DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v44

olá,salut,hallo,hola,hello

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (646)

Collapse
 
arctouchthiagosantiago profile image
arctouch-thiagosantiago

Hi everyone, my name is Thiago and I am a Software Engineer. I started my carrier as an Android developer but in the past few years I’m focused on iOS, but I like to always learn new things too as Flutter (Dart), React Native, Go, Augmented Reality, and other crazy things. I’m from Manaus but I was living in São Paulo and now I'm living in Florianópolis. In my free time I like to read, play video games, practice sports (now that I’m here at Florianópolis I want to learn to surf too ) and between these things some doses of Netflix, but the most part of my free time I spend with my daughter and wife.
So, this is a little bit about me. 😬

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Welcome Thiago! I love React Native :) - haven't had much experience with Flutter, but I hear it's good as well. Good luck learning to surf!

Collapse
 
erinoggz profile image
erinoggz

Hello Chris. I'm having a hard time learning react native but I love it so much. I'm really interested in it.

Thread Thread
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

It can be tricky for sure... what are you having the most trouble with?

Thread Thread
 
erinoggz profile image
erinoggz

The Use of props in multiple pages and the navigation systems. Most tutorials I have on navigation are using a very old version.

Thread Thread
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Ah yes, that can get tricky. I tend to use Redux (or something else) for that - but yeah, it can be frustrating when tutorials are out of date (libraries move so fast!)

Thread Thread
 
erinoggz profile image
erinoggz

Exactly. I've stopped learning it for a week now because I don't know what to do. So u said redux will solve my props problem right ?

Thread Thread
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

I would actually probably suggest using Context to start - it's built in to react now, and there isn't as much learning curve as redux (learning redux can be really tricky!).

So yeah, I would look into using context to share data across an app.

If you're just talking about launching a new react native screen with props though - then that can be accomplished with react navigation. It sounds like that's what you're having trouble with, but it also may just be worth it for you to get that working first (since you don't have to use anything else to get that working).

Thread Thread
 
erinoggz profile image
erinoggz

Okay Chris thank you so much for your time and help. I'll check that out asap 😎

Thread Thread
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

I would also suggest looking into the Context API + Hooks useContext().

Really straight forward to get started.

Thread Thread
 
erinoggz profile image
erinoggz

Okay Bernard thanks for your contribution

Collapse
 
segunolatoye profile image
Segun Olatoye

Me too will be learning that.

Collapse
 
papuruth profile image
Papu Kumar

Cool

Collapse
 
runrunbian profile image
runrunbian

cool

Thread Thread
 
hamidyfine profile image
Hamid

Cool :-)

Thread Thread
 
h4sohail profile image
Hamza

Cool :-)

Collapse
 
godfreddigod profile image
Godfred Digod

I'm really impressed by how developers are utilizing Flutter.

Collapse
 
melconcoast profile image
Krishna Vyas

Hey man, nice name Thiago..

Collapse
 
raman_andryianau profile image
Raman CreativeIT

Hi Thiago! Nice to meet you!

I am a full-stack JavaScript expert with almost 10 years of experience and CEO at CreativeIT, a software house in Belarus. Being an active contributor to open source development, I also know React, Angular, and React Native.

Here I'm going to create my blog and share experience. I will be glad to discuss technical issues and exchange ideas.

Collapse
 
jujorie profile image
Juan José Riera

Hi! and wellcome!!

Collapse
 
abdelhak_azzi profile image
Azzi Abdelhak

Wrlcome

Collapse
 
runrunbian profile image
runrunbian

hello

Collapse
 
psybermind profile image
PsyberMind

Hey Thiago! I think one of the modules we'll be covering is React, I'm looking forward to picking your brain at some point when I need it :)

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Surfing..... Are there SHARKS???

Collapse
 
tongdesign profile image
tongdesign

Welcome Thiago! I love React Native :> but I use NuxtJS hahaha....

Collapse
 
denton19 profile image
Denton19

Cool

Collapse
 
segunolatoye profile image
Segun Olatoye

Cool!

Collapse
 
scastile profile image
Shane

Welcome Thiago! I'm new here as well.

Collapse
 
jankoch profile image
Jan Koch

Hey Thiago :)

Collapse
 
shreyan62084887 profile image
Shreyansh Jain

🖐️

Collapse
 
lauragyre profile image
Laura Gyre

Hi, I tried to post this already, but maybe it didn't go through? I have some background in web design, but am not working in tech currently. I recently decided to get more serious about app development, specifically doing a few Udemy courses on Flutter. I'm learning a lot and love it so far, but I feel like working alone I'm missing out on some important things like learning to communicate about coding, network, collaborate and other related real-world skills. I've also found it surprisingly hard to find discussion communities, especially ones that are friendly to beginners, so I'm happy to meet you all!

Collapse
 
ashacoleman profile image
Asha Coleman • Edited

Hey Laura,

The same thing happened with my post! I had to rewrite it for some reason, but I totally understand what you mean about it being lonely sometimes. I would feel lost on where to start with learning new stuff and feel like I don’t have any one who can help. Hopefully we’ll both find that here!

Collapse
 
katnel20 profile image
Katie Nelson • Edited

Mine disappeared too! Twice.

Collapse
 
afhare profile image
afhare

Hi Asha— hard agree with looking for community when learning something new. If I can be a resource for you at all, I’m here! 🤓
-alex

Collapse
 
raoufbelakhdar profile image
raoufbelakhdar

Hi Laura, Welcome to Dev. I'm also a web designer who just discovered this wonderful community. I hope we will all learn a lot here :)

Collapse
 
afhare profile image
afhare

Hi Laura! Glad to see I’m not the only person having difficulties with the posting going through— nice to meet you, and as a fellow beginner, looking forward to chatting about code in the future!
-alex

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Hi Laura, welcome to DEV! Yes - it can be hard to work alone for sure; DEV is great for that - good community to be apart of :) Good luck as you continue learning about Flutter!

Collapse
 
ujjwalsittu profile image
Ujjwal Kumar Sittu

Flutter community is going to raise very high soon..

Thread Thread
 
lauragyre profile image
Laura Gyre

I hope so! It feels a little risky to concentrate on, but it seems to have a lot of potential.

Collapse
 
jankoch profile image
Jan Koch

Hey Laura :)

Collapse
 
himanshunikhare profile image
Himanshu Nikhare

Same thing happened with me😅
Will have to rewrite everything once again.

Collapse
 
goodnovember profile image
Victor

Hi all! My name is Victor, I've been lurking around here for a while and I figured I would finally step up and introduce myself.

In order to exist in our capitalist society, I work for a prominent college and help manage their websites, which are built on Drupal.

For my own enjoyment, I am studying programming languages (currently Javascript) in order to build my own programming languages so that I can make some super weirdo crazy stuff.

Quick Facts!

  • I am self taught, with all the invisible icebergs that I anticipate hitting head-on every day.
  • My GitHub account looks like a junk drawer: @goodnovember
  • My views are my own and not necessarily that of my employer.
  • Trans Rights are Human Rights.
Collapse
 
missadev profile image
Missael

¡Hola victor! También soy self-taught en javascript y en mis inicios pensé en crear mi propia librería/lenguaje, la única diferencia es que ni siquiera imaginé el montón de icebergs que supone ser autodidacta jaja Deduje por tu nombre que también hablas español, pero pensándolo bien, no es una idea muy solida. Anyway, have a good day!

Collapse
 
jess_ingrass profile image
dr. jess

Hi Victor!

I'm self taught (peer taught? youtube taught?) also! I totally understand the invisible icebergs. How have you found learning javascript in comparison with other languages you have worked with?

Collapse
 
ironnand profile image
Nathan Eggers

Hi Victor! Self-taught programming can be tricky, but it does shape you into the programmer you want to be. I've learned the hard way how college can push you sharply into certain IDE's and programming languages. Sometimes I wish I could go back to self-study... it was slow-going at times though.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome Victor!

Collapse
 
h4xil10 profile image
Mats

Hey, welcome! All the respect to you for becoming a self-taught coder!

Collapse
 
anpams profile image
anpams

Hi Victor!
Building your own programming language sounds really cool, please let me know when I can join you in the weirdo crazy stuff!

Collapse
 
rsmets profile image
Ray Smets

Hi humans,

I love computers. Particularly the networking elements that allow mass, real time data flow. I also love tinkering with micro controllers + sensors in my free time.

Professionally leading the backend efforts in an IoT startup (a little oxymoronic, kind of, but not really)

Cool site and seemingly awesome community goin' on here!

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Hello back to you fellow human! 🤪 I have messed with hardware (arduino + sensors, etc) in the past... fun! Are you working on any neat projects at the moment?

Collapse
 
rsmets profile image
Ray Smets • Edited

I ordered a bunch of the new Particle Argon boards docs.particle.io/argon/ but haven't had time todo much with them. Impressive how beefy they are! With so many peripherals baked in. Have worked mostly with Arudino based guys as well in the past.

This is my favorite, strictly person project github.com/rsmets/Motion-Controlle.... MPU 650 accelerometer/gyro chip + teensy 3.2 and leds makes for a buttonless "flow" controller led cane.

Thread Thread
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

I hadn't seen the particle argon board before - and that project looks neat! Thanks for the links :)

Collapse
 
ironnand profile image
Nathan Eggers

Hi Ray! IoT, that seems kinda awesome. I've been doing some deep digging on the topic lately... it's got some real potential. I hope that I will begin to understand networking one day... it's a crazy deep topic which can lead you down the rabbit hole into some deep mathematics like fuzzy computation, wavelets, and graph theory though.

Collapse
 
jsmompdx profile image
JD

Greetings, fellow human.

Collapse
 
0xessa profile image
Essa

Hi human, I love computers too.

Collapse
 
esogargar profile image
Israa Gargar • Edited

Hello
Peace and Respect
My name is Israa Gargar
I am from Sudan. 🇸🇩
I have just started a software development career
I have a strong background about Agile especially in the scrum
But our market here doesn't value good management skills🙁
...
I have been watching people coding for a while... Therefore because of, I am a knowledge 📖 seeker with 💪 passionate about coding and logic
I decided to start a programming career
Now I am learning react as my target is to go mobile with react native.
So here I am among you holding my golden dream ✨

PS.
I miss The Arabic language in the above Pic 😩

Collapse
 
usalih profile image
usalih

Hello....nice bio

Collapse
 
esogargar profile image
Israa Gargar

😊🤗 appreciate your comment

Collapse
 
0xessa profile image
Essa

Hi Israa. I'm Essa.
Welcome here

Collapse
 
esogargar profile image
Israa Gargar

Thanks ✨😎

Collapse
 
khryseos0 profile image
Khryseos0

Hello Israa. Welcome to DEV.to. I think it's awesome how you refer to your journey learning technology as your Golden Dream. Very inspirational.

Collapse
 
kevinrue profile image
Kevin Rue-Albrecht

Hi all,

I'm Kevin, a computational biologist / postdoctoral researcher with a passion for open source software development, automation, and DevOps.

My day to day work involves workflows made of R, Python and Bash, but I've also worked with web-technologies like NodeJS and React, and C# and the .NET framework.

I love hearing about new technologies!

Collapse
 
h4xil10 profile image
Mats

Awesome to see some Scientists around here! Welcome :)

Collapse
 
puugu profile image
Courtney Kirkham

Hi Kevin! What sort of work do you do as a computational biologist?

Collapse
 
kevinrue profile image
Kevin Rue-Albrecht

I work with big data that lab scientists generate from biological samples. Those can come from hospital patients or lab experiments on cell and bacteria. A lot of the time, that means comparing healthy and diseased tissues and cells to identify genes and proteins that are altered during diseases like inflammation or infection.

For that I use mostly open source software such as R and Python packages to write scripts and workflows that I run on high-performance computing clusters, to parallelise the processing of samples on as many cores as I can.

Additionally, I particularly enjoy refactoring, testing, and documenting the code that I write for my project, to openly distribute it with other academics who can use it in their own work, but also contribute back to my repositories like I do with theirs, making software easier to use and more efficient for everyone!

Collapse
 
anubhav_madhav profile image
Anubhav Madhav

Hello Everyone, I am Anubhav Madhav and I am a Computer Science Student at Indian Institute of Information Technology, Vadodara, India. I know basics of C, C++, Java, Python and Web Development. I am interested in Artificial Intelligence, so will start learning Machine Learning very soon. I have also created an Action for Google Assistant, you can try that quiz on your Google Assistant by saying "Talk to Avengers in India", and enjoy the quiz. I am a big fan of Marvel Cinematic Universe. Currently working on a project for Train_Ticket_Booking_System using django framework. This was a bit about me. 😊

Collapse
 
0xessa profile image
Essa

✌️

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Hi Anubhav! Welcome to DEV :) What are you excited to learn about Artificial Intelligence?

Collapse
 
gladchinda profile image
Glad Chinda • Edited

Hi everyone, my name is Glad Chinda and I am glad that I finally get to join this awesome dev community. I am a Frontend UX Engineer currently based in Lagos. I am a lover of JavaScript (TypeScript) and get to work with React and NodeJS in my day-to-day job. In the past I have also worked with PHP and Laravel for building web applications.

I am very enthusiastic about web technologies and always try to make out time to write technical articles and build or contribute to open source projects. When I am not working, I am either reading, seeing a movie, or spending time with friends and family.

Collapse
 
authief profile image
Robert Gold

It's great to see you're utilizing React day-to-day, Glad! Where can we follow your technical articles and do you have a GitHub?

Collapse
 
gladchinda profile image
Glad Chinda

I my articles can be found in a handful of publications on the web — here is a list:

For my contributions and activities on GitHub, you can find my Github profile here: github.com/gladchinda

Collapse
 
tomastley profile image
T(h)om

Hi,

My name is Tom and I'm Full-Stack engineer out of Chicago. I'm into React, Docker, Node pretty much anything. Looking forward to learning from this community.

I'm looking to make the jump to freelance and would love to hear people's experiences. Such a scary decision to make!

Collapse
 
rizkyrajitha profile image
Rajitha Gunathilake

nice to meet react devs

Collapse
 
bhattaraib58 profile image
Biplap Bhattarai

Hello T(h)om. Welcome to DEV.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV T(h)om!

Collapse
 
eric_khun profile image
Eric Khun • Edited

Hi there! I’m Eric, infrastructure engineer at Buffer. I do all kind of things backend related! I like python and go a lot. If that's interesting, I've just finished to migrated all the applications for Buffer to Kubernetes few weeks ago.

I’ve been working remotely since 2013 now, from different places in the world. I happen to be mostly between Europe and Asia, but Asia is definitely my favorite part of the world!

Nice to meet you all!

Collapse
 
joelpagliuca profile image
Joel Pagliuca

Been doing a lot more Go than Python lately, but still like them both!

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Welcome, Eric! It's nice to meet you, too!

Collapse
 
mg_verycoolthx profile image
mg, thx

Hi Everyone! My name is Chloe and I'm a CS student. I am working on C++ as my first language, with an interest in databases, ML, gamedev, and pretty much anything else I can get my hands on. My goal is to expand my view of what software development actually is, and find as many useful bits as possible to craft a mastery of my first love (C++) and generate interest in other languages (I need help loving Java, for example).

I am a BIG BIG believer in community and I LOVE sharing this space with others! My community strengths include engaging with others on nearly any topic and (hopefully) making it a productive conversation via exploratory and investigative questions. Another strength of mine is to offer emotional encouragement for the tough and emotionally taxing task of learning something new! I am so excited to share my strengths with you and learn from you all as we grow on our journeys. Thanks for reading, happy developing!

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Welcome, Chloe!

Community is what brought me here. ♥ Excited to follow your journey!

Collapse
 
mg_verycoolthx profile image
mg, thx

Hi, Jesse! Thanks for the warm welcome. <3

Collapse
 
chebetos profile image
César Augusto Delgado Rodríguez

Hi,

I'm Cesar Delgado, from Venezuela, but living in Madrid, Spain.

I'm a Software Engineer, and I consider myself a Fullstack Developer.

I've worked with web frontend technologies like React, Polymer and backend technologies like Java, PHP, Node.js Javascript, etc.

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Welcome Cesar! Glad to have you on DEV :)

Collapse
 
jperals profile image
Joan Perals

Hi César, welcome!

I wonder what's your feeling about Polymer? I used to find it so promising but it never got as much adoption as I hoped.

Collapse
 
zgajo profile image
Darko Pranjic

Hello everyone,

I'm Darko from Croatia. Working professionally as a Software Engineer for the past 3 years.

How I started
Before professional career I've worked as a Computer technician for the 8 years. At age 24 decided to enroll in college and there found my love for programming and something what my brain likes - solve problems.

Started with building first applications in free time with PHP, Laravel, Javascript, jQuery for my team in previous company.

My first professional job was frontend developer using Vue.js and worked this for 7 months. Then I've started to dig deeper into Javascript stack with Node.js.

Current job and stack
Found current job as a Fullstack developer using React, Node.js, GraphQL. With this job my knowledge has drastically expanded as my team had knowledge and I started to stay in company to learn for few more hours just so that I could have possibility to work remotely.

Now I can say to have deep knowledge of setting up web servers, using most of the AWS services, building Node.js backend, GraphQL, using React Native, React, Apollo platform, Redis, etc...

Free time
In free time spending time with my wife, friends, playing every now and then PES, working out few times a week.

Future plans
Currently learning GoLang. Will try ML.
Hope to start writing blogs, maybe to start with writing about current development problems on what I stumble and how I got to solutions.

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Welcome Darko! Good to have you here on DEV :) Do you work remotely now, or you're just hoping to in the future? Either way: good luck! It looks like you have a nice list of popular technologies that you can use; looks good!

Collapse
 
zgajo profile image
Darko Pranjic

Thanks Chris,

Yes I'm working fulltime remote since May. :)

Collapse
 
vanessamarely profile image
Vanessa Aristizabal

Hello everyone, My name is Vanessa Aristizabal, I am a Frontend Developer, from Colombia and I live in Medellin, Colombia. I am always learning new things. I am passionate about technologies. Besides code I like to draw and read a lot and I expect I can share here my knowledge and my code cartoons

Collapse
 
puugu profile image
Courtney Kirkham

Hi Vanessa! Do you have your cartoons hosted anywhere online? I'd love to check them out!

Collapse
 
vanessamarely profile image
Vanessa Aristizabal

Hi!! well I am creating a Gitbook with some of my cartoons but I expect to start moving here my cartoons next month here.
My gitbook have Spanish content
ngchallenges.gitbook.io/project/

Collapse
 
djkhandelwal profile image
dj-khandelwal

Hello everyone! I am Dheeraj, a student currently pursuing a Masters degree in Information Systems. I have some experience in Java, C++, SQL, JavaScript, and React Native amongst a few other technologies. Outside of tech, I enjoy soccer, hiking, pizza, and beer!

Joined here to learn about Open Source. Open Source is something that has always fascinated me but I have stayed away thus far under the assumption that one has to be super smart, super skilled, or an expert to be able to contribute. Google suggested me an article @sduduzog wrote a couple days back and it's inspired me to try and explore to see if I can contribute as well!

Anyway, Cheers!

Collapse
 
ironnand profile image
Nathan Eggers

Hello Dheeraj, do not be afraid to embrace open-source. Even small contributions can be welcome on many projects. If you start your own repository on Git-Hub, I suggest using an MIT license or one of the other permissive licenses. The sum of combined effort can exceed the effort of one person. Playing with your own repository can be a good way to learn Git-Hub commands.

Collapse
 
djkhandelwal profile image
dj-khandelwal

I have worked with Git/Github before, just never used it outside of work/school!
Starting to take a look at Open Source a little bit more seriously now + exploring how I can help!

Collapse
 
sduduzog profile image
Sdu

Welcome and thank you for the plug. This really made me happy.

Collapse
 
djkhandelwal profile image
dj-khandelwal

Thank you for bringing me here! :)

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.