in web design & new media, but continuing on with this learning journey all the same.

Hoping I can contribute to this fabulous community!

Collapse
 
chaks0482 profile image
Chakir

Hello, welcome to the community!

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

Hi Jessica! Welcome to DEV!

Collapse
 
mrsunshyne profile image
Sandeep Ramgolam

I'm a big fan of Van dyk

Collapse
 
mikister profile image
Milan Radojević

Welcome to DEV. Do you have anything that you plan on posting soon?

Collapse
 
elektro8 profile image
Ivan Kosar

Hey :)
Glad to join this community. Trying to learn C# for starters through Unity, and some courses on Pluralsight. I have been reading some articles here for several months. But never thought of joining, but now I thought that it was time I guess. I think maybe Hacktoberfest could be the reason for it as well. Even though I'm not sure if I will contribute anywhere, cause I'm not even close being proficient even at beginner level.I'll see what I can do. But not to ramble too much, I'm looking forward to being here.

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Glad you decided to join! Welcome to DEV :)

Collapse
 
elektro8 profile image
Ivan Kosar

Thank you :)

Collapse
 
markoshiva profile image
Marko Shiva

you could try with university of Michigan course on development of games in unity pretty good course in coursera.com.

Collapse
 
elektro8 profile image
Ivan Kosar

Bookmarked it :)

Collapse
 
quantiumdev profile image
Don Ferris

Hello, everyone! Nice to meet you! I’m hypercreative and love to build/make/develop stuff. Unfortunately, I have more ideas than I have time to create. I’m an entrepreneur with diverse knowledge who provides remote and/or on-site support on computers (all platforms), smartphones/tablets, and wireless/networking, as well as audio/video and home automation systems. On a personal level, I’m passionate about music, technology, home theater, and home automation. My development experience is mostly in scripting languages (Windows shell scripting, Autohotkey, some BASH scripting) and web development (though my webdev knowledge is out of date and I struggle with the latest technologies). I discovered this community when something I was searching for returned a hit on one of the β€œexplain it like I’m 5” posts. Brilliant idea! I look forward to learning from you all!

Collapse
 
xxzhang2017 profile image
XxZhang2017

Haha, it is nice to meet you. I am a big fan of home therater.

Collapse
 
negue profile image
negue

Unfortunately, I have more ideas than I have time to create.
hehe, sadly me too xD

Collapse
 
sammyette profile image
sammy

"I have more ideas than I have time to create" hey can you give me some of those ideas?

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Welcome to DEV Don! What type of music do you like?

Collapse
 
quantiumdev profile image
Don Ferris • Edited

Hey, Chris! Thanks for the welcome! I have super diverse musical tastes. Way easier to say what I DON’T like which is metal, rap/hip-hop, EDM, and soulless pop from every boy-band and teeny-gurl ever. (And even with those genres, there are some exceptions!) My favorite genre is R&B - I LOVE funk, soul, and Motown... I also LOVE β€œThe Great American Songbook” whether its being performed by Sinatra, Nat King Cole, Dean Martin or more contemporary artists like Michael BublΓ© or Elton John. I’m a songwriter, myself, and most of the stuff I write is either standards or R&B. I like almost all rock and its many subgenres - especially partial to punk/post-punk and rockabilly... not real big on pop - old 50s β€œlollipop, lollipop” crap makes me want to puke... I listen to a lot LOT of jazz - especially partial to classics from Duke Ellington, Count Basie, and anything and everything that Louis Armstrong ever did. Likewise the standards/β€œlove songs”... Bill Evans, Ben Webster, Miles, Bird, Coltrane... older stuff, too - Bix, Pete Fountain, Glenn Miller... There’s a number of contemporary guys that knock my socks off, too - Wynton Marsalis, Harry Connick, Jr, Trombone Shorty... Mike Cottone isn’t well-known but he’s got some extraordinary chops. If you like Jazz, search for him in YouTube and listen to When Sonny Gets Blue. Stops me dead in my tracks every time. I love most of the stuff from the Swing Revival of the β€˜90s but I’m particularly enamored with Brian Setzer whom I firmly believe is the greatest living guitarist. I’m a big fan of roots music, as well - blues, folk, bluegrass, country - old stuff or contemporary... HUGE fan of Keb’ Mo’. I enjoy most of the singer-songwriter stuff, too- from Paul Simon to Shawn Mullins, Leonard Cohen to Amos Lee... I like a lot of World Music, too including Latin Jazz, most African Music, Afro-Cuban Jazz, most Brazilian music, almost anything French, Zydeco, and I especially love reggae in all its forms. I love when new artists take a twist on classics - like Lake Street Dive’s version of I Want You Back. Then there’s the experimental stuff that defies classification- Tom Waits, the David Byrne/Brian Zeno collaborations. I thoroughly enjoy Danny Elfman’s sound tracks and musical scores (likewise Mark Knopfler). And though it’s almost an afterthought, I do occasionally enjoy classical music, as well (though I’ve never really acquired a taste for opera). I could go on and on. I have dozens of artists in my β€œTop 10” list! Hahaha! There’s ALWAYS music playing at my house or in my car. I have an Emby media server with a few thousand albums at the ready - but I’m equally likely to tell Alexa to play something on Pandora or Spotify. (She sends it over to my main audio system via Bluetooth which sounds pretty good but but honestly, I’ll listen to music through my iPhone speaker if that’s my only option at the moment.) Right now I’m listening to Based On A True Story by Fat Freddy’s Drop.

You must be a music guy to ask me that. What are your tastes?

Thread Thread
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Wow! That's quite the list - I love how you talk about music :) Those are a bunch of great songs/artists/genres.

I tend to get on certain kicks for awhile... right now I'm actually listening to a bunch of instrumental movie soundtracks; I find they're really good for coding to :) Movies like Interstellar, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars... "big" movies with big soundtracks are great.

Another kind of weird thing I like listening to is acapella or acoustic covers of a bunch of different songs/genres. I like searching youtube for them and finding everyone's different interpretations.

So maybe not the answer you were quite looking for :) And next month it will probably be something different!

Thread Thread
 
quantiumdev profile image
Don Ferris • Edited

Cool stuff, brother! I wasn’t looking for any kind of answer in particular. It’s always great to find a fellow music lover and talk about what they’re into. I usually come away with some great new stuff to check out and that often leads me to some new faves... I am very enthusiastic about music. Frankly, it’s like a drug for me. I can lift myself out of a depressed mood (I’ve often said, β€œAl Green is my antidepressant.”), motivate myself to clean a really messy house (I actually have a Spotify playlist called, β€œClean the Fβ€”-ing House, Donnie!”) or chill myself out when my anxiety or stress level is getting the better of me... I totally agree about movie soundtracks. I think John Williams is the Beethoven of our time (And Danny Elfman the Mozart)... As a vocalist with a pretty good (Dean Martin-esque) crooning voice, I guess I kinda take vocals for granted. It takes someone really extraordinary (e.g. Bobby McFerrin) to get me really excited about a capella music (although I do occasionally enjoy it - especially if there’s a gospel flair to it as with Take 6) but I, too, listen to a lot of instrumental music when I’m doing something (... coding ...) that requires a lot of concentration. The Mermen put out an album close to 20 years ago called The Amazing California Health and Happiness Road Show that really gets me and keeps me in the zone - even though it’s atypically energetic for my usual coding tastes... (Bill Evans, Red Garland, Oscar Peterson, and Gene Ellis always seems more conducive to learning - and these days, most of my coding is wrapped in learning new stuff.) I need to sign off for today - I’ve got tickets to see Smokey Robinson tonight and I’m STOKED!!! Without Smokey, there would have been no Motown...

Thread Thread
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Yeah, music for cleaning the house is great πŸ˜„

Enjoy Smokey Robinson!

Collapse
 
robboclancy profile image
Robbo

It told me to post here.

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

πŸ˜‚ ... it worked I guess :)

Collapse
 
deciduously profile image
Ben Lovy

You nailed it!

Collapse
 
hazarikaameer profile image
Ameer Hazarika • Edited

Hello there.
I'm glad that I just recently discovered this community.

I'm someone who's just finished taking a good long look at the core concepts of vanilla JavaScript. And I'm looking to start working on a framework.

Hoping to get the support I need and willing to be of help if there's ever a time.

So yea. I'm here.

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Welcome to DEV Ameer! What framework do you hope to learn?

Collapse
 
hazarikaameer profile image
Ameer Hazarika

I'm excited to get started with React .
Although I do feel a little intimidated by it.
You know. Beginner jitters.

Thread Thread
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Yep! My biggest piece of advice is to start by just playing around :) Make a few small, throw away projects, and you'll learn a ton! (without all the weight of making a "real" project). Good luck!

Thread Thread
 
hazarikaameer profile image
Ameer Hazarika

Thanks a lot for the advice Chris. I'll work on it.πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
vunderkind profile image
mogwai

Welcome!

Collapse
 
antonrusak profile image
Anton Rusak

Good luck to you Ameer!

Collapse
 
dcoille profile image
Delphine COILLE

Hi buddies .
Sometimes my colleagues call me "Cindy" because of my hair colour... nevertheless even if I am not coming from engineering school, I've always been found of technology, computer science... and worked with developers ;-) .

As an Evangelist and Community Manager, I am diving even more into dev world and I really hope my contributions, my experience will be helpful!

Happy to join the community!

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Hi Cindy :)

Good luck as you dive deeper into the dev world! Glad you've joined

Collapse
 
dcoille profile image
Delphine COILLE

Thanks Chris !
Delphine, alias Cindy ;-)

Collapse
 
balajik profile image
Balaji K

Hello Everyone! I'm really excited to join Dev community. I have been reading DEV contents for so long and learned a lot from all. Love to learn and share what I have.

Now I'm learning React and redux and would be great if you all help me on this.

Thanks in advance. I will try contribute and write a content in Dev soon.

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Awesome that you decided to join :) React and Redux are my bread and butter for apps! Let me know if you need help :)

Collapse
 
balajik profile image
Balaji K

Thanks a lot. Sure I will reach you for any help and I already love all your crash course. :)

Collapse
 
ekineren profile image
EkinEren

Heya everyone! I'm a new grad computer engineer and junior java developer. I love to code, research and learn new things! I just found out about DEV today after completing hacktoberfest 2019 and it looks like a cool community :) Hope to be around more to learn and try to contribute :)

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Welcome to DEV! And awesome job completing hacktoberfest :)

Collapse
 
ekineren profile image
EkinEren

Thanks chris! :)

Collapse
 
princealarming profile image
Prince-Alarming

Hi all, am new here. Began my journey into coding in 1994 but stopped in 2001. This year I was told about an IT/Tech company hiring in my area. Well, I didn't make it in and the company referred me to Career Karma. That's where I learned about code bootcamps. Instead of following the pack, I choose to go self taught. I ultimately am aspiring to become a Full Stack Developer.

Collapse
 
rogerthat35 profile image
Amy Rogers

It's great that you're picking up coding again! Self-taught learning is a great way to go since there are so many good resources online. I wish you all the best :)

Collapse
 
misstecvet profile image
Sequoyah Roberts

Hi, I am excited to be a part of this community and I am looking forward to exchanging contributions within the community.

Collapse
 
chaks0482 profile image
Chakir

Welcome to the community !

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Welcome! Glad to have you as part of the community :)

Collapse
 
antonrusak profile image
Anton Rusak

Hello there!

I've recently quit my (rather boring) job to catch up with modern frontend development. Decided to sign up here to sometimes click the heart icon and maybe drop a comment or two.

I also hope to meet some friendly people here to chat about techs and life in general :)

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Hello Anton! Welcome to DEV :) Quitting a job can be scary - good luck learning modern frontend dev!

Collapse
 
antonrusak profile image
Anton Rusak

Thank you Chris :)

Collapse
 
bintz_gavin profile image
Gavin Bintz

Hello! I'm glad to be here! I've been coming to this website for awhile now and creating an account was long overdue. I love the sense of community here.

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Hello Gavin! Nice pancake emoji πŸ˜‚

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.